We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel that was more like a charming bed & breakfast”
Review of Seaside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayucos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Motel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County
1 review
“Motel that was more like a charming bed & breakfast”
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This was our first road trip with our new baby, and we stayed in the Fish Fantasy room. We had a great stay - the room was comfortable, charming and clean. Rebecca was great - friendly and personable - and she just seems genuinely happy to be doing what she is doing . And they have a beautiful, peaceful garden in the corner of the motel to relax in. I would definitely stay here again when we're back in this area for a visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuanli18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    65
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
98
169
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upland, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We found this Motel on line about 3 years ago, and have not stayed anywhere else in our 5 or 6 trips to Cayucos. This is the perfect location if you want to visit Cambria, Morro Bay, and surrounding areas. Resturants are great, shops are fun. You can walk to the Beach from your room, or just listen to the waves while sitting on the Patio in Rebecca's garden. Rick and Rebecca the owners, are totally on site always and having them there is like having a personal tour guide. They know the best places to see, eat and shop. Each room is a totally different theme, some with full kitchens. You have to go to their website Seasidemotel.com to check them out. This wonderfulf place is deffinately the best place and the prices are great too! Their resident cat "Tiggy" has the friendliest personality of a cat I have ever known. If you are a cat person, he will know. If not, you may be after meeting this guy!! We recommend this place to everyone!!!!
Barb and Greg, Upland, CA

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We received a warm welcome from Rick and Rebecca, the room was spotless and well equipped although a little small, there was no room for an easy chair so we had to watch TV from the bed, other rooms were larger though.

Rebecca's garden is delightful, I spent a relaxing afternoon reading and listening to the waves crash on the beach. I hope we'll be back some day and would recommend this motel as a good base to explore Morro Bay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperopolis, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Once again I was delighted to be staying at this wonderful motel (such a generic word for this home away from home). For close to eight years my family and I have come down numerous times throughout the summer to stay in Cayucos and time after time we would never think to stay anywhere else. For years prior we'd tried nearby motels, none close to par with the accommodations, beautiful gardens, and the friendly service of Rick and Rebecca. The rooms are always exceptionally clean, with so much personal touch and character that you never want to leave. Parking is right out your door, making unpacking a snap so you can get your vacation started. I've stayed here in all different rooms, varying from the whole family in a two bedroom and kitchenette (such as the Country Charm Suite), to a cozy time with my husband in 'Rambling Rose'. No matter your room, you a guaranteed a restful and wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muggym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Came across this motel by chance when driving down Highway 1. Intended a 1 night stop but stayed for 3 days - it's a super place to chill-out. Rooms excellent - we had Tea for Two. The Owners are the perfect hosts. If we ever do Highway 1 again we will stop here!


Great memories of a chance stop over in Cayucos

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antarctica - McMurdo
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

This is a very nice motel, very clean, Rebecca and Rick are extremely helpful and hospitable, and Tiggy the Cat will make you feel at home. The gardens are so inviting and theraputic, full of amazing plants, flowers, statues, knick-nacks, and birdhouses. Mom and I really enjoyed our stay in the West Wind room, where we had a perfect little kitchen with pretty much everything we needed, except for the food itself. Beds were comfy, hot water a-plenty, and we even got a special visit from Tiggy. We gave him some ham and he stayed for awhile.

Rebecca made some great recommendations to us for places to eat, and we took her advice and bought our breakfast bacon fresh from the butcher at the local grocery store. Mostly we ate in our room since we had that wonderful kitchen, but we did eat lunch at nearby Hoppe's Bistro one day, and drove down to The Hoffbrau in Morro Bay another time (they have great french-dips and reubens). Neither place was disappointing. Hoppe's has a wonderful lunch menu and a very nice wine selection, and the service was great too. There's a really nice candy and ice cream shop across the street and down a block from the motel. The owners are friendly and the gelato is delicious. They're adding "affogato di gelato" to their menu, but if it's not listed yet (they're waiting on the sign maker) just ask for it. This is basically vanilla-bean gelato topped with a shot of espresso.

The beach is right behind the motel and we could hear the surf from our room, but it wasn't quite warm enough to hang out on the beach yet. We took a drive up the coast to stop in Harmony (if you blink you'll miss it), then onto Cambria and San Simeon. No Hearst Castle for us, but we stopped to see the colony of elephant seals before heading back south to our cozy room for some grilled cheese sammies and tomato soup.

Our last morning there we cooked up the rest of our eggs and bacon and reluctantly loaded up the car to drive back home to SoCal. We will definitely be back though.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkuaDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We spent the night in the "Fish Fantasy" room, highly recommended! Sure, the kitschy thing maybe isn't for everyone, but we loved it for the night. Very comfortable, very clean., free wifi. Innkeepers were awesome, had a great mexican dinner across the way. Beach was beautiful and peaceful - the locals are very protective of this hidden gem, and we could see why! One more thing - we called last minute on a cloudy day - apparently lots of people cancel their reservations due to cloudiness, so we were able to get a room that night even though they were booked up when I called a few weeks ahead. Give it a try!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluestar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.1 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
127 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
14.7 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Motel

Property: Seaside Motel
Address: 42 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1640
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
#1 Family Hotel in Cayucos
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half way between San Francisco and Los Angeles, and just a stroll away from the sand and beach, the Seaside is a home away from home! Each charming room is unique in decor, all sprinkled with gifts from their ever-loving customers. The back garden patio can be found softly buzzing with wine sippers, book readers and chit-chats! Summer rates range from $110 - $180 Winter rates range from $80 - $110 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Motel Cayucos
Seaside Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing