We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
vt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We recently did a trip up the West coast and after finishing up at Hearst Castle decided to drop back into Cayucas. We needed a bed and the Dolphin Inn was perfect for that. Yes it is dated but it was clean and the reception was helpful. I went in November so the rate was very attractive compared to some others in town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    9
    8
    21
See reviews for
20
17
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lemoore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

This motel had holes in the walls and was very dirty. The main reason for my apsolute furious manner is due to the incompitance of the hotel owner. We payed with a atm/credit card. We stayed in this motel in november and the charges on our account went to pending. The owner was out of the state for two months and they just now sent in the reciept for their end of the transaction. In other words the charges did not go through untill now. This put our account in to the minus for over 300.00. The incopitence of this motel owner is unbelievable. I will never do business with this motel again. I will be sending this information to anywhere I can so I no one else will be put in this position. A small note is that it is my 50th birthday this weekend and this event has caused us to cancel any plans we had made for this special birthday. My heart is broken.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jennymom84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cayucos hotels

Visalia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Upon arriving, they had repainted the outside in peach and green with yellow accents. The room was very small but with large bathroom. The bathroom had been redone but no counters to set your things on. The dresser and TV table were very old and scratched and looked like something from a garage sale. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were hard and would not even bend. The main light switch did not work. Breakfast was coffee, two types of cereal and milk that was just setting out on the counter without any ice....We will not be going back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gm3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

The pictures on the website did not look like the actual room. The furniture is old, the room was in need of repairs and could have been cleaner. I stayed in a 'suite' which would have been better as an open room because it was so small. There was no screen on the back window, no bathtub, and no ice for guests. There was also coroners tape across another room's door! I appreciated that it is pet friendly because I like to travel with my dog and the people were very nice, though difficult to understand because of the heavy accent. It is a block to the beach (as are most hotels in Cayucos) and walking distance to the main part of town. All in all I thought it was overpriced for what you get and there are better places to stay for the price.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvMyDog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

I was yelled at by the man behind the desk. Give your money to someone else, dont stay at the Dolphin Inn. This man yelled at me when I asked for extra pillows!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaencinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2008

The Inn is old but nice, clean and quiet..We stayed in the two room cottage. It had 1 fulltime bed in each room and a full kitchen. All the appliances worked fine..If you plan to stay for a while bring your own food and paper goods..It is about 1 block from the beach and a couple of blocks to the main part of town..The continental breakfast was weak but enought for us...I would return....

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank denisesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

It was the most expensive dive I've ever stayed at! At over $200 a night, expect the floors to be even (cottage appeared to have fallen off foundation), and the decor to be modern, and the bed to not sag. The owners are very nice, but it doesn't make up for $$$.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cost and amenities
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 95678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.4 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.3 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
6.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,644 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Property: Dolphin Inn
Address: 399 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1298
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy pleasure in the lap of nature at Dolphin Inn. 19 Unit family operated motel, Non smoking Rooms, Cottage with kitchens, some rooms with Jacuzzi Tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing