We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet,Clean & Comfortable”
Review of Seaside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayucos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Motel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
London, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet,Clean & Comfortable”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a wonderful choice if your travelling the coast. Stayed here 2 nights and it was perfect. Bed was great, room was spotless and its central for everything. Short stroll to anything in town (Food,beach,bar,etc). 10 min drive to everything else Cambria, Morro Bay, Hearst Castle. Again great place, good people (Owners), and wonderful little town!

Room Tip: Stayed in #3. All decorated different but they all appear spotless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTigerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    65
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
98
169
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We've been coming to Cayucos on a yearly basis for 5 years now, up to twice a year and every time we trek up here from busy Los Angeles, our choice lodging has always been Seaside Motel. Everything that's great about the Seaside Motel has already been mentioned in previous reviews. Each room is decorated to a unique theme and color match appropriately. So far, we've only been able to stay in 4 unique rooms. The establishment is close to the beach and nearby restaurants, making the Seaside Motel the ideal base for getting around Cayucos and nearby Cambria or Morro Bay. The garden at the back provides a great place to relax at night after a day's worth of adventure. We either bring out a glass of wine, mix up some cocktails (i.e. mudslide) or have a can of Just Chill relaxation drink on our hand when we're out there.

My recommendation is to book ahead; several weeks ahead. If your stay coincides with a holiday, it's advisable to book several months ahead.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

There was no room in the inn, so to speak when we recently had hoards of family descend for a family reunion. We have referred friends and relatives to the Seaside Motel for nearly 20 years. Rick and Rebecca knock themselves out to do a fabulous job for their guests! Our family was absolutely entranced and delighted! The amount of care, attention to detail in each room -- individually decorated in themes like Birdhouse Bungalow, Fish Fantasy, West Wind, Rambling Rose, etc. is amazing. Some of the rooms have kitchens which makes a lengthy stay easier. The best part, besides the spotless rooms and the fabulous hosts, is the patio garden. Smell the ocean, feel the breeze, enjoy (or nap) the flowers and relax. We love the Seaside Motel for our older relatives and our younger ones too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthSeasSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our first stay in Cayucos and the Seaside motel. The Seaside Suite was comfortable, clean with unique "beachy" decor. Beach was within walking distance and we could hear the waves at night. It had a little kitchenette with stove, refrigerator, microwave, pots, pans and dishes. The owner was friendly and helpful.
Cayucos is in between Morro Bay and Cambria, so there was lots to see and do!

Room Tip: You have an ocean "peek" from the Seaside Suite and you can hear the waves with the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydi50CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasideMotel, Owner at Seaside Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
So happy you enjoyed your stay! One of our favorite rooms. Hope you make your way back to Cayucos again soon and do let us know when you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Situated in a small town just off the spectacular Pacific Highway a convenient stopping point if you're travelling LA-S'F'cisco. It's a restful, beautiful location, with a heap of motels to choose from, if there's better than this I'd be surprised. It's a quaint chintzy setting with a selection of rooms, easy parking and very welcoming hosts. The rooms are hand painted with individual themes. They're clean, very comfortable, compact some with two bedrooms, which we took advantage of. The beds are a bit lumpy, but frankly that's splitting hairs, they're fine.I got the impression that they have a lot of returnees, some of whom we met. Maybe all the motels in the town are good, but the small picturesque garden is beautiful with ample places to sit, with the background noise of the sea,75 yards away. It's a short walk to a windswept beach. Lots of restaurants and bars to choose from and an interesting Antique shop,in fact two. Some of the opening times are made up as they go along, and they don't do late i.e. 9.00 pm and they close. Can't recommend the motel and the whole experience enough. $90 dollars for a two bedded room for one night to me was reasonable, 'cos you certainly to value for that.I guess it could be done cheaper, but you may not get what we had.

Room Tip: Room 2 has two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueBlueRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasideMotel, Owner at Seaside Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Ray, what a lovely, insightful review; thank you for taking the time to write! And yes, you are right, we do have a lot of return guests, making us feel at home, surrounded by far away friends! So happy you found our little motel; we cannot say enough how much we have enjoyed our influx of European guests. Always a pleasure to have our friends from across the pond in our home. Looking forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Have stayed here several times. Always enjoyed my stay, great location, very friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Each room has its own beach theme. Love the small town feel of Cayucos.
Beach is walking distance from the motel, in fact I slept with the windows open and I could hear the waves at night. Motel does seem to fill up during the summer months. Generally reservation are required.,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tujunga, CA
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our first visit at the motel but definately not our last! Loved everything about it, especially the hospitality and friendliness of Rick & Rebecca, not to mention the wonderful gardens and clean rooms, I can't say enough good things about it! We came for a sisters getaway for the Sea Glass Festival and already planning for the next weekend here. You're right, our hearts will bring us back :)

We'll be back........Cathy H.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasideMotel, Owner at Seaside Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Awe, thank you so much Cathy! We are so happy you and your sister enjoyed your stay! We would be delighted to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.1 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
127 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
14.7 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Motel

Property: Seaside Motel
Address: 42 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1640
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cayucos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half way between San Francisco and Los Angeles, and just a stroll away from the sand and beach, the Seaside is a home away from home! Each charming room is unique in decor, all sprinkled with gifts from their ever-loving customers. The back garden patio can be found softly buzzing with wine sippers, book readers and chit-chats! Summer rates range from $110 - $180 Winter rates range from $80 - $110 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Motel Cayucos
Seaside Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing