We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful first night stop with our puppy”
Review of Cayucos Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayucos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayucos Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Bonita, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful first night stop with our puppy”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

What a quaint, seaside motel......a highlight was fresh flowers, personalized dog dish, dog toys, and tons of dog treats for our Golden named Sandy. What a nice surprise! This older motel was spotless and very comfortable for the whole family. The location is perfect for checking out the entire town on foot. Another impressive event at the motel was the continental breakfast. Lots of options, beautiful fresh fruit, and very friendly staff. I would definitely recommend this diamond in the ruff!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    29
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
19
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had looked up places to stay in Cayucos, as a friend told me what a fun little dog friendly town this was and we were heading down the coast on a road trip vacation with our dogs. I had looked up Cayucos Motel and it looked great and a perfect stop for us on our way back home to San Diego. We spent two nights there and truly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were big, spotlessly clean and our single king bed was super comfy.
The continental breakfast was a nice touch and we enjoyed it very much. The dogs had a blast, the first night Carolann (I hope I spelled your name right!), knocked on the door and brought our dogs these huge, personalized dog bowls stufffed with treats and toys! Needless to say, our dogs were thrilled with their goodies!
The beach is steps away and just gorgeous and the town is small enough that you can walk to dining and delis.
We loved the relaxed and easy beach vibe here and we are hoping to come back soon with our dogs!
Awesome motel, highly recommend! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baymare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were told by the Manager of the Cayucos Motel that they don't charge any pet fees. Your dogs gets to stay for FREE. Isn't that a nice change...!!

It's a nice, smaller but older motel. The location is excellent. It's located right by the approach to the beach, and...within a VERY easy walking distance to "downtown" and the various restaurants.

You won't have a view of the beach itself, but...you won't be paying for a view either.

I believe that this little motel only offers 8 rooms with different room configurations so call the motel for details. They do offer a free continental breakfast.

The motel might only rate a "3" = average, but we think that the "no pet fees" policy is a really cool thing to do so we're rating the Cayucos Motel a "four".

PS: Isn't it nice to see a small town motel retain "motel" in it's name. Especially in this day and age when any motel or inn is being called a "hotel". We wonder when Motel 6 will change it's name to Hotel 6....!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

My sisters and I have stayed at the Cayucos Motel 3 years in a row - would do so again, and again! The people are friendly, the rooms are quaint and comfortable. You can't beat staying within walking distance of the ocean!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AAyres2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Last minute drive to cayucos found me welcomed by friendly staff at Cayucos Motel. I was offered a tour of availble rooms and choose the "Paradise Room". New bed, bedding, quilt, fluffy new towels and a sparkling clean room. Tub/shower was spotless! Coffee maker and refrigerator too! I was taken back by the hospitality and most pet friendly welcome ever. Annie and Olive were given "dog gifts" specific to them. Olive is ball crazy and got extra tennis balls! A beautiful breakfast with fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, pastries, coffee, juice etc. Great lawn area that boasts a beautiful ocean view for a sunset glass of wine or sunrise coffee. Refferal for a massage worked out wonderful. Can't wait to go back! The best, cleanest, friendliest motel ever!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CjgAtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we found the small and charming Cayucos Motel. We are traveling with a small dog and are happy to find a place that truly welcomes pets. The motel across the street advertises itself as "pet friendly", but charges $25 extra per pet. The Cayucos Motel does not have a surcharge and welcomed our dog with a personalized gift: a silver bucket with his name on it that was filled with dog treats and toys! A couple pulled into the parking lot just as we were leaving for dinner. I said, "This is a great place to stay" and the man said, "That's good to hear. I'm the owner!" It is a family run business and the people could not be nicer or more helpful. We highly recommend this wonderful motel. It's clean, quiet and centrally located right near the beach and businesses.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maackery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We made reservations here for my birthday weekend and I was so excited...unfortunately our family came down ill just a couple of days before the stay. I called to find out the cancellation policy and was greeted with I'm so sorry you are ill. I can take the cancellation and I'm sure we can fill the room. Come visit when you feel better.

A far cry from the usual take the fee and then rebook the room. She was so kind. Can't wait to really visit...

Thank you for being so considerate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.1 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
127 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
On The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Motel

Property: Cayucos Motel
Address: 20 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1640
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
#3 Family Hotel in Cayucos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Cayucos Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing