We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest, relax, refresh”
Review of Pier View Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pier View Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just returned from 5 days of downtime in Cayucos, A long time favorite get away destination, we were really pleased to find this wonderful place. Our room was perfect with a full kitchen, a wonderful view of the ocean and Morro Rock in the distance. A few naps were taken on that luxurious cabana! The staff was more than helpful, accommodating each request! This is one of those places that you want to tell everyone about, but not so many that it will filled all the time! Really quiet and beautifully decorated also. Already making plans for future return trips.

Room Tip: We stayed in the California Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank flickann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you so much for spending your winter getaway with us! We're so very grateful that you took the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed lounging on our daybeds and were able to take full advantage of our ocean-side location by savoring the waves and the view from your room! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. - The Pier View Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 145 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

For a surfer town as quaint and old school as Cayucos, I did not think there were really many options when choosing accommodations. Everything I researched in town was either too few stars, too old, or looked to be too cramped... then I read an article about Pier View Suites - best decision I made on this trip.

My family, who lives in a nearby town, never had heard of the place which made me nervous but their jaws dropped when they saw our suite and the view.

Very clean rooms, nice amenities, fabulous daybeds on the deck, and the staff are very sweet and professional.

I will be back (and so will my local family)!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with Pier View Suites! We're so grateful that you chose to stay with us on your recent trip, and we're just delighted to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations. We're so grateful for your very kind and generous feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and you local family back for a "staycation". - The Pier View Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a wonderful and comfortable place. The owners are so welcoming. The suite was very spacious and comfortable with a convenience of a full kitchen. My dog Zoe had a wonderful time and with the sound of the waves from the beach across sounds so nice in the evening. Very close to shops and restuarants in a very casual and friendly town. I will definitely tell my friends and will plan for another visit in the future.

Room Tip: There are pet friendly suites and the limitations are on the dog breed vs. lbs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lucy2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thanks so much for choosing Pier View Suites for your seaside escapes! We're so glad to hear that you enjoy our location and everything it has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you and Zoe back again soon! - The Pier View Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here for the annual Cayucos Seaglass Festival. What a treat! For two people wanting a sweet getaway, look no further than the third floor. We were pampered in the Urban Suite with a view of Morro Rock and the Cayucos Pier and ocean. The outdoor balcony seating is cozy and fun and the glass around the balcony impeccably clean for that better-than-words view. Entertaining in the full kitchen is a blast since the open floor plan provides a dead on view through all the windows straight to the beach. If you're a light sleeper, before turning in for the night, turn off the ice maker. Comfy bed, comforter. Minimal sound from neighboring third floor suite, but maybe we just got good neighbors. Closet is small but adequate for two people. Small bathroom. No counter space except around the sink but there is a below-sink cupboard to store curling irons, etc.. Downside: the room has a new, contemporary feel so it was odd to see such an old toilet seat and cover. Make sure to lock door to balcony as this is a corner unit where the balcony wraps around to the stairs leading down to ground level, so security could be an issue. Lots of stairs to the third floor from the parking lot area. There is a ramp to the second floor rooms, but not to the third floor. Have already booked the room for next year!

Room Tip: If you don't mind carrying luggage up lots of stairs, the third floor is for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CaliforniaCaridee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We’re so grateful that you had an opportunity to enjoy everything that we have to offer, and we're delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your time and appreciate your feed back in details that we can improve. It always makes our day to read such a wonderful review as yours! We look forward to welcoming you back for your next oceanfront vacation! - The Pier View Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We went there during a wild rainstorm and was confined to the room for almost the duration of our stay. When we did venture out it was close enough to walk to the restaurants and bars nearby. The room was romantic and had all amenities we required. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here, even if it wasn't exactly "beach weather", and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! - The Pier View Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I made this reservation thinking we would have a view of the Cayucos pier and beach. I was wrong. I think had our room been on the third floor all would have been fine but we were in the Executive suite on the second floor and had a beautiful view of the hotel across the street. There was a partial view to the left of the beach and partial view of pier to the right.
For those who will be staying here, read the eco information in the binder. We noticed the go green paper but didn't really read it. Usually it is about hanging towels if they are to be used again. Not so here. It means if you want your bed made, more coffee, whatever, you need to call the office and tell them. We went to lunch to give maids time to get in and returned later in afternoon. Bed not made so left again returning about 5:00, bed not made. We should have paid attention to the whole go green paper. There was no coffee, only one day worth is left but the office doesn't open until 9:30 so we went out for coffee.
The room was well appointed but I think for the price there should be extra amenities.

Room Tip: Make sure to call the office when going out for the day so your room will be cleaned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierViewSuites, The PVS Team at Pier View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite and the town, and we appreciate you sharing the areas that you felt could be improved. Please know that we consider our guests' feedback very seriously, and we will utilize your comments to improve in the areas that we can while maintaining our eco-friendly status. We do hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back in the future. - The Pier View Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was only our second trip to Cayucos, but what a difference from the first time - I suppose the RIGHT hotel can make all the difference!

We stayed in a very clean and spacious suite with a ocean view balcony. It was great watching the surfers during the day and hearing the waves at night while we slept. The kitchen was an unexpected delight; pancakes in the morning were a great way to start the day.

Pier View is walking distance to all the town's restaurants and bars so that was a charm. Plus, the gourmet coffee bar at the hotel delivered the BEST MOCHAS I have ever had to us with the hotel's room service.

Small, rustic towns like Cayucos usually have a lot of catching up to do with modern luxury but Pier View Suites really comes through as a shining beach-side boutique hotel!

The beds were better than my mattress at home, the balcony furniture was way more comfortable than normal outdoor chairs (or no patio furniture), and the whole suite was very, very clean!

When you think about how big the room was and the price we paid, it was a HUGE bang for your buck! A luxury suite that size in LA or NY would be about 3x the price!

Finally, the staff were amazingly considerate and involved. They really knew who we were by the end of our stay and were very honest with us about the pricing (they accidentally overcharged us at check-in but corrected it before we even noticed). The local owners even work on site so they provided us with all the best tips on where to eat and where to taste wine nearby.

We will be returning to Pier View Suites again and again!

Room Tip: Apparently all rooms have ocean view decks so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Madison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierViewSuites, The PVS Team at Pier View Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

We're so happy that your stay was wonderful, and we're so very grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. It's great to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the location by enjoying the sounds of waves crashing, the view, and the Coffee Bar too! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! - The Pier View Suites Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
17.8 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,887 reviews
15 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
596 reviews
14.8 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
895 reviews
19 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Suites

Address: 12 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1658 (Formerly Cayucos Pier View Suites)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
#2 Family Hotel in Cayucos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range: $298 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier View Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier View Suites is a beachside boutique hotel in Cayucos, a coastal community half way between Los Angeles and San Francisco known as “California’s last small beach town”. It has gained notoriety among both international travelers and local explorers for its spacious bungalow-style accommodations, furnished ocean view balconies, and superb guest service. Owned and operated as a family business, Pier View Suites continues to provide personalized hospitality for nightly, weekly, and even monthly visitors. Each carefully designed guest suite features stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and downtown Cayucos, gourmet kitchens, fine furnishings, and upscale amenities including: bath and skincare products by Gilchrist & Soames, eco-friendly towels and linens, goose down duvets and pillows, custom spa robes, a bottle of local wine with any stay of two or more nights, and a companion pet fish in bowl. Fireplaces and jet soaking tubs are available in select suites. Use of complimentary bikes are included with each stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pier View Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Pier View Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing