We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recomended”
Review of Cayucos Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cayucos Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angles
1 review
“Highly recomended”
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Great place to stay. Beautifully decorated rooms. Service was excellent and many little touches like milk and cookies delivered to the rooms each night. Highly recomended.

  • Liked — Service and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank y2kcurmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    33
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
234
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Visalia
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We loved the Bali Suite, so spacious yet cozy. We enjoyed meeting with the other guests at breakfast and evening wine & appetizers.

We also enjoyed our chats with Lisa and Sandy. All the staff were gracious and very friendly.

We shall return!!!

Bob & HG (Hildegard)

  • Liked — Everything, especially the suite layout
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cailfornia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2008

The rooms are beautiful, the food terrific and the staff goes out of their way to make your stay outstanding! My favorite part is the warm cookies and milk at your door every evening.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ABI333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

After going through several websites and looking at MANY hotels and B&Bs, my wife and I decided on the Cayucos Sunset Inn for the night of our 2nd wedding anniversary. We used the B&Bs website and booked the Provence, one of their junior suites downstairs. Booking the room couldn't have been easier. When we finally arrived, we were warmly greeted by Maggie at the front door and quickly taken to the office so she could pick up our room key and paperwork. She then took us to a room upstairs which, at first, confused us, but then Lisa, one of the owners, came up and explained that they had upgraded us to one of the suites. We ended up in Sunset, a SPECTACULAR two-room suite. It had two gas fireplaces, a two-person jacuzzi tub, shower with rain head, king bed with plush linens, and two TVs with DVD players (and a DVD collection available to use down in the office). The room also had a good sized balcony that offered a wonderful view of the ocean and a terrific sunset in the evening. We had turndown service, and we received cookies and milk in our room when we came back from dinner. The following morning we met Alice and was treated to a wonderful breakfast. My wife had the Santa Fe quiche which had bell pepper, tomato, and other vegetables in it, and I had the peach and cream cheese stuffed french toast. Both of us received juice and/or coffee, a cup of wonderful fresh fruit, and the best chocolate chip scones we've ever had. This is, in our opinion, the best B&B we've ever stayed at.

  • Liked — Staff, food, and views
  • Disliked — Had bad luck with the internet connection
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shawndoberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2008

Cayucos is great when you want to get away from it all. It is a tiny CA beach town between Cambria and Morro Bay. Cayucos is also close to Paso Robles and the wine country.
Our getaway was made even more special because we stayed at Cayucos Sunset Inn, a wonderful B&B! Close to the beach, huge private balcony, fireplace, jacuzzi tub and amazing view from our two room suite. The breakfast was amazing and the owners and their staff were very warm and friendly.
If you go to Cayucos, make sure to stop by Hoppe's for dinner!
We'll definitely be back.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank travel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern CA
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2008

The service was excellent. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms downstairs on the front of the house and slept in complete silence. The fireplace was a great touch and the bed was more than comfy. Kai the mascot was a friendly face to see each day and the staff was more than helpful any questions I had. Milk and cookies in the room every night was a great touch.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2008

Lisa is a wonderful hostess. We were greeted warmly. On Thursday evening, as every evening, we had appetizers and unique wines. Thursday was Valentine's Day, our anniversary, and she served Italian Red Champaign. The breakfasts were excellent. At night Cookies and milk were delivered to the room. We saved the milk for in room coffee the next morning, before going down to breakfast. The rooms, each one an individual, was done to the best. We really enjoyed our stay, didn't feel like guests, but as friends of the innkeeper.

  • Liked — The detail to which they decorated each unit
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goinginstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
6.0 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
627 reviews
18.0 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
457 reviews
15.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Sunset Inn

Property: Cayucos Sunset Inn
Address: 95 S Ocean Ave, PO Box 151, Cayucos, CA 93430-1647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cayucos Sunset Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cayucos Sunset Inn is a welcoming, open building trimmed with beautiful flowers and hedges. We have a shaded patio in front for the guests to relax in. The patio opens to our quaint dinning area where we serve a free breakfast and hold a complementary wine and cheese hour. Our five rooms vary in size. Four are located upstairs with ocean view patios. The rooms open to a living room area with a television, electric fire place, and couch in the front. Through the small hall, the bedrooms have luxurious king size beds, additional electric fire places, and small refrigerators. Each of these four rooms have jacuzzi tubs and rain shower heads. We have a smaller downstairs room we offer as well. We are located in a small throwback beach town. Our building is about a block from the beach with ocean views up top. The Inn is located on the main road up from Cayucos's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cayucos Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Sunset Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing