We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting with superb food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
On The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wonderful setting with superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent the night here for the first time and enjoyed it very much. The staff is friendly and wonderful chefs. The evening happy hour is fun and the breakfast of oatmeal cookie pancakes was delectable. Not to mention the homemade blueberry muffins. The rooms are very large and comfortable with all the amenities you need. I enjoyed the ocean view the best. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloccgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    34
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
167
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingman
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed at On The Beach for a surprise get away weekend for her birthday. We had been to Cayucos before and took a picture of the B&B in hopes of staying there some day. I put the weekend together to surprise my wife and I'm happy to say that On The Beach was the highlight of our weekend! The staff was very friendly, the snacks at night were very good, and the evening get together was a lot of fun. To top it all off the breakfasts were well done and cooked to order. I am more than happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We actually stayed here year before last, and had planned to visit again last year on our annual visit to CA but a medical issue caused us to change our reservations (they were gracious about letting us cancel without penalty). We do look forward to next October and staying there again!
We loved our three day stay there in 2011, the room was beautiful and spacious. Loved the view of the pier and ocean. The staff could not have been more helpful and enthusiastic. They serve a lovely breakfast and at "happy hour" besides wine, etc. they have excellent appetizers! I also remember yummy cookies being put out at night.
We enjoyed walking around the charming town, and especially watching the surfers from the pier. We were there on a full moon which made an evening stroll on the pier even more magical.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a great place! Huge rooms with a view of the beach and pier, Morro Rock down the beach. We saw dolphins from the balcony and one otter from the pier.
Amazing service and great staff. Breakfast is worth the stay and different every day, truly gourmet. Early evening snacks and wine make a nice balance. Even a little dessert snack for later. These folks really care about you enjoying the stay. Three days is our minimum for this wonderful hide-a-way.
Now if they can just do something about the traffic getting in and out of Los Angeles!!! We met a great couple from San Diego who take the train to SLO and rent a car. Think we'll try that next time.

Room Tip: First floor is less expensive but still great views and a private balcony. Room 3 has double doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Everett-31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanford,ca
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrived not knowing what to expect. Awesome room - beautiful bathroom - right on the beach with ocean view. Staff are extremely helpful. Great cooks!!! Served wonderful wine. And in contrast to other reviews - we were right on the lobby - our doors opened into the lobby - there was no traffic noise - or we slept through it! GREAT MOMENT for each of us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pedrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had such a wonderful stay here. Our balcony looked out to the ocean, the staff were very friendly and the cookies each day were really yummy. Nothing like walking in and smelling fresh baked cookies. The breakfast was fabulous too. The only complaint I had was we were not made aware of the evening wine/appetizers social hour until we came back and saw that it had happened. If we are ever up north again we will definely stay here again. It's a very quaint town. We loved walking through the antique stores.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the ocean. I think many of them do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this fantastic B&B twice now and plan to return again. We always have a wonderful time when staying at this very comfortable spot which really feels like you are staying in a private home. We've stayed both times in room 202 downstairs, which is generously large with a huge king size bed that is luxurious and ridiculously comfortable - so much so that you may have a hard time getting out of it. There is a romantic fireplace in the room, as well as a jetted tub in the bathroom, which we love. We typically leave the window looking directly out onto the water open at night and are lulled to sleep by the sound of crashing waves. We love the evening wine tastings and have met some truly wonderful people while munching on snacks, sipping wine and relaxing in the front room. There is a rooftop jacuzzi that we've tried to use twice now and sadly haven't had the opportunity (first time, there were already people in it - I suggest getting there early and the second time the water wasn't warm enough for us to enjoy it). Breakfast is by far my favorite part about this gem - the food is always outstanding and different every day. You'll typically have a choice of your main breakfast dish and there are always extras like fruit, toast and bagels, yogurt, coffee and tea, etc. I will say that while room 202 is beautiful, it gets a bit noisy in the morning, as it is directly across from the kitchen and they begin cooking early - though it is always great waking up to something that smells delicious being prepared! My husband is a huge fan of the nightly dessert that is left in the front room - sometimes fresh-baked cookies and other treats. He loves wandering out in his robe in the middle of the night for a sweet treat. The location of this property is unbeatable - if you were any closer, you'd be in the water. Seconds away from the pier, and don't forget your wetsuit for surfing or paddle boarding right outside your door (rent boards at Cayucos Surf just next door). There are a ton of great restaurants all within walking distance - for Chowder, Duckies always fits the bill, Hoppe's has an excellent upscale lunch, don't miss the Cass House for dinner and stop in the Brown Butter Cookie Co. for free samples. For an after dinner drink, hit Schooner's Wharf and mingle with the colorful crowd of locals at the upstairs bar.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quieter - room 202 is directly across from the kitchen and can be a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.2 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,477 reviews
17.7 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: On The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: 181 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — On The Beach Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a luxury inn located in the small, casual, surf town of Cayucos, on the central coast of California. All ocean views are a full 180 degrees and all rooms have private balconies, jacuzzi tubs and gas fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your On The Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Hotel Cayucos
On The Beach Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing