We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything about Cayucos is great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything about Cayucos is great.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I grew up in Southern California, I've been to Morro Bay and Cambria and all points north up Hwy 1, but I had never even heard of Cayucos until about a year ago and I've been back 3 times since... I love this place! I've stayed at other hotel/B&B's in town that have all been lovely but much more expensive, last week (the day before 4th of July) we stayed at Shoreline Inn and it was perfect. We had a room on the ground floor, beachfront and we took full advantage of the chairs provided to enjoy an adult beverage watching the sunset. I didn't book this hotel for their free breakfast, which is the only thing lacking but it's a nice feature for those who just want a bowl of cereal or a bagel/muffin. I come to Cayucos for the same reason as everyone else, to be a beach bum, to not have to dress up, do my hair or even shower if I don't want to, the Shoreline Inn caters to that vibe. When we come back (and we WILL be back), we will absolutely stay at the Shoreline.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank cencalarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Cayucos is the hidden gem of the Central Coast. You’re right it’s a great place to relax, sit back and enjoy a quiet evening. Cayucos is not the busy city, but a quaint beach town that many of our guests enjoy for just getting away. We are glad you discovered us about a year ago and we’re looking forward to your next stays. Thank you for reviewing us.
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    187
    33
    9
    7
See reviews for
276
451
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We came across this hotel by chance, just passing through and needed a bed for the night. We were so impressed with how friendly and helpful everyone was, the size of the room and also the little touches included that add to making you feel comfortable. Set in such an adorable little town, it was disappointing to have to say goodbye so soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Designedforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We love having visitors from all over the world and hope that, when you’re in the States again you will come back to our little town and see us. We are so glad you came across Cayucos and our Inn by chance and were excited about your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just what we needed. A nice, simple, clean room with an amazing view. The kind of place all you want to do is sit and look. The town is cute, with plenty to choose from. Walked the pier for a nice morning event.

The Shoreline Inn is efficient and affordable. Room bigger than we expected. Breakfast very basic, but at least you know if you don't need more than cereal, hard-boiled eggs, muffins, bananas and coffee (good coffee) that you aren't paying higher room rates for more than you need. Plenty of offerings in the town for larger breakfasts if needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTripTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We are glad that we were “just what you needed”. This is what we strive for as an Inn and staff. We are glad you liked the breakfast and that you enjoyed our rooms. Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon on the beach in beautiful Cayucos.
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we checked in and saw the view of the pier from the desk, we were charmed! The location is perfect! We were late making a Spring Break reservation, so we didn't get an ocean view room. Room 111 had a view of Morro rock framed in a circular window on the left and a view of the Cayucos pier through the balcony slider on the right. Each morning we ate pastries from the Old Cayucos Bakery across the street at the bar height table and chairs provided in the room with the views on either side- so beautiful and relaxing! We had two queens with a partition half wall between which provided a little privacy from our kids. We felt the views, spacious room, and location on the beach were a great value and would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfam97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Spring time is a wonderful time to visit Cayucos. Thank you for writing a review for your stay. Our family size deluxe rooms are very popular with larger families, because of their size and number of beds. We’re glad they were able to make your vacation special. We hope to see you again soon
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We always stay at the shoreline when we take the kids ( our Dalmatian and pug ) to the beach. Right on the beach and very pet friendly. We try to go at least twice a year. They only have one charge for the pets, max 2 , not a daily charge like many places. Beach access is excellent and they have enough parking for guests. Good restaurants are walking distance from the motel. The beach is very pet friendly as many area residents walk their dogs. Have been visiting this motel for several years .

Room Tip: The old rooms are facing the beach and are the easiest access. To the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kirk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We always enjoy it when our frequent guests post a review about their favorite Inn. Thank you for your review. Thank you for describing our pet policies and our Inn. We are so glad you and your pets enjoy our inn and come back at least twice a year. We’ll see you again soon
-Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Yes, the rooms are just regular motel rooms though they are clean and comfortable and the beds are good. But, when you are steps from the ocean with wonderful views 24/7 and you get to drift into sleep each night with the sound of the restless ocean, there simply is no comparison with any other motel/ hotel. The staff is welcoming and friendly and the dog- friendly environment is a plus even though we were not traveling with a dog.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building on the beach are always desired but be aware that they are small. The rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sstern6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Our guests love our views and of course our location on the beach. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for writing about our friendly and dog-friendly environment. We try hard to make our Inn a wonderful place for all two legged and four legged friends. We hope to see you again soon on the beach
-Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Perfect upstairs full view of Cayucos pier, huge suite. Super clean, comfortable bed, relaxing...Love it!!!! Friendly staff and perfect get away. Steps to the beach and steps to my favorite clam chowder at Duckies! We already have booked her for New Years Eve with the family... We are still on the waiting list for July 4th, its really hard to get this room for the 4th but I will keep trying!

Room Tip: Hard to get this rooms for the 4th of July, must book a year in advance! We are still trying!!! Wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank imsodapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Events such as New Years Eve (and of course our annual Polar Bear Dip), 4th of July, the Sea Glass Festival, and the Cayucos Car Show are great for our guests who enjoy a fun activity while they are in their favorite beach town. Cayucos has many of these fun events throughout the year. We do have last minute cancellations for 4th of July every once in a while, but they are rare. Good luck! Thank you so much for staying with us at the Shoreline Inn and reviewing us on tripadvisor.
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.0 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
127 reviews
17.8 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,681 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,813 reviews
15.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
24.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

Property: Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
Address: 1 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1605
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only motel between Monterey and Pismo Beach located directly on the beach. Family owned and operated since 1981. Beach-front rooms have 180 degree views and deluxe rooms have varying views. A free deluxe continental breakfast is included and each room has a flat screen TV/DVD, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron with ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...On The Beach Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing