We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming,Clean, Pet Friendly Gem”
Review of Cayucos Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayucos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayucos Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Last minute drive to cayucos found me welcomed by friendly staff at Cayucos Motel. I was offered a tour of availble rooms and choose the "Paradise Room". New bed, bedding, quilt, fluffy new towels and a sparkling clean room. Tub/shower was spotless! Coffee maker and refrigerator too! I was taken back by the hospitality and most pet friendly welcome ever. Annie and Olive were given "dog gifts" specific to them. Olive is ball crazy and got extra tennis balls! A beautiful breakfast with fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, pastries, coffee, juice etc. Great lawn area that boasts a beautiful ocean view for a sunset glass of wine or sunrise coffee. Refferal for a massage worked out wonderful. Can't wait to go back! The best, cleanest, friendliest motel ever!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CjgAtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we found the small and charming Cayucos Motel. We are traveling with a small dog and are happy to find a place that truly welcomes pets. The motel across the street advertises itself as "pet friendly", but charges $25 extra per pet. The Cayucos Motel does not have a surcharge and welcomed our dog with a personalized gift: a silver bucket with his name on it that was filled with dog treats and toys! A couple pulled into the parking lot just as we were leaving for dinner. I said, "This is a great place to stay" and the man said, "That's good to hear. I'm the owner!" It is a family run business and the people could not be nicer or more helpful. We highly recommend this wonderful motel. It's clean, quiet and centrally located right near the beach and businesses.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maackery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We made reservations here for my birthday weekend and I was so excited...unfortunately our family came down ill just a couple of days before the stay. I called to find out the cancellation policy and was greeted with I'm so sorry you are ill. I can take the cancellation and I'm sure we can fill the room. Come visit when you feel better.

A far cry from the usual take the fee and then rebook the room. She was so kind. Can't wait to really visit...

Thank you for being so considerate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This little motel was a lucky find on our trip down the CA coast. It's an older motel, but everything in and out are spotlessly clean. The staff endeavors to satisfy their guests and the generous continental breakfast was delightful. Our room had a kind bed, very clean and comfortable. There was a little fridge in the room to keep our cooler goodies cold, so drinks out on the lawn were in order. Sitting the Adirondacks, we looked right out on the ocean and it was gorgeous. Quiet and comfortable, well priced and beautifully placed, please don't let its outside humble appearance mislead you. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indio760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stumbled on this small motel just off the beach in the pretty seaside village of Cayucos and were greeted by a sweet young girl who welcomed us with a smile and gave us a lovely room, which was not only very clean but obviously benefited from the feminine touch. The following morning we enjoyed a continental breakfast in the sunshine. Highly recommended and very reasonably priced, warm and friendly and so different from the big and brash alternatives. We hope to return one day.

Room Tip: They are all good and you can park outside - no stairs as they are all single story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We usually stay in B & B's but our regulars were full. This small motel (7 rooms) was ideal for our needs. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom had shower and plenty of shelf space. Our king bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly although generally uninformed about restaurants. Continental breakfast included fresh rolls, toast, fresh fruit, juice, coffee and hard boiled eggs. The room has TV (cable) and wifi was fast. There was in room fridge and plenty of dresser and closet space. The town is easy to access from Hwy 1 and only 20 miles from Hearst Castle. All in all, we would stay here without hesitation in the future. Look to surrounding communities for restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osidemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Located right in downtown near all the restaurants. Stayed at for one night in their largest room. The room has two single beds and one queen bed. The room is supposed to have an ocean view but I think that room description is pushing it a little bit. From your porch you can barely catch a glimpse of the beach which is around the corner from the hotel. The room was very clean and the staff were very kind. They have boogie boards beach chairs and all kinds of stuff for you to use free of charge. If I ever return to Cayucos I would definitely stay here, just not in the larger room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsetterspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.1 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
137 reviews
6.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
15.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Motel

Address: 20 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1640
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
#3 Family Hotel in Cayucos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range: $65 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Cayucos Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing