We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among best Beach properties on Central California Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
On The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
“Among best Beach properties on Central California Coast”
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Have stayed at this property on several occasions including the most recent when we booked the entire property. No detail was overlooked. Attentive management ensured that every need was contemplated within this attractively appointed and well maintained property situated on the beach with attractive dining alternative within walking distance in this little beach town from the past.

  • Liked — Attentive staff at well appointed and maintained facility
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    34
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
172
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Beach, OR
Level Contributor
169 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2008

ORSunshine
We loved it!
We just happened on this place traveling with no set agenda. We really enjoyed the view and watching the surfers from right off our deck. The beds were so comfortable and the room was very spacious. If you just want to relax this is the place for you but if you want exciting night life maybe not. Relaxing in a comfy chair with a fire in the fireplace what more could you ask for. We enjoyed it so much we stayed two nights instead of just one as we had originally planned.

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OrSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA.
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2008

A real gem on the California Central Coast. Right on the ocean with fabulous views of the beach and surfers. First class furnishings, the most comfortable beds and great amenities. The breakfast was excellent ! Supurb service and a very friendly staff. A must stay ! The experience was like staying at a small Ritz Carlton.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank Rocky048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We booked a room here in Nov. 06 for our June wedding. We were only going to stay the first night of honeymoon. When we booked it we paid $219 for an ocean-view room. The hotel must've changed ownership that year because it was called Pierpointe Inn at the time of the booking. When I made the reservation I put in the comment section that it was the first night of our honeymoon so I was hoping to get a nice room. We arrived in June at what was now called "On the Beach" in late afternoon. A young girl showed us to a street view room. We could see a Chevron gas station out the window. I reminded her that we had booked an ocean view room. She told me that would cost more but that I could upgrade (somewhere between $300-400). I told her I shouldn't have to pay more b/c when I booked it, I paid what was the ocean view price at the time and it was on my printed receipt. She left us in the hall, with all our bags while she ran downstairs to call her boss. She came back up a few minutes later and told us we could have an ocean view room. The room was luxurious & beautiful. The next morning we had to leave just before 8AM to catch a flight. The lobby was dark & empty. There was no coffee, not even a muffin. Not only that, we couldn't find any place to leave our room key. We finally slid it under the door of the locked reservation room/front desk and left. I sent the manager a letter in Sept. letting them know that the service wasn't very good. I thought they would like to know. I got a letter back stating that since I got the ocean view room I shouldn't complain and that I shouldn't bother coming back there since "sometimes people are just not happy". She also wrote "If a guest ever has any type of bad experience while here and is reasonable, I make extreme efforts to rectify and improve the situation." while writing that anything I was unhappy with was my fault. We ended up staying at a Westin later that week and when the receptionist overheard that it was our honeymoon week she had a bottle of champagne & truffles sent up. The Westin is a huge impersonal hotel yet they were able to make us feel good about being there.
It was definitely kind of disappointing to stay at On the Beach when we had been looking forward to it for so long. We could tell by the letter we got that they couldn't care less about us as future guests. The Cayucos Beach Inn, across the street, is a much better value and the service is more professional.

  • Liked — The room/location
  • Disliked — The unprofessionalism, lack of service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Shrewd_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

We spent two nights at On the Beach Bed and Breakfast in August 2007. The accommodations were very nice, however the staff and the breakfast were lacking. The first morning we were there two young girls prepared breakfast. They were having a conversation as if no one else could hear, using profanity and talking about some of the guests as if they weren't even there.
The inn advertises a gourmet breakfast. The breakfast was very good, but the guests were not allowed to have second portions. It is hardly realistic to think that an average man is only going to eat two pancakes and two pieces of bacon for breakfast (which the staff serves - it is not help yourself). When we asked for seconds, we were told that all the guests had to be served before they could serve seconds. How do they even know if all the guests are going to eat there? That is just ridiculous. If they are promoting a "gourmet breakfast", at least let the guests have as much as they want.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We had never been to Cayucos; didn't know what to expect . . .

Our room was spacious and refreshing. We loved the airy colors/textures and gauze-draped canopy bed. The balcony overlooked the main drag, pier, and beach. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

Overall impression of the locale: Cayucos is a local beach for a wide variety of people--families, teens, surfers/surf students (classes were in session), pier fishers, and day trippers. Commerce is limited, but choice--we ate very well at Hoppe's; found some fun souvenirs at Pier Gifts and very nice gifts at Mclean Jewelry.

We will return. Pricier than some other beach inns, but worth it.

  • Liked — Location/ambience
  • Disliked — One grumpy staffer on Sunday
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.2 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
127 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,681 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
12.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: On The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: 181 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — On The Beach Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a luxury inn located in the small, casual, surf town of Cayucos, on the central coast of California. All ocean views are a full 180 degrees and all rooms have private balconies, jacuzzi tubs and gas fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your On The Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Hotel Cayucos
On The Beach Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing