We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit to Seaside”
Review of Seaside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayucos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Motel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I came back for a second visit to Cayucos and to Seaside. Our visit the second time around was just as good as our previous visit! We stayed in the Seaside cottage, a room with a kitchenette (though we didn't use it), refrigerator, microwave, and a little dining table. This was a nice little room that you could fall sleep to the sound of the waves crashing onto the sand. Rick and Rebecca were their usual easy going and accommodating hosts. We asked for shampoo and were handed a couple of full size bottles to choose from. The garden is still as lovely as ever, beautifully kept, to go along with the serene settings here. This is definitely the place to be if you need some quiet R & R, to recharge and refresh. We will be back, for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinesefoodlover88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Seaside Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 369 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

On a first 2-night stop in Cayucos with my wife, we booked at the Seaside by phone from the UK and we could tell even from the booking experience that we had made the right choice. Can't add much to what everyone has already said - we shall return, and we wouldn't go anywhere else in the area ever again.

The owners know pretty much everything about how to please their guests, they work hard at it and they obviously enjoy it. Our room, which was quite large by the standards we expect of a small family motel, came with a fully functional kitchen, which was well equipped (in fact, the cabinets in the kitchen were so full of tableware, utensils etc. that it was difficult to find space to store the food we bought - but that is a very small point really).

One reviewer has said the room was a bit "girly"; I can see why, and we would describe it as positively kitsch! But that, along with the patio & garden, is part of the charm of the Seaside. Comfortable beds, too - very important, that. And very clean - even more important if you are fussy as we are.

We have nothing but praise for this simple, but delightful, little motel and its really pleasant, thoughtful and welcoming owners.

Room Tip: If you want a full kitchen, room #7 (a corner room) is recommended.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Can only echo what others have said about this great little motel. We only stayed for one night on the way down to LA, but were made to feel like old friends by Rebecca (didn't meet Rick), who is a real character. Secure wi-fi in the room was good and the Mexican restaurant over the road was excellent and inexpensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentish-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was my 2nd getaway to CAYUCOS. It's about a 3.5hr drive from Los Angeles, and I needed to get away from a heat wave for 3 nites. I arrived around 2pm and my room was ready-the same room I had in 2011.
The rooms are a little "girly" for guys-each w/a different 'theme', but the rate was great! The bathroom was clean, kitchen stocked REALLY WELL with utensiles & plates and the bed comfortable. It's just 2-3 min walk to the beach or pier.
There's an ITALIAN-MEXICAN restaurant across the street and I tried the Lasagne...WAY over cooked.
The owners Rich and Rebecca do most of-if not all the work around the place & put a LOT of effort keeping it clean and looking good for their guests.
There's a patio in the back w/ table, chairs, benches, a small lawn. The BEST thing, was that I told them I would be using the BBQ grill in the patio one nite, and they had it cleaned & stocked with charcoal & matches...I had brought my own with me so, I was really REALLY impressed with their thoughtfullness..
Hoping to go back soon (I Left 2 of my own knives there & hope they'll be there when I go back)
The can be heavily booked during the summer.... & the rates are higher...

Room Tip: They have a webpage which shows all the rooms... Check there to see what U need... No AC since it...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lagreek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were so incredibly blessed to stumble upon this lovely little gem in Cayucos where we went to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary. From my first email of inquiry, to my signing of our check-out bill, Rick and Rebecca made this absolutely the BEST anniversary trip we have EVER taken. Our room was sparkling clean and comfortable and the garden where we bbq'd our dinner was spectacular. Gorgeous flowers and ambiance oozing out of every nook and cranny. Seriously, I posted pics of the garden on Instagram and EVERYONE wanted to know where I was! It's that lovely. Rick and Rebecca stay quietly behind the scenes providing excellent customer service and giving you all the space and alone time you want. However, if you are inclined to ask recommendations for ANYTHING, they are happy to help and gave us invaluable advice about mountain biking, meals and maps of the entire town! We definitely WILL be returning to the Seaside Motel!

Room Tip: Take a recommendation from the owners! You can't go wrong. There are only 12 rooms and eachis...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I give this review an "Excellent" because of the price and quality. The room was cute - had all amenities that normal hotel rooms have - comfortable bed, coffee maker, tables, lamps, towels, soap, etc. The extra feature is that all rooms are themed - we had the fish room - which adds a more unique and personal feel to the place. We went in September when tourist season is low - very empty small town. Not much choice by means of accommodations but the family-run Seaside is great. In particular, the price we paid for (per person) was cheaper than a dingy hostel in San Francisco. Plus, this town is on the coast with a beautiful pier. It is also host to the best brown butter cookie store ever.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoNd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was looking for somewhere I could just get away for a night and relax. I live and work in Paso Robles, just 40 minutes away inland. Wow!! I stayed in the "Fish Fantasy" room. It was small but very cozy. Clean, bright and tastefully decorated. The bed was so comfy. I had my first good nights sleep in a while. Sitting in the garden, you can hear the waves breaking on the beach and the icing on the cake, you can hear the barking seals. .I will most definitely be back!! Thank you, Rebecca and Rick. You are awesome hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.1 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
136 reviews
15.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
459 reviews
6.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Motel

Address: 42 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1640
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cayucos
#1 Family Hotel in Cayucos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range: $95 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half way between San Francisco and Los Angeles, and just a stroll away from the sand and beach, the Seaside is a home away from home! Each charming room is unique in decor, all sprinkled with gifts from their ever-loving customers. The back garden patio can be found softly buzzing with wine sippers, book readers and chit-chats! Summer rates range from $110 - $180 Winter rates range from $80 - $110 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Motel Cayucos
Seaside Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing