We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret on the Central California Coast”
Review of Seaside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayucos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Motel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Central California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best kept secret on the Central California Coast”
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Upon arriving, the owner greeted us and informed us that our room was ready. Was it ever! Spotlessly clean, the one bedroom suite with a full kitchen instantly felt like home. There was room to stretch out and plenty of bright colors in the decor to lift our spirits. Not to mention the extra coffee we had requested. Centrally located next to "downtown" shopping, restaurants, and the beach, the value for the dollar was like something we thought couldn't be found in this day and age. In addition, the owners, Rick and Rebecca, live onsite to personally provide for our every lodging need. It truly felt like we were visiting family instead of staying in a motel for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoney1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    65
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
98
169
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose Ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

My wife and I found this charming inn quite by chance and have returned 3 times since then (with more trips planned). It is a magical place. Charming rooms and the owners treat everyone like family. Sitting out in the Rebeca's garden in the evening, meeting the other guests and has become the evening tradition for us - it is simply delightful. I have to agree with the high praise that all the other reviewers have given the Seaside Inn. The rooms are somewhat small but very clean and the overall experience is outstanding. It is easy to see why so many of the guests come back year after year. We certainly will.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwimRef2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2009

I was meeting family in Cayucos for a couple of days of wine tasting and a visit to Hearst Castle. I found Seaside Motel on the internet and booked the room over the phone with no fuss. When I arrived I was immediately impressed with the friendliness of my hosts and the cleanliness and decor of the room. The motel was centrally located near restaurants and other services yet quiet. I could hear the waves of the beach as I relaxed in the room. When my family came over to see the room they wished they had booked there. I guess we'll all be back

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Wandererto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for four nights 17 thru 21 October. An out of the ordinary, quirky little place with a very laid back atmosphere created by Rebecca and Rick. How many other places don't want to see your credit card when you check in? "Oh we don't bother with that now, do it when you leave". We stayed in Unit 12, the Seaside Suite, individually decorated like all the units. Lying in bed at night listening to the waves crashing on the closeby beach and the sealions barking, magical. Rebecca's garden was a delight with lots of lovely little touches as everyone else has said. If you want a place with a character all of it's own, this is the place for you.

Bob and Helen Eales, Cornwall, UK

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yennieandbobbyeales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reseda, ca
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2009

My family, daughter and grandchildren have been staying at the Seaside Motel for ~ 11years. We come every August and stay one week. This year a friend came along and shared the experience. Rebecca and Rick are wonderful and the garden and rooms are the best! WE LOVE IT! Hopefully, we will be returning for many years to come.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoebeReseda_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowler, CA
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2009

What a beautiful and beautifully kept place. Rick and Rebecca and Tiggy (the cat) are very welcoming. The decorating in the rooms is outstanding, and the garden back yard is very nice. If you go out the garden gate and walk past 5 houses, you are on the beach. If you don't want to go out, every room has a DVD player and a small wide screen TV and the proprietors have a deal with the Video place across the street so that you can rent movies without opening an account. We didn't rent room with a kitchenette this stay, but we got to look at one... full size fridge, with dishes, pans, and utensils included!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syllikb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

My wife and I concluded our one week wedding anniversary trip with a two night stay in Cayucos, California. The motel is located in a small peaceful town filled with shops, cafes, restaurants, convenience stores, and a supermarket. We especially enjoyed the Smokehouse's smoked albacore and salmon sandwiches, tacos, and salads! We liked it so much we at lunches and dinner there! And, the ladies at Brown Sugar Cookie Bakery really know how to put cookies together, simply delicious. A liquor store close by had a large variety of snacks and beer. The beach has an excellent pier from which sea life can be seen in abundance. Well, the motel itself was well situated close to both the beach and to these businesses. As a resutl, we didn't need to drive the car the whole time.! We were fortunate to get a reservation for the the Country Charm Suite at this motel. This suite has a separate living room, kitchen, restroom, and bedroom. All the rooms were spacious, especially for only two people. The Suite is located next to a lovely garden. The beach is accessible through the garden gate. One needs to walk a short distance on a street to get to beach access. However, you could stay on the property and see the ocean, feel the strong ocean breezes, and hear the sea lions and birds as well as the thundering surf! My wife and I really enjoyed this motel and plan to return to the motel when we return to California's central coast!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalAlumTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.1 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
127 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
14.7 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Motel

Property: Seaside Motel
Address: 42 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1640
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cayucos
#1 Family Hotel in Cayucos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half way between San Francisco and Los Angeles, and just a stroll away from the sand and beach, the Seaside is a home away from home! Each charming room is unique in decor, all sprinkled with gifts from their ever-loving customers. The back garden patio can be found softly buzzing with wine sippers, book readers and chit-chats! Summer rates range from $110 - $180 Winter rates range from $80 - $110 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Motel Cayucos
Seaside Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing