We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little find in a long while”
Review of Cayucos Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayucos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayucos Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Indio, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best little find in a long while”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This little motel was a lucky find on our trip down the CA coast. It's an older motel, but everything in and out are spotlessly clean. The staff endeavors to satisfy their guests and the generous continental breakfast was delightful. Our room had a kind bed, very clean and comfortable. There was a little fridge in the room to keep our cooler goodies cold, so drinks out on the lawn were in order. Sitting the Adirondacks, we looked right out on the ocean and it was gorgeous. Quiet and comfortable, well priced and beautifully placed, please don't let its outside humble appearance mislead you. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indio760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    29
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
19
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wisborough Green, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stumbled on this small motel just off the beach in the pretty seaside village of Cayucos and were greeted by a sweet young girl who welcomed us with a smile and gave us a lovely room, which was not only very clean but obviously benefited from the feminine touch. The following morning we enjoyed a continental breakfast in the sunshine. Highly recommended and very reasonably priced, warm and friendly and so different from the big and brash alternatives. We hope to return one day.

Room Tip: They are all good and you can park outside - no stairs as they are all single story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We usually stay in B & B's but our regulars were full. This small motel (7 rooms) was ideal for our needs. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom had shower and plenty of shelf space. Our king bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly although generally uninformed about restaurants. Continental breakfast included fresh rolls, toast, fresh fruit, juice, coffee and hard boiled eggs. The room has TV (cable) and wifi was fast. There was in room fridge and plenty of dresser and closet space. The town is easy to access from Hwy 1 and only 20 miles from Hearst Castle. All in all, we would stay here without hesitation in the future. Look to surrounding communities for restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osidemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Located right in downtown near all the restaurants. Stayed at for one night in their largest room. The room has two single beds and one queen bed. The room is supposed to have an ocean view but I think that room description is pushing it a little bit. From your porch you can barely catch a glimpse of the beach which is around the corner from the hotel. The room was very clean and the staff were very kind. They have boogie boards beach chairs and all kinds of stuff for you to use free of charge. If I ever return to Cayucos I would definitely stay here, just not in the larger room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetterspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Took a chance and met the nicest people in Cayucos. Closest to beach for mid-price, small but comfortable rooms. The service was personalized to each guest. When they saw a wine bottle they brought over wine glasses. We went in the off season and with fewer guests they brought a breakfast basket to the room so we wouldn't have to go out in the morning. Wow!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justbsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed for a friend's wedding in mid-April. Staff was courteous and the room we stayed in was clean & comfortable. I loved the little touches that you won't find at larger establishments. For example- the patio furniture, the availability of beach towels, sand toys, beach chair/umbrellas- all for our use, free of charge. Hotel was right at the beach & within walking distance to local food establishments. Free breakfast was good, too; we were provided with fresh cut strawberries, bananas, poppy seed bread, hard boiled eggs, etc. Fresh juice and coffee were also available. We only got to stay one night, but wish we could have made an entire weekend out of it. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BZMAMAOF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, ca
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Not really a cottage, but as close as we will ever come to having one at any beach! This was our third trip to Cayucos and we missed out by not staying at the Cayucos Motel each of the previous two times! It's clean, simple, quiet, well-managed, beautifully landscaped, and perfectly located. Just sit outside the door at your little table that's part of your $90 room and you will view the ocean. Just walk down the sidewalk to the breezeway and you can pick up some beach chairs or toys, and in literally two seconds you will be on the beach. when you return to the property, you can take an outdoor shower if you need to rinse off after swimming.In the morning a variety of fresh baked goods, fruit, hard boiled eggs, etc. are available for a quick breakfast...as well as coffee and juice...Should you have the need to find souvenirs or sundries, just stroll a block to the pharmacy (new building, also beautifully landscaped). HUNGRY?...within walking distance there are at least ten restaurants...Duckies is great...and open daily. A variety of cuisines is available...but be careful...several high profile restaurants are only open Wednesday thru Sunday. The owner of the motel can fill you in on everything local. Her dad built the model ship on display in the local barber shop, also nearby.

Room Tip: We were in room 2...near the ping pong table and barbeque (both available to guests). But, I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelaidetaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
6.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
840 reviews
15.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
688 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Motel

Property: Cayucos Motel
Address: 20 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1640
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cayucos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Cayucos Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing