We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heather B.”
Review of Schooners Wharf

Schooners Wharf
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in picturesque Cayucos, California, Schooners has been offering guests an unforgettable dining experience since it opened in 1993. Embracing a nautical theme reminiscent of the early history of the Central Coast sailors and fishermen, Schooners boasts the best ocean views of any restaurant in the area. Gaze into the deep blue while enjoying one of our signature cocktails, or perhaps some of our famous calamari strips. Schooners menu features fresh seafood and steaks, prepared thoughtfully by Chef Beto Gonzalez. Take time to stop in, take a look and say hello; chances are you'll find yourself wanting to indulge in our house specialty Bloody Mary, our fresh seafood, and some lively conversation with our local patrons. Hope to see you soon!
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heather B.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

For our last evening we didn't want to go to far so we had dinner at Schooners Wharf. We were able to eat outside and face the water. Wonderful. The food was very good and the staff very nice. I would say they could get rid of a few cobwebs outside, a small thing but it just looks like you care.

Visited June 2013
Review collected in partnership with Watchb4go.com

Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersCayucos, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi Heather B,

Thanks for your review of Schooners. We're glad you had a good time, and enjoyed our food. Sorry about the cobwebs - it is an unfortunate side effect of our otherwise fun nautical decor and wood siding. We do try to sweep the webs away so that it doesn't interfere with our guests' dining experience. It looks like we missed a few spots the day of your visit. But rest assured, we'll be out there today and pretty much every day sweeping away cobwebs somewhere on the property!
Thanks again,

Amanda & Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    169
    51
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
326 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good food, unique decor”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Schooners was recommended to us by the owners of the motel we stayed in. Contrary to a few recent reviews we found the staff very accommodating and welcoming to our child. We asked for chocolate milk, but when the waitress discovered they didn't have any, she went out of her way to make our daughter some hot chocolate. The food was served quickly, and was piping hot! All three of us enjoyed our meals. In particular, the Mac and Cheese for our daughter was not from a box! The room was a bit chilly as it was a cool day, but the staff checked several times (since it was early we were the only ones in that particular part of the restaurant) to make sure we were warm enough. Don't know if we will be in Cayucos again (we were traveling on our vacation), but if we are we'll stop by Schooners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersCayucos, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Happyrocker,

Thanks for your pleasant review of Schooners. We're glad that you brought your child with you to lunch - we do try our best to accommodate families, and take it to heart when we miss the mark. So it's always a pleasure to hear that our staff did a good job with your family.
Thanks again,

Amanda & Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
281 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good chowder..”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The claim chowder was excellent if you like it really thick. The cup servingwas also generous. Wife had ahi egg rolls which she said were quite good. 3 good size egg rolls cut open to show generous pieces of ahi filling them. I had fish and chips which were pretty standard - not bad but not outstanding. Getting seated outside for lunch (there is an upstairs patio and adownstairs) was a challenge. They did not have anyone serving as a hostess so I had to go find someone to ask them where we could sit with our dog. Our direct service was good once we were seated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcjr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersCayucos, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi Jcjr2,
Thanks for sharing your impressions of our restaurant. We're glad that you enjoyed the chowder and ahi egg rolls. We try to have a host scheduled at all times when the kitchen is open, but it looks like we needed to have one more person available to greet our guests on the day you visited. It is true that in the summertime, getting a table on our upper deck can sometimes take a while. Feel free to call ahead and reserve a table upstairs on your next visit, as we're happy to take reservations.
Thanks,
Amanda & Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in Cayucos for just one night passing through and our hotel recommended this restaurant. When we got there, we were greeted as if we were old friends....led up the stairs, shown around both inside and out and told to pick a spot where we felt comfy, we chose outside on the top deck which was great. Our waiter, Isaac was terrific- I am both lactose and gluten intolerant which can often make dining out a bit tricky, but he was most helpful, and it was no bother to change items on the menu to suit. A very enjoyable night, and great food. Oh, and we realised that the lovely gentleman that had shown us around didnt even work there, just a friendly local :-). Will definately be back if we get that way again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Designedforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersCayucos, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi DesignedForLife,

Thanks for your glowing review of Schooners. We're happy that you found us, and that one of our friendly patrons showed you around the place. We'll also make sure Issac sees your kind words, and we'll use this to motivate others to be just as accommodating to our guests with dietary restrictions.

All the best,

Amanda & Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner In Cayuoos”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Visiting family in Paso Robles, and droved to Cayuoos for dinner. This restaurant has a wonderful view, right on the Pacific Coast watched the swimmers as we had dinner. Call ahead so you're able to have a window seat. The food was wonderful, shrimp, clams, mussles, tuna etc. and the clam chowder soup was great. The service was a little slow but we were happy to enjoy the view and visit. Had a little room for dessert and had choc cookie with ice cream, excellent. Would recommend this restaurant highly, plus nice town to walk around after dinner to work off calories.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYGeorgiaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersCayucos, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi NYGeorgiaJim,
Thanks for your review of Schooners. We're happy you were able to get a window seat, and enjoyed the view and food. We'll work on tightening our service for your next return!
Thanks again,

Amanda and Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Wharf also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Schooners Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing