We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pet friendly inn in a pet friendly town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pet friendly inn in a pet friendly town”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Cayucos is a small beach town in Central California between Morro Bay and Cambria. We stayed at the Shoreline Inn, which is right on the beach. Our room overlooked the pier and we loved it. We couldn't have asked for a better view. They have a better than average continental breakfast and the staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely go back

Room Tip: Pick a room on the second floor overlooking the pier. The rooms are small, but the view makes it wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MzMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are delighted that you were able to enjoy your stay at the Shoreline Inn… on the beach. Our deluxe continental breakfast is included with your stay, it includes hardboiled eggs, fresh fruit, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, bagels, english muffins, cinnamon rolls, and muffins just enough to get your day off to a good start. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    187
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
276
450
44
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Franciso, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness, updated amenities in the room and overall quality of this motel. The management clearly care very much about their property and keep it in pristine shape - NO smell of beachy mold or stale "whatever" at this place. They have a strict no smoking anywhere on property except in designated areas, great for us but not if you're a smoker! Loved the beach front room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lotsofbusinesstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
“lotsofbusinesstravel” Thank you for choosing to stay Shoreline Inn… on the beach while celebrating your wife’s birthday in Cayucos. All of our 29 rooms have a view of the ocean, they range from panoramic ocean views in the beachfront building to views of the pier and partial views located in the Deluxe building. We look forward to your next visit!

Laila Kollman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Having been big fans of Cayucos for years, we wanted a place to take our dog to celebrate my wife's birthday. We had seen the hotel for years but had never stayed there. We were very pleased with our room overlooking the pier and the entire staff was very friendly and welecomed out dog. We will go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaybird5108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time out and reviewing Shoreline Inn… on the beach. We are a pet friendly motel that is right on the beach, therefore, we do take extra time in our everyday cleaning and perform regular deep cleaning of our rooms. All of our rooms are non-smoking as well as our patios and balcony’s; we want all of our guest to have a relaxing, safe, and pleasant experience. We hope to see you soon!

Laila Kollman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Room was spacious, view of ocean on balcony. Access to the beach from the hotel.
I was worried that it might smell like dog since its animal friendly but the room was clean and fresh.
First time here and would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Streaked50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Shoreline Inn… on the beach. Although we are a pet friendly establishment, we are dedicated to ensuring that each and every one of our guests has a stay that exceeds their expectations. After every pet we change and wash all the linens from the room, along with a thorough deep cleaning process. We hope to see you back soon at the Shoreline Inn... on the beach.

-Laila Kollman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is literally right on the beach--a rare treat. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Lobby has a small gift shop, lots of local info, and a decent continental breakfast in the morning. The property has showers for post-beach clean up, barbecues, picnic tables, and lots of outdoor seating. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank namegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you, “Namegirl” for your descriptive review of our motel and outdoor facilities. Shoreline Inn… on the beach is definitely right on the beach, as our name indicates. Of our 29 rooms 18 of them are beach front with panoramic ocean views of the pacific, and we are the only beachfront motel between Monterey and Pismo Beach that’s right on the water. We hope to see you back soon at the Shoreline Inn… on the beach.

-Laila Kollman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno,Ca.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our first trip to Shoreline Inn was Mother's Day 2012. We had been looking for a place like this for years, after the first night we Knew we would not be staying anywhere else - Ever !! People say it's all about Location !! - True - But when you add super clean rooms, great staff, and pet friendly what more can you ask for? Not much ! The beds are very comfortable. The views from the beachfront rooms is beyond fantastic ! It is quiet at night - even with pets - when you leave your window open all you hear is the sounds of the surf. A person never knows what you might see outside your window - pelicans fishing - dolphins playing - surfers - a seagull stealing someone's lunch - and that's the short list !! We had plenty of choices of adventures to go on - or not. The staff is always willing to give "fun" ideas of where and when activities are happening. We prefer short trips over long, therefore we have been taking several short trips over the last year!! When we are here we have the luxury of being on the go or becoming a "beach bum". We learned early on to make reservations as early as possible. We now consider Cayucos and Shoreline Inn our "official" home away from home !!!!!!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms have the best views. Lobby building rooms are larger. If you have mobility problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSIFANFresno_Ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you, for your delightfully detailed description. You never know what surprises you will get with the panoramic ocean views from our beachfront building. In combination with the mesmerizing sound of the ocean and the newly updated double pillow top mattress we strive to provide a relaxing stay for our guests. We hope to see you soon at your home away from home, Shoreline Inn… on the beach.

Laila Kollman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lathrop, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I came tothe hotel with my parents as a kid, my Mother recently passed away so me and my sister traveled to Cayucos on a celabration of my mother's life. This was her all time favorite place to be, she love Cayucos and visited several times, she was at peace when she stayed here. I could not believe how at peace I was there, even with grieving. The room was so comfortable, I had the best night sleep in yrs bed was so comfortable and the sound of the ocean was amazing!!!!! I spent alot of time seaking with the owner about how things had changed in 30 years, she was so amazing to talk to, everyone was so friendly...I will be back!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ocean,,no bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
The Shoreline Inn has been family owned for almost 35 years. We enjoy hearing stories and seeing pictures from our guests who have been coming here throughout the years. It is easy to feel peace and tranquility in such a serene atmosphere. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we look forward to your next stay at the Shoreline Inn… on the beach.


Laila Kollman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.0 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
12.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,646 reviews
17.8 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

Property: Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
Address: 1 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1605
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only motel between Monterey and Pismo Beach located directly on the beach. Family owned and operated since 1981. Beach-front rooms have 180 degree views and deluxe rooms have varying views. A free deluxe continental breakfast is included and each room has a flat screen TV/DVD, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron with ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...On The Beach Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing