We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in town”
Review of Skipper's

Skipper's
Ranked #12 of 23 Restaurants in Cayucos
Restaurant details
Bellflower, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Love to visit Skipper's for breakfast when we are in the area. Portions are large and tasty and the staff is friendly. Breakfast is our favorite meal of the day and what a great place to start the day of on the right foot!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    36
    15
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Greasy Fried Food”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Save your money--go to Rudell's Smokehouse down the street, around the corner. Skippers is old, musty with greasy walls.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wanderllust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dog friendly patio best feature”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We sat on the patio, where there is no waitress service, just a half hidden sign saying to go inside to order. The waitress inside was blunt and not friendly. Menu was fairly big but so were the prices especially for a self serve restaurant. I would say the food was ok, abundant, I had a hamburger which was commercial grade. Location is great right off the beach at Cayucos. A real " greasy spoon" place so if thats what you like, this is the place. Inside decor is old cowboy stuff and did not look very clean...I really wouldn't want to eat here again although it wasn't 100% bad.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puddyfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Maybe Skip It”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Lunch (fried fish on a hamburger bun) was just okay and reasonably priced. Also, the restaurant could stand to be cleaned. The carpet looked as if it hadn't been vacuumed lately.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelandJuree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayucos, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So-So Skipper's”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Some 25 years ago this was our favorite place to eat. Over the years the place has gotten dirtier and always has flies roaming around. A recent breakfast, which used to be one of my favorite meals, came swimming in grease/butter. I got fish and chips to go and the batter literally slid off the fish, it was so greasy. The fries were limp and sodden. The waitresses are friendly and service is always quick, but it's become a run down diner, which saddens me. With Duckie's right down the street, I don't go to Skipper's any more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipper's also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Skipper's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing