We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant and just-as-great next door bakery/cafe”
Review of Hoppe's Garden Bistro - CLOSED

Hoppe's Garden Bistro
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hoppe’s Garden Bistro has been serving the highest quality Continental cuisine and the finest International and local wines, from our historic location in the heart of Cayucos, for over 13 years. Our team of professional, knowledgeable servers have devoted themselves to pampering our guests and delivering a sophisticated level of attentive service. The kitchen and bakery are abuzz early each morning as our chefs start their daily craft of making virtually everything by hand: breads, pizza dough, ice cream, cakes, pastries, stocks, sauces, pasta, smoked meats, sausages, cured fish – it all begins from scratch with our dedication to fresh flavors and creative seasonal cuisine.By the time Chef Wilhelm Hoppe opened Hoppe’s Garden Bistro in 2000, he was already recognized as one of the Central Coast’s most cutting edge chefs. His years in Morro Bay at Hoppe’s 901 and Windows on the Water won over the palates of many critics and the dining public. Chef Hoppe’s uncompromising use of the finest ingredients, skillful saucing and masterful plating won him respect as someone truly devoted to his passion. Chef Hoppe graduated from the Culinary Institute of America in New York and trained in Switzerland before settling here. His numerous accolades include Awards of Excellence from Wine Spectator and Le Cordon Bleu. Sadly, Chef Hoppe passed away in 2010.Today, Hoppe’s honors the man and his legacy: sourcing fresh, high quality ingredients, creating seasonally inspired flavors, and building long lasting relationships with growers, winemakers and patrons.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant and just-as-great next door bakery/cafe”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We've always adored the restaurant.. BY FAR THE FRESHEST, MOST CREATIVE AND INTERESSTING FOOD ANYWHERE ON THE CENTRAL COAST .. and the fact that they allow good dogs in the patio, if other customers don't object. The next door bakery/cafe is much simpler fare, much cheaper (order at counter, paper plates) , also dog friendly and excellent food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brady999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    39
    10
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped in for a Sat. Lunch and were very pleased with what we found. The menu was very creative the staff was very polite & knowledgeable. The wine list is very extensive and the gardens are spectacular. The prices are good and overall this is a great find and an enjoyable time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doughunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nicest restaurant in town...”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

It is a little pricey for the atmosphere of the small beach town, but for sure the best meal you will have in the area. The service has always been nice and does everything they can do make your nice memorable. I've been coming here for years and never had a bad meal. It is for sure a 4-5 star dining experience but casual enough where you can come in flip flops.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rainer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Cayucos, CA”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lunch is a great way to be introduced to the great cuisine at Hoppe's in Cayucos. Five of us had just attended the 3rd Annual Sea Glass Festival nearby and we were ready to relax away from the crowds. We were immediately seated in this store front "higher end" restaurant and had views of the ocean. After scanning the menu we found something to please each palette. This was a Saturday and the restaurant filled up quickly. Don't miss the back patio for alfresco dining amid the lovely flowers and cozy private and semi private areas.

Put Hoppe's at the top of you list for a special dinner. I rate this restaurant as the best on the Central Coast!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariposa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hoppe's Is Solid”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We dined at Hoppe's yesterday for lunch and were impressed. The restaurant was nearly vacant when we arrived but filled up as the lunch hour progressed. We visited during the offseason, so that it was quiet was not a surprise. The atmosphere was casual bordering on formal with nice window seating. The menu presented terrific looking options, mostly fish, but also pasta, chicken and gourmet pizzas, all with a chef's creative mind. The wine list was extensive, focusing mostly on local wines.

We started with a red abalone appetizer, a dainty portion for $18. However, the sauce-filled plate was to die for, and the bread was tasty and excellent for finishing it off. The fish was well-cooked and nicely presented.

Next was the winter salad, a bed of greens with roasted cauliflower and brussel sprouts, really nicely done. It looked and tasted appropriately of winter. Our main course was grilled halibut, cooked to perfection, as opposed to so many restaurants who overcook their fish. The sauce, apparently the chef's specialty, was outstanding.

Truly a great dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schrager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoppe's Garden Bistro also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing