We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Cayucos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
On The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Cozy Cayucos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this fantastic B&B twice now and plan to return again. We always have a wonderful time when staying at this very comfortable spot which really feels like you are staying in a private home. We've stayed both times in room 202 downstairs, which is generously large with a huge king size bed that is luxurious and ridiculously comfortable - so much so that you may have a hard time getting out of it. There is a romantic fireplace in the room, as well as a jetted tub in the bathroom, which we love. We typically leave the window looking directly out onto the water open at night and are lulled to sleep by the sound of crashing waves. We love the evening wine tastings and have met some truly wonderful people while munching on snacks, sipping wine and relaxing in the front room. There is a rooftop jacuzzi that we've tried to use twice now and sadly haven't had the opportunity (first time, there were already people in it - I suggest getting there early and the second time the water wasn't warm enough for us to enjoy it). Breakfast is by far my favorite part about this gem - the food is always outstanding and different every day. You'll typically have a choice of your main breakfast dish and there are always extras like fruit, toast and bagels, yogurt, coffee and tea, etc. I will say that while room 202 is beautiful, it gets a bit noisy in the morning, as it is directly across from the kitchen and they begin cooking early - though it is always great waking up to something that smells delicious being prepared! My husband is a huge fan of the nightly dessert that is left in the front room - sometimes fresh-baked cookies and other treats. He loves wandering out in his robe in the middle of the night for a sweet treat. The location of this property is unbeatable - if you were any closer, you'd be in the water. Seconds away from the pier, and don't forget your wetsuit for surfing or paddle boarding right outside your door (rent boards at Cayucos Surf just next door). There are a ton of great restaurants all within walking distance - for Chowder, Duckies always fits the bill, Hoppe's has an excellent upscale lunch, don't miss the Cass House for dinner and stop in the Brown Butter Cookie Co. for free samples. For an after dinner drink, hit Schooner's Wharf and mingle with the colorful crowd of locals at the upstairs bar.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quieter - room 202 is directly across from the kitchen and can be a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    34
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
167
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We chose this location for our honeymoon.
Being lulled to sleep by the waves is a great experience.
Room is nice, but not what you would expect off season for over $300 per night.
Bed is nice, but the bathroom is just plastic.

Service is less that what you would expect from a $50 motel.

Just before we went out the first night, we heard the smoke alarm getting low of battery so we told in the reception, but did they act on that ?
Answer is no, we had to get out of bed 2:30 AM to take the battery out of the smoke alarm.
When mentioning that at checkout, they did not even apologize - That is not the service you expect paying $300 plus per night.

I would not return

As far as location, this hotel delivers in a big way. Being lulled to sleep by the crashing waves is a huge draw. Keep in mind the balconies are actually over the public beach parking lot. It is an easy walk to all the local entertainment and shops. The service and feel of this property is more that of a small hotel rather than a bed and breakfast. There are a cheerful team of different part time workers on duty, but no appearance of an owner or manager in charge. The breakfast is ample and provides enough of a selection to meet most dietary restrictions. The daily hot casseroles (strata, quiche, baked oatmeal) can be hit or miss. My husband found the Southwest Quiche overloaded with too much canned corn and would not eat it. The breakfast room is cramped and was usually full to capacity each morning during our 3 day visit. A report to the front desk about our beeping smoke alarm went unattended to. We had more beeping the second night at 2am. We ended up disabling the alarm ourselves so that we could get some peace. We wrote a note of explanation for the housekeeping and explained the situation again at check out no apology or call was ever offered. The towels and bed linens ae quality that you find at lower priced hotel/ motels. The counter tops are a synthetic plastic material. We will be exploring other places to stay on our return to Cayucos.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larldsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at On the Beach. We stayed in a second floor room, facing the ocean. The room was huge, and the view to the ocean and pier was spectacular. The breakfasts and afternoon wine gatherings had many original, tasty items. The staff was kind enough to give us some of the recipes. This was our second visit. We stayed here about a year ago, and were amazed at how friendly everyone is at this B&B. It wasn't a fluke, as they were just as nice this time. And Cayucos is a great place if you just want to chill out. The restaurants are quite good, and it's fun to browse the antique stores. There is no doubt that we will unwind at On the Beach again!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms facing the ocean are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for just one night. The room, 107, was large with a beautiful bed and great furnishings. The king size 4 post bed was great. The only problems with this particular room is: it's right on the corner so there is a lot of traffic noise. My biggest problem with this room is the window coverings. The lack of black out curtains results in a room full of light, all night. The street light more than filled the room with light all night and the morning sun was light in my eye. I like it dark! The cleanliness of the room was ok, the bathroom showed that the maid was rushed. Lots of stains on the inside side of the bathroom door. Lots of scuffs and dust under the bathroom sinks. Overall this was a good stay.

Room Tip: Room107 is on a busy street corner, avoid this room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RWells5733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

On the Beach is one of the nicest traveling experience I have ever had! I am not one to usually want to stay at a B & B....but this place is something different. You have the small feel of a B & B, but the service of a large well run class act hotel. I cannot say enough about the wonderful experience me and my family enjoyed here. From the minute we arrived and greeted by Sherry, to the fabulous happy hour creations by Mika, and the outstanding breakfast prepared by Maureen...we knew without a doubt that we should have booked more nights here...We will definately be back....do not hesitate at all to book this place. It is a beautiful location, and very clean. We really enjoyed the interaction of the guests during happy hour and breakfast....we met some wonderful people. A special "thank you" to all of you at On the Beach, for making our stay one of the most enjoyable trips we have ever been on.

Room Tip: choose an upstairs room....better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingerduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is one of the most relaxing places I've stayed in a long time. Very spacious rooms. You have wine and snacks in the evening, later in the evening there are desserts. In the morning you have coffee in your rooms and there is a breakfast with your choice of two freshly prepared meals with the best orange juice,coffee and fruits. Great conversations with visitors from all over. All of this and just step out to the beach. If you reserve early enough, you may have a view of the pier and the ocean, otherwise the "town" view rooms are nice also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We chose this location for our honeymoon. As far as location, this hotel delivers in a big way. Being lulled to sleep by the crashing waves is a huge draw. Keep in mind the balconies are actually over the public beach parking lot. It is an easy walk to all the local entertainment and shops. The service and feel of this property is more that of a small hotel rather than a bed and breakfast. There are a cheerful team of different part time workers on duty, but no appearance of an owner or manager in charge. The breakfast is ample and provides enough of a selection to meet most dietary restrictions. The daily hot casseroles (strata, quiche, baked oatmeal) can be hit or miss. My husband found the Southwest Quiche overloaded with too much canned corn and would not eat it. The breakfast room is cramped and was usually full to capacity each morning during our 3 day visit. A report to the front desk about our beeping smoke alarm went unattended to. We had more beeping the second night at 2am. We ended up disabling the alarm ourselves so that we could get some peace. We wrote a note of explanation for the housekeeping and explained the situation again at check out no apology or call was ever offered. The towels and bed linens ae quality that you find at lower priced hotel/ motels. The counter tops are a synthetic plastic material. We will be exploring other places to stay on our return to Cayucos.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeane42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.2 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
17.7 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,604 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: On The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: 181 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — On The Beach Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a luxury inn located in the small, casual, surf town of Cayucos, on the central coast of California. All ocean views are a full 180 degrees and all rooms have private balconies, jacuzzi tubs and gas fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your On The Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Hotel Cayucos
On The Beach Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing