We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2012

After the first visit with my dog in February, I was finally able to get my husband away from work and we arrived at the Shorline Inn on Memorial Day and stayed until Thursday. My husband had just visited Russia, China and Japan where he stayed in 5 star hotels and was treated like royalty; therefore I was concerned he wouldn't like my treasured discovery in Cayucos. He loved his getaway where he was finally able to relax. He and I enjoyed the unpretentious but friendly, clean and very dog-friendly Shoreline Inn as well as the small town.
I took him on a excursion to Cambria and he couldn't wait to get out of the very touristy town to come "back home" to Cayucos. Our dog remembered that he was allowed to sleep on the bed once the provided sheet was on it, enjoyed his gift doggie bones and couldn't wait for his beach walks. Thank you Shoreline Inn for making this another wonderful stay! I already convinced my husband that I'd like to come back in the fall or perhaps for my birthday which is right after Thanksgiving. But who knows - if he has to make another business trip I just might take the dog for another one-on-one getaway!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

We loved your review and believe you captured the spirit of our small town perfectly. Thank you so much for writing a review of your second stay. Many of our guests enjoy the beach feeling that Cayucos is able to give them without the busyness of everyday life. We liked that you also mentioned your dog, many of our guests love bringing their dog to help them enjoy the beach even more. We loved having you and we are looking forward to seeing you soon for many more stays.
-Laila Kollmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 959 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

Cayucos is a quaint beach town and the beach is stunning. But for those looking for a SoCal experience, this place isn't it. The ocean is cold here and the weather is basically overcast in summer.

That said, this place is nice if you have a dog and want to be in a small, unpretentious town with little to do but chill and enjoy a good book. The rooms are small and the closet is a joke. But the flip side is that for the money, you can't do better for ocean sound, view and access to the beach. They have a closed in grassy area, and are totally pet friendly.

Our experience was very positive. It clearly is a local staffed place and the desk was as interested in our dog's stay as us. The breakfast was the equiv to a HIE.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

We greatly appreciate your review of our property and are glad you had a positive experience. You are right that Cayucos is not like the bigger SoCal beach towns, but many of our guests do appreciate the charm of the quieter beach life. Thank you for mentioning the closets, we will be upgrading to larger closets in the near future, but in the meantime may we suggest our deluxe accommodations? Our beachfront rooms are standard size and have wonderful views, but a lot of our deluxe accommodations still have great views, the rooms are much larger, and they contain a better closet set-up. We hope you visit us again to enjoy Cayucos.
-Laila Kollmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We wouldn't stay any where else. Love this place. The staff is friendly, the rooms clean and right on the beach...what more can you ask for. I have already made reservations for February 2013. Can't wait for our return.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the building that is on the beach and it is fantastic. The views are amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisbishtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

We always enjoy having you at the Shoreline Inn. Thank you for writing a review about your stay on tripadvisor, we greatly appreciate your review. We love welcoming new and return guests to our Inn and welcome them to Cayucos and the beach life. We are looking forward to seeing you and your dogs again next year as we consider you part of the Shoreline family.
-Laila Kollmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

It was a last minute booking and this was the only reasonably priced motel with rooms available. It's a great location right on the beach but we expected the rooms to be more comfortable and modern for the price. There was a fridge and microwave in the room which was nice. The room was clean but it's a pet friendly motel so there was a faint dog smell in the room and a lots of dogs in the yard outside our sliding glass door. The breakfast was really basic but the staff was friendly. Overall it worked for a one night stop over but I think if we'd have planned ahead we could have found a better value.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephhatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

We are so glad we got to welcome you to our Inn. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your input is greatly appreciated. We do try to keep our rooms reasonably priced for our location, services offered and in comparison to other motels in the area. We make every effort to ensure that our rooms are fresh and exceptionally clean for our guests’ enjoyment and are trying new methods to improve this even more. We do hope to see you again
-Laila Kollmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

After a bad experience at another local hotel, we felt incredibly lucky to find this gem...right on the beach! It doesn't get any better if you love the beach. Friendly people, friendly help, friendly dogs. Premises and rooms were pristine. Only steps to the beach from our rooms. (We changed rooms because we decided to stay an extra night.) We would definitely stay again and are already planning to come back here. BTW, if a hotel advertises that they are "pet friendly" call and ask what they mean exactly. The hotel we left delegated only one room for pet owners and we found dog poop in the room and they (the hotel and Hotel.com/Expedia) refused to refund our money. My bad for not reading all the reviews.

Room Tip: There are two buildings but all the rooms are ocean facing. One building is right on the beach and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

We are so glad you and your dog had a great time at the Shoreline Inn. We strive to make all our guests comfortable and help them enjoy the beach life in Cayucos. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about our Inn and we hope to see you and your dog again soon.
-Laila Kollmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We booked this hotel for a 3 night stay for my birthday this past weekend. I was hesitant because of it being a pet friendly place (we don't have pets) but for the price and the ocean view we decided to go for it. I am very glad we did! The room was a good size with a king bed and a nice balcony facing the ocean. We found no pet hair or smells and I had no allergy problems.

The staff was wonderful and friendly. We ate breakfast there every morning and there were lots of friendly guests to talk to. The place was full due to a car show in Cambria but our floor was very quiet.

We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are very glad you had a great time for your birthday. The Shoreline Inn is a great spot for a quick getaway and we try to make all our guests four legged and two legged feel comfortable. Thank you also for describing our beachfront rooms; they are a favorite because of the great views and the closeness to the beach. We hope you'll be back soon for another getaway.
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed 1 night at the Shoreline Inn mid April, 2012. To be fair we had a king bed in a pretty basic room with a great ocean view for a reasonable price. However if you’re not a pet owner and especially if you have allergies be very cautious. When booking the room I asked specifically if there would be pet odours. The clerk said no - but there definitely was; kept the balcony door open all night. This hotel caters to dog owners and the staff appeared to be pet owners themselves. Trouble is pet owners don’t notice pet smells. We couldn’t wait to leave in the morning but if you’re a pet owner it would be a pretty good place to stay. Great views and a very good Italian restaurant nearby, the Cafe Della Via.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Shoreline Inn. We strive to make all our guests feel welcomed with or without pets. We have a special procedure to make sure the rooms are clean after pets check out. Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations. We hope you will give us another chance in the future when you visit Cayucos again.
Sincerely,
Laila Kollmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
145 reviews
15 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
17.8 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,839 reviews
14.8 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
894 reviews
14.7 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

Address: 1 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1605
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range: $153 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only motel between Monterey and Pismo Beach located directly on the beach. Family owned and operated since 1981. Beach-front rooms have 180 degree views and deluxe rooms have varying views. A free deluxe continental breakfast is included and each room has a flat screen TV/DVD, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron with ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...On The Beach Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing