We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced... great view of telephone/electric wires”
Review of Cayucos Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cayucos Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
central valley of California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“overpriced... great view of telephone/electric wires”
Reviewed February 19, 2009

gotta tell ya, compared to the many other B&B's and nice hotels we have stayed in the last 17 yrs, this one missed the mark.. Location had a great deal to do with it. There
is nothing as frustrating as staying in a beach town that has nothing to do when it rains, only 1 great restaurant (Hoppes), and a couple antique stores (with a history of
very rude staff)......to shop in- nothing else. The Inn sits on a dull mainstreet. The front door is always locked. Guests are given keys to open the doors in the back/parking area. If you want in, you have to walk around. Different and irritating, especially in the rain. we had the largest room- Sunset was very large, but honestly, we used the front room basically as a place to iron. It had a small, uncomfortable loveseat that drooped, a small desk and a small table with 2 large, uncomfortable wood upright chairs. WE suggest a comfortable long couch to snuggle/lay on to read or watch DVD's. Perhaps one that converts to a bed . Utilize that space for a group of 4 ??? .The bathroom was very nice- good jacuzzi tub, and the bedroom lovely- although the bed too hard.. the balcony was large, but had live electric/telephone wires
hanging probably 2 feet from the edge of the balcony. Nightly snacks consisted of the same cheese slices and the first night a little puff pastry appetitzer that was innovative and
tasty. The 2nd night, valentines (so pump it up a bit!) had some dip stuff , along with the same boring cheese slices /summer sausage that might
have come from costco. the cold milk in the ice bucket was cute, as were cookies. these
were delivered doorside, without charge. One thing that really gripped us was if you wanted breakfast in your room- it was an extra !5.00 per person, per bkfst !!! Make that
a perk for your high dolla!r room !!!!! And maybe $5 per person for the other rooms- your place is NOT that big ! The young ladies working the Inn were sweet- but not a lot of
direction or idea's on what do to. For almost $1000 we were left flat. Breakfast was skimpy, except for the apple french toast that was undercooked and slimy sweet. Loved the baked egg dish though, but serviing skimpy. Sorry SUnset Inn- for the price, the experience missed the mark. You need to try a little bit harder. We recommend staying in either Morro Bay, Avila, or Cambria for a more relaxing, varied, and romantic experienc.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelinmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    33
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
230
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2009

This was a lovely, warm well appointed bed and breakfast. The owner as well as the staff were accommodating and attentive. We loved the warm milk and cookies and/or cheese plate and wine at night. We had great suggestions for local activities and the staff offered to make our evening dining reservations. We really decompressed and added one additional night.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gafasdesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2008

We stayed here for our anniversary. The room was beautiful, the customer service awesome, and the food delicious! I felt like a princess!

  • Liked — The Customer Service
  • Disliked — I did not get to spend more time there
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Barkley777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2008

My husband and I decided to spend Thanksgiving week visiting wineries in Paso Robles with good friends. We stayed at Cayucos Sunset Inn for three nights in the Sunset Room. The stay was absolutely relaxing and the innkeepers made us feel very welcomed. Our room was beautiful, comfy, and very clean. The bed was comfortable, comfortable, comfortable.

There were many small touches that came with the stay making it cozy and enjoyable. Each evening we were greeted with homemade cookies and milk. Breakfast was included and it was fun to eat in the dining area where we had great conversations with other guest and Lisa, one of the owners. To add to our enjoyment, each afternoon there was wine with appetizers.

The owners were genuine and very attentive ensuring their guests will have a memorable stay. Just as we were saying our good-byes, Lisa gave us a parting gift - a great bottle of wine that we were raving about which was a delightful surprise. Will we go back? YES!

  • Liked — The innkeepers were very personable and attentive to your needs.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank petitechat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WizardBob
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Our weekend at the Cayucos Sunset Inn was exceptional . Our room was sooo nice. All the staff and Owners of the Inn were extremely nice and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious and the milk and cookies given each evening was a nice treat to look forward to. We also enjoyed the nightly wine & cheese hours, it was a fun time to meet and mingle with the other guest. We will definitely go back.

  • Liked — It was all great, can't pick just one thing.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WizardBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMB
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2008

THIS IS A VERY SPECIAL PLACE TO STAY!
The Champange Suite we stayed in was fantastic and the breakfast the next morning was to die for. Lisa the owner could not have been nicer and was very helpful with places to eat etc. We went there for our anniversary and we couldn't have been happier. If your ever in Cayucos do not miss this B and B

  • Liked — Room and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Beautiful place. Our suite was out of this world with a great deck and view of the ocean. AMAZING SERVICE and attention to detail. Great food too. We will definitely stay here again in this wondeful little beach town.

  • Liked — Location & service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joeyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.2 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
127 reviews
14.8 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,795 reviews
15.0 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
15.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Sunset Inn

Property: Cayucos Sunset Inn
Address: 95 S Ocean Ave, PO Box 151, Cayucos, CA 93430-1647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cayucos Sunset Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cayucos Sunset Inn is a welcoming, open building trimmed with beautiful flowers and hedges. We have a shaded patio in front for the guests to relax in. The patio opens to our quaint dinning area where we serve a free breakfast and hold a complementary wine and cheese hour. Our five rooms vary in size. Four are located upstairs with ocean view patios. The rooms open to a living room area with a television, electric fire place, and couch in the front. Through the small hall, the bedrooms have luxurious king size beds, additional electric fire places, and small refrigerators. Each of these four rooms have jacuzzi tubs and rain shower heads. We have a smaller downstairs room we offer as well. We are located in a small throwback beach town. Our building is about a block from the beach with ocean views up top. The Inn is located on the main road up from Cayucos's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cayucos Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Sunset Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing