We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll be back!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier View Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pier View Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Novato, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I'll be back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Such a great place to stay. Centrally located in the heart of town, with beautiful views of the ocean. The rooms were immaculate with everything you need and more. Connie welcomed us so warmly and made sure we were happy. It is a very pet friendly place with a Zen garden for the dog and an outdoor place to clean off all the sand from the beach. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Coffee shop downstairs is awesome. Great coffee and ice cream. Stay longer if you can. You won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiasm for our property! We're so delighted to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations. We truly appreciate your support and your glowing review, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you and your furry friend again in the future!

- The Pier View Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    15
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
56
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We decided to make an impromptu trip to the Central Coast to getaway and relax for a few days....so I called Pier View Suites in hopes of getting a room. From my first conversation with Connie this place was FIRST CLASS all the way. She suggested the California Suite and reserved our room for the next two nights. Upon arrival we were treated wonderfully....we received a complimentary bottle of local wine as well as our own beta fish to take back to our room (what a neat idea)! The room was perfect! It was clean and comfortable and the deck with the large chaise with a canopy was to die for! We loved to have our coffee and mimosa in the morning and people watch and loved to lay on the chaise at night and listen to the ocean waves!! We loved this place so much we decided to stay an extra night! Each night we had our little envelope of beta food delivered for our new friend and Connie would even check in for the evening before she went off duty to make sure we didn't need anything. The restaurant suggestions were perfect and the coffee shop located right below the hotel has some of the best coffee we have ever had!! This trip did everything we wanted...it afforded us a few peaceful and relaxing days at the coast! We will definitely be back and make this our go to spot on the Central Coast! Thank you Connie and Pier View Suites!!!

Room Tip: It was just the two of us so we stayed in the California Suite...this room is made for two!! With t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mercedfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you so much for such a thoughtful and detailed review! I'm sure that future travelers will find your input and tips to be incredibly helpful. We’re so grateful that you chose to stay with us, and we appreciate that you took the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We're delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your time on property and exploring the Central Coast. It was an absolute pleasure to serve you and we (and the betta fish) look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

- The Pier View Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked the Executive Suite for our family getaway and it met all of our needs & exceeded our expectations! The staff was very courteous, friendly, helpful, & grateful for our business. We enjoyed the ammenities, spacious layout, & prime location. Connie & Mike, it was a real pleasure meeting you & your staff! All of your hard work paid off; we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The Executive Suite has a kitchen, and to full baths. It also offers a 1, 2, & 3 bedroom option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with Pier View Suites! We're delighted that you chose to stay with us, and we're so grateful to hear that everything met or exceeded your expectations. Your feedback is our best measure of success and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future!

- The Pier View Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Service:
Absolutely AMAZING!!!! From the moment we checked in, we were greeted with absolute hospitality. Jason and Connie made sure they did everything on their part to make sure we were comfortable and happy with our stay. Jason personally took us directly into our room and made sure my boyfriend and I were happy with our room. They both made some recommendations of some local restaurants.

View:
Right across from the ocean. You cannot get any better than that! Our room was on the second floor facing the ocean, and what toped it off, was the canopy on the balcony. The canopy is so big that we were able to lay on it and take a nap while the breeze and the sound of the waves were peacefully relaxing us. How much more relaxing and romantic can you get….??

Room:
Crispy Clean and with a magnificent view of the ocean. Room is fully stocked with a full kitchen, dishwasher, refrigerator, stove, microwave and to add some romance it also has a fire place. The décor in this room is modern and absolutely comfortable. I love love our room.

Location:
Is great. A small town with lots of local good restaurants to eat within walking distance. If you want to travel a little further for food… I fell in love with the “The Thai bounty in Morro Bay,” Its a delicious authentic family owned restaurant. The décor in this restaurant is absolutely fantastic. You feel like you are in Thailand. We ended up having the calamari as an appetizer…oh my Gosh, it is to die for!!! Fresh calamari, not super battered, served with an authentic sauce you will not find anywhere!! Fell in love with this appetizer. Just thinking about it makes me hungry.

Room Tip: Book room with canopy, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us! We're absolutely honored and grateful to receiving such positive feedback, and we're overjoyed that you had such a lovely experience. Your thorough review of our boutique hotel is greatly appreciated. We eagerly look forward to your next visit!

- The Pier View Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silicon valley
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in the asian room with a downstairs bedroom bath and an upstairs living dining with bed and bath.We were checked in by the owner and her son who took great care that we were happy with everything.You are across the street with a great view of the ocean,walk to beach and anywhere in town.The best part is the deck with a lovely round chair with a shade canopy.Kitchen is ready to go if you want to cook but if you dont want to bother there is a great coffee place literally under the unit and several dinner restaurants for dinner a very short walk away.

Room Tip: asian room has a great view and is on the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trevormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We truly appreciate your kind words about so many aspects of your stay. Our team always tries their best to provide outstanding service to all of our guests and we're happy to hear that you were able to enjoy that. And we couldn't agree more about TOP DOG Coffee Bar & café, just downstairs... their beverages pair perfectly with our ocean view canopied lounges! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Pier View Suites again soon.

- The Pier View Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had the Urban Room, top floor on the corner. Very charming and wonderfully decorated. Very clean. Great attention to details. Including the Beta Fish brought to your room to watch and feed during your stay. My favorite thing about the room was the the cabana on the balcony. I sat and read in that most of the day. We could see and hear the ocean waves our entire stay. The staff is very quick to help with anything at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wrightkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We’re so grateful that you chose to stay with us, and we're delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your time. It always makes our day to read such a wonderful review! We look forward to welcoming you back for your next beachside vacation!

- The Pier View Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are looking for the ultimate place to relax, then Pier View Suites is the place. This boutique hotel is charming, beautiful, and chic. We had a room on the top floor that was facing the famous Cayucos pier (which is, obviously, where the name of the hotel comes from), and it was just beautiful. Upon arrival, the owner, Jason, offered us a bottle of red or white wine (your choice) and offered us a pet beta fish to keep in our room during our stay with instructions on how to feed and take care of it. It was marvelously quaint!

The rooms also include full kitchens with all utensils provided which is extremely helpful if you don't want to eat out for every meal. There is also a dishwasher in the rooms so that clean up is very easy. Everything is extremely clean, which I really appreciated. Even in the nicest of hotels, I've found stains on the shower curtain or hair clogging up the bathtub, but there was none of that here. Everything was fresh and white and crisp! Even the towels smelled like fresh laundry and not like they'd been dipped in bleach.

There is also a great coffee shop right below the hotel, and out back there is a relaxing garden area with a nice grill that you can use at any time. I'm pretty sure that each deck on the room has a large lounge couch/chair that is perfect for a romantic lounge while watching the sunset or just looking at the pier and the ocean.

I cannot express how much I love this place! It is, by far, one of the best, cleanest, and most lovely hotels that I have ever stayed in. What really sets it apart is the service. The owner, Jason, was amazing. He made sure to check in to see if we needed anything, but the staff gives you your space in order to ensure your utmost relaxation. They are there at a minute's notice if you do need anything, though. 100% customer service, 100% hotel!

Room Tip: I'd recommend trying to get a room on the top floor facing the ocean. The views are unbeatable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Harper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierViewSuites, Manager at Pier View Suites, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
We're absolutely delighted that your stay was outstanding, and we're so very grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. It's great to hear that you were able to take full advantage of the location by enjoying the waves and the view from your suite. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

- The Pier View Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.0 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
17.8 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
15.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
14.8 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Suites

Property: Pier View Suites
Address: 14 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1659 (Formerly Cayucos Pier View Suites)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
#2 Family Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier View Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier View Suites is the only beachside boutique hotel in Cayucos, a coastal community half way between Los Angeles and San Francisco known as "California's last small beach town". It has gained notoriety amongst both international travelers and local explorers for its remarkably spacious bungalow-style accommodations, luxuriously-furnished ocean view balconies, and superb guest service. Owned and operated as a family business, Pier View Suites continues to provide personalized hospitality for nightly, weekly, and even monthly visitors. Each carefully designed guest suite features stunning views of the Pacific Ocean, gourmet kitchens, fine furnishings, and upscale amenities including: V!VE(C) bathing and skincare products, Grohe™ water features, eco-friendly towels and linens, goose down duvets and pillows, custom spa robes, a bottle of local wine with any stay of two or more nights, and a companion pet fish in bowl. Fireplaces and jet soaking tubs are available in select suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pier View Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Pier View Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing