We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best calamari that we've found.”
Review of Schooners Wharf

Schooners Wharf
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in picturesque Cayucos, California, Schooners has been offering guests an unforgettable dining experience since it opened in 1993. Embracing a nautical theme reminiscent of the early history of the Central Coast sailors and fishermen, Schooners boasts the best ocean views of any restaurant in the area. Gaze into the deep blue while enjoying one of our signature cocktails, or perhaps some of our famous calamari strips. Schooners menu features fresh seafood and steaks, prepared thoughtfully by Chef Beto Gonzalez. Take time to stop in, take a look and say hello; chances are you'll find yourself wanting to indulge in our house specialty Bloody Mary, our fresh seafood, and some lively conversation with our local patrons. Hope to see you soon!
Clovis, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best calamari that we've found.”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The food here is fairly decent; although the fish and chips were a little disappointing the last time we went. On the other hand, the calamari is amazing. Served up with two dipping sauces, you can't go wrong with this plate! The calamari is always fried to perfection. I have yet to get a plate that is chewy and overcooked. Prices are a little high, but the view from the lunch deck is amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersCayucos, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thanks for the great review of our calamari. We love it too!
Amanda Fritzsche, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    171
    52
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradley
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Not bad, but a little pricey”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had lunch one afternoon and were quite surprised at the total of our bill and that changed our plans to have dinner there. Very cozy, small bar area and it seems that the locals love the place. The chowder was very good; the shrimp cocktail had 6 huge shrimp and the accompanying sauce was pleasant. Good view of the ocean from the top patio area which is located right outside of the bar. We will go back, but not to eat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank K. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersCayucos, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice compliments on our food and ambiance. We try to keep our prices as competitive as possible while serving ingredients of high quality. Your feedback is much appreciated.
Hope to see you soon,
Amanda Fritzsche, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“View and margaritas that can't be beat”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you can get a seat on the outdoor deck upstairs, that's the place to be - the view of the Cayucos beach is absolute heaven. Food is great, drinks are great. Love the clam chowder. Sometimes service is a little slow...so just enjoy the view!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jthomasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersCayucos, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thanks for the stellar review! Hope to see you again soon,
Amanda Fritzsche, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Good food and service. The crab and calamari was absolutely amazing! No one in our group had a bad meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank catan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersCayucos, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are so thrilled whenever anyone takes time out of their busy life to praise us. Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Amanda Fritzsche, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable place to eat”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Even in the cold of December we enjoyed eating outside on the upstairs deck. Service was very good and our whole table enjoyed our meal. We all ordered fish meals, salmon, halibut and fish\chips - all very good. I had the Pecan crusted halibut and it was perfect. Loved the potatoes that went with it. Of course try the clam chowder and make sure you take a little swing in the hammock swing outfront.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersWharf, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your nice review of our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.
Amanda Fritzsche, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Wharf also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Schooners Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing