We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views not so good, but the food was good.”
Review of Schooners Wharf

Schooners Wharf
Ranked #6 of 24 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located in picturesque Cayucos, California, Schooners has been offering guests an unforgettable dining experience since it opened in 1993. Embracing a nautical theme reminiscent of the early history of the Central Coast sailors and fishermen, Schooners boasts the best ocean views of any restaurant in the area. Gaze into the deep blue while enjoying one of our signature cocktails, or perhaps some of our famous calamari strips. Schooners menu features fresh seafood and steaks, prepared thoughtfully by Chef Beto Gonzalez. Take time to stop in, take a look and say hello; chances are you'll find yourself wanting to indulge in our house specialty Bloody Mary, our fresh seafood, and some lively conversation with our local patrons. Hope to see you soon!
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We came here hoping we would see water views but was disappointed in their seating areas. the Bartender had the water views behind the counter...That should have been the seating area. The outdoors...well, just a little cold to be out there, and there was the dining room downstairs, away from the water views and it was just as cold as it was outside. Well, we ate at the bar section with the peek-a-boo water views you can catch. The clam chowder was good, the ahi tuna sushi was good also. My husband had halibut and chips which he seemed to enjoy. Service was good also. We just did not like being in a cold place. Perhaps on a nicer day, it would have been more enjoyable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kcbauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersWharf, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for the great compliments on our menu. We realize that it can be pretty chilly outside on a cold day; and if it's windy the outside heaters aren't enough to keep everyone perfectly toasty. That said, our downstairs fireplace should have been lit and the outdoor heaters on. I apologize since it sounds like our staff had not tended to those tasks yet. Often we're a lot warmer than our customers with all our running around so we certainly appreciate it when our guests let us know that they want some heat. As for the layout in our bar, this is simply what we inherited when we took over Schooners in 2010. My husband and I have often mused how wonderful it would be if the bar were on the mountain side and you could have a perfectly unobstructed view of the ocean. I'm not sure how our regulars would feel about making that drastic of a change to their bar... but perhaps someday if we can afford a remodel...??? Thanks again for your constructive critique. We hope you'll be back again soon.
Sincerely,
Amanda Fritzsche, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 376 of 503 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at a nearby B&B and were told that Schooner's had good clam chowder. It was pretty average with mostly potatoes and a very thick (needed seasoning) chowder base. Hubby had fish and chips which he said was very good, especially the fries. Service was good and when we left the downstairs dinning area, we ventured upstairs to the bar where things were starting to get lively. We were told (the next day) that the bar gets lots of activity and party people later on in the evening. Wish we wouldn't have been so tired and stayed around longer. Maybe next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Blooms65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersWharf, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for your nice review. We get consistent compliments that our chowder is tasty and full of clams so perhaps we made a mistake on our recipe the day you ate here. I'm sorry it fell short of being wonderful and will look into the matter.
Sincerely,
Amanda Fritzsche, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Passing through on our way to Morro Bay & decided to stop for a quick lunch & antiquing...if you're in a beach town go for the atmosphere & this place is full if it....some of the best calamari we have tried, the clam chowder was thick & full of clams plus the specials were innovative & tasty....enjoy!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cdenoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersWharf, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thanks for taking time out of your day to give Schooners a stellar review! If you're in our area again please stop by and say hi.
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a nice experience at schooners bar, the bar upstairs had a few characters drinking & sharing a good time which was infectious & added to the feel of the place. The view out of the bar window was very picturesque, looking out to a pier going out to the ocean.
We ate lunch which was a basic meal of fish & chips, & calamari & chips. It is hard to go wrong with these meals which were served in a very friendly manner by our waiter.
I would be happy to return to this bar again in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa-ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersWharf, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thanks for sharing your experience and giving us such a nice review. We hope you'll visit again.
Cheers!
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had lunch here Nov. 25th. Two of us had Albacore tuna melt sandwiches, one had fish tacos, and one had calamari & chips. All of it was really good. The calamari was truly outstanding! I was a bit disappointed with the sweet potato fries, which were an extra $2 over the regular ones. They had a really strong flavor, like the sweet potaotes were getting "near the edge". Wish I had their tuna melt right now! The memory is making me hungry!

1  Thank Futuremauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersWharf, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for the 5-star review of Schooners! We are sorry you didn't like our sweet potato fries. Maybe try the beer battered fries or onion rings next time? The spicy Thai peanut slaw is also a fun substitution if you like some heat.
Cheers!
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Wharf also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Schooners Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing