We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier View Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pier View Suites to your Saves list
Pier View Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 N Ocean Avenue, Cayucos, CA 93430 (Formerly Cayucos Pier View Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 NIGHT DISCOUNT!
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is a good example of how a small town boutique hotel should be run. The staff was very nice and the manager greeted us by name and was very personable. The suite itself was modern and spacious with a fireplace and an amazing soaking tub with jets. The view was really the icing on the cake. I have tried other inns and B&Bs in Cayucos but you really don't get the same high quality, service, or views. Here, you don't sacrifice a thing. I love bringing my family (who live in Cayucos) over each time I stay here because they are always "awed". I won't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the California Suite, the Urban Suite, the Oriental Suite, and the Executive Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    13
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
48
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night in October, while my sister and her husband stayed at the Cayucos Sunset Inn down the street. At their hotel they got a lot of cute extras like a glass of wine and milk and cookies, and breakfast, so we were a little sad to be left out of the goodies. (Pier View gives a bottle of wine but only for longer stays.)
While our suite had a very cool vibe to it, including a beautiful fireplace, a nice jacuzzi, and a large balcony to relax on, most of the room was taken up by a kitchen area which we didn't use. All in all I'd say it was a little expensive considering the lack of extras compared to other places nearby.
If we were coming back to the area, I'd stay in Pier View for a longer stay but at Sunset Inn if for one or two nights.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J_R_2010Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I finally had a weekend to ourselves, in almost two years! After contemplating our location in Cayucos, we decided on Pier View Suites. We called to make reservation and it was the best accommodation of over-the-phone service I have ever had, not to mention that the owners were super nice! They sold us on the "Executive Suite", correct me if that's not the name, because they told us it had recently been re-done. The two days we spent in that room were absolutely amazing. The beds were comfortable and LARGE! There is nothing better than a big bed. I give this place my five stars and know exactly where to stay the next time we visit in the future. Our hotel experience re-visited why my husband and I got married in the first place. Thank you PVS!

P.S. The dogs were adorable!

Room Tip: The Executive Suite! but all of the other rooms were great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Amazing stay, thanks to the lovely ownership. Customer service was outstanding and will most definitely return. Rooms were extremely clean! This place is perfect for that getaway from the big city.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank kccasting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

My 3 sisters and I stayed in the Executive Suite for our long weekend girls trip and loved it. The manager was very friendly and had great suggestions for restaurants. There are 2 balconies with great views of the ocean and town and the master bedroom has a king bed and a very trendy looking bathroom with glass walls. There's a good sized living room, full kitchen and a 2nd bathroom next to the kitchen. We paid extra for the 3 bedroon configuration and it was worth it for 4 people. Loved the oriental decorations throughout the suite.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are full of bright light when the sun reaches the west side of the building b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank roandoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

THIS is the place to stay in Cayucos "the last beach town of CA". We checked in thinking we were in the wrong place but the manager soon gave us the warmest welcome and a bottle of wine. She gave us a quick tour and information about restaurants/things to do. We stayed the first time in the California Suite which was very modern and romantic. We could not believe we had a whole luxury studio condo to ourselves for the price of a hotel room! In it there is a fireplace, a large ocean view deck, and a full kitchen. At first we thought we didn't need such a full space but it proved economic and homey to make pancakes in the morning and barbeque oysters at night. The most recent time we stayed here we were welcomed by the same manager who remembered us and brought us a fish in a bowl to our room as "company". The Executive Suite is exquisite and fit for a celebrity. Everything is authentic Asian with a modern classy twist. Definably a "WOW factor when you walk in. There were two decks and the coolest glass and stone shower overlooking the beach and town so you get a view! The best part is that the hotel is close to everything in town and in the county. While we stayed here we went wine tasting twice, kayaked, rode horses, and went to the SLO Thursday Farmers Market (a must see). We love Cayucos and we love the service we get at this hotel, definably the best in town and a nice escape from the city without sacrificing the upscale amenities.

NOTE: Even though the hotel is not "on the beach", neither is "ON THE BEACH B&B". We were recommended to stay there and it was not nice, plus it was not even on the beach, it is across the street with a view of a creepy public restroom: no thanks! Pier View Suites has way better 180 degree views and is worth every penny! It took us about one minute to walk out the door of our suite to the sand.

Room Tip: We have stayed here multiple times and have found that the romantic 2 person rooms are great because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This place is great for two couples, however please be prepared: The Chateau Suite has no bathtubs, no closet in the downstairs bedroom...just a coat tree with hangers and an "open" layout in the downstairs bedroom. First I freaked...then I took my tiara off, relaxed, and stopped to smell the roses. The place is large and adorable. Clean with a good kitchen and an absolutely magnificant oversized balcony overlooking the ocean, Morro Rock and Cayucos Pier. We played guitars and sang on the balcony...then walked to the town's wonderful restaurants. We played poker in the Old Cuyucos Tavern, did some geocaching and enjoyed the sunsets from the balcony. The town of Cayucos is the last of the laid back beach communities and Pier View Suites rocks! I will return.

Room Tip: Pier View Suites has seasonal rates. You can truly make out during off season. Call hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RadioLady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.0 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
17.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
14.8 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
14.7 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier View Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier View Suites

Property: Pier View Suites
Address: 14 N Ocean Avenue, Cayucos, CA 93430 (Formerly Cayucos Pier View Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cayucos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier View Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier View Suites is the only beachside boutique hotel in Cayucos, a coastal community half way between Los Angeles and San Francisco known as "California's last small beach town". It has gained notoriety amongst both international travelers and local explorers for its remarkably spacious bungalow-style accommodations, luxuriously-furnished ocean view balconies, and superb guest service. Owned and operated as a family business, Pier View Suites continues to provide personalized hospitality for nightly, weekly, and even monthly visitors. Each carefully designed guest suite features stunning views of the Pacific Ocean, gourmet kitchens, fine furnishings, and upscale amenities including: V!VE(C) bathing and skincare products, Grohe™ water features, eco-friendly towels and linens, goose down duvets and pillows, custom spa robes, a bottle of local wine with any stay of two or more nights, and a companion pet fish in bowl. Fireplaces and jet soaking tubs are available in select suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pier View Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Pier View Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing