We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food with a relaxing atmosphere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schooners Wharf

Schooners Wharf
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in picturesque Cayucos, California, Schooners has been offering guests an unforgettable dining experience since it opened in 1993. Embracing a nautical theme reminiscent of the early history of the Central Coast sailors and fishermen, Schooners boasts the best ocean views of any restaurant in the area. Gaze into the deep blue while enjoying one of our signature cocktails, or perhaps some of our famous calamari strips. Schooners menu features fresh seafood and steaks, prepared thoughtfully by Chef Beto Gonzalez. Take time to stop in, take a look and say hello; chances are you'll find yourself wanting to indulge in our house specialty Bloody Mary, our fresh seafood, and some lively conversation with our local patrons. Hope to see you soon!
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
284 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a relaxing atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

After attending the local gem and mineral club show, we decided to enjoy a late lunch. Schooners was our choice since it had out door seating on the second floor of their establishment. It was perfect, you could hear the surf and enjoy the beautiful weather while having a relaxing lunch. The shrimp cocktail had jumbo size shrimp that were fresh and sweet. The calamari and chips was delicious and perfectly prepared. This was coupled with a local beer that made the meal memorable.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rocklvr03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersWharf, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for the great review of Schooners. 5 stars - we love it!
Amanda Atkinson-Fritzsche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    161
    49
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, But Slow Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Food was excellent as well as the ocean view from the outside patio. However the service was on the slow side. The waiter was friendly and knowledgeable, just not real fast. Great place if you're not in a hurry.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersWharf, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks so much for the 4 star review of Schooners. I'm sorry about the slow service. We are really trying to instill a sense of urgency in our staff and it's certainly a challenge with some of them. Thanks for pointing this out so we can work on our weaknesses. We really want to be the best restaurant in Cayucos!
Cheers,
Amanda Atkinson-Fritzsche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanford
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This is THE place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

So full of sea ship atmospher. Food is medium to high in price, but absolutely the best in taste! We had their special signatutre burgers. The Blue cheese with bacon Birger was to die for! Generous portions; warm and efficient staff. We like to eat outside on the upstairs deck. The winters ate so mild in this coastal area that we can eat outside anytime we go, unless it is raining. This resturant can't be beat for food and fun!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank A s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersWharf, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for the awesome review! The October 'Indian Summers' of Cayucos are amazing with clear blue skies and 80-90 degree days. We're glad you're enjoying the great weather on our deck at Schooners.
Amanda Atkinson-Fritzsche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We came here for breakfast and watched the dolphins feeding right off the beach while we drank endless mimosas. Food was average, but the service was great and the atmosphere was too. I'd like to go back for dinner and late night.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teeny9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersWharf, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. There's so much marine activity this time of year. It's fun to spy dolphins, whales and bait balls right in front of Schooners. Let us know what you think of our menu if you come back to try lunch or dinner.
Amanda Atkinson-Fritzsche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Awesome view and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We ate at Schooners a couple of times during our last trip, plus we planned an event with them to host 60 of our wedding guests. Whether we were sitting upstairs at the bar enjoying their incredible view of the pier, having dinner on the terrace, or at our reception on the patio, we had a great experience each time. The ingredients are fresh, the service was good, and you really can't beat the location or the view.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank erika92075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonersWharf, Owner at Schooners Wharf, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks again for making Schooners your spot to be in Cayucos! We loved having you here and hope to see you again soon.
Brendan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooners Wharf also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Schooners Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing