We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four Diamonds for a reason”
Review of Cayucos Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cayucos Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2011

It started with a quest; to return to a wonderful restaurant named Hoppe's. Fifteen years earlier my wife and I had fortuitously been sent to Hoppes at 901 in Morro Bay when we asked the folks at the Moro Bay Inn for a dinner recommendation. The meal was so wonderful we vowed to return one day. This was that day (although we knew Hoppes had moved to Cayucos).

So knowing where we wanted to eat meant we knew where we wanted to stay. Of course we could have stayed in Moro Bay or Cambria, even San Luis Obispo or Paso Robles if we didn't mind the drive. But we wanted to be able to walk to dinner so Cayucos it was.

For a town of less than 3,000 people there were a surprisingly large number of motel options. And while price was a factor we figured off-season, mid-week rates would be negotiable at just about every establishment in town. So based on TripAdvisor reviews, a description of balconies and the location nearest downtown, we picked Cayucos Sunset Inn.

We could not have been more pleased with our decision. Having traveled from Carmel-by-the-Sea that morning, we were pretty tired when we were greeted by at the inn by Lisa Mankins, the owner. She and her husband, John. had built this B & B from scratch 9 years earlier. Since John Mankins also operates a successful plumbing business, you would expect, and you would be right, that the bathrooms alone were gorgeous with two-person Jacuzzis and roomy showers.

The six rooms are actually suites with a living room area separated from the bedroom by the bath/shower areas. The room was tastefully decorated in pieces of local art. The linens are high thread count to make your sleep more enjoyable. There are nice touches everywhere which befits a property of this reputation.

One of the biggest reasons to choose this inn, however, was the private balconies overlooking the ocean. Even though the inn sits right on the only main drag in town, the location was fun in part because you could see all the goings-on until the noise subsided when they rolled up the sidewalks up at 9:00 pm, small town style. From our balcony I could see Moro Rock to the South, the Cayucos pier to the North and the little coffee shop (Kelly's) in the center of town that buzzed like a beehive when it opened at 7:00 am. My only criticism is the power lines that criss crossed my view. I don't think the Sunset Inn can do anything about that!

As chance would have it Hoppe's Bistro is closed on Tuesday's, the day we arrived. Darn it, we just had to go with Lisa's recommended Schooner's for a sunset dinner. That was followed by a visit to the local Cayucos Tavern for an after dinner drink before heading back to our comfortable bed.

Breakfast is a special event at Sunset Inn. All the more special because we were the only ones in the inn the two nights we stayed so we received hot meals fresh from the kitchen that Lisa dished up herself. She then was kind enough to visit with us and give us some of the history of the town. That was some of the most enjoyable time of our visit.

A walk on the beach, a coffee at Kellys, a day in Moro Bay and a dinner at Hoppes brought our two-night stay to a quick end. As we walked the town we realized there were a lot of other good options for accommodations in Cayucos. In the end, however, we think we made the correct decision for us to stay at this AAA Four Diamond inn whose reputation Lisa rightfully protects with vigor.

We know from Lisa that the town doubles in size during the summer. She said about 50% of the houses in town are beach homes for folks from Fresno, Bakersfield and other inland areas. We feel fortunate that we were there before the summer season gets started so we could enjoy the tranquility of the town. And so we could renew our acquaintance with Hoppe's Bistro.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 333 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2011

Could not ask for better service. Our room was upscale, spacious and perfectly clean. It is 2 stories and we stayed on the 2nd floor. It's a couple of blocks or so from the water but you could see and hear the ocean waves crashing still the same. There were excellent restaurants within walking distance. A few nearby antique shops to browse through too. This inn has so many special touches. The evening wine & cheese plate, bedtime cookies & milk just to name a few. Oh and the complimentary english breakfast was 5-star. No wonder this place is highly rated.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24-6Cityfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Sunset Inn is very clean which is number one priory with us. We enjoyed our 25th in Cayucos & the sunset staff were very helpful in making suggestions and reservations for dinner. Will stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gh2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We have stayed here a few times over the last couple of years and we are never disappointed. Rooms are immaculate and service is impeccable.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronandkary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I do wholeheartedly recommend Sunset Inn for your stay in Cayucos, a stone's-throw from Morro Bay to the south and Hearst Castle to the north. The shore is beautiful. This Inn is a block from beach access with views of the ocean from my room. The town is quiet and unassuming. Lisa and her staff at the Inn were hospitable, friendly, helpful and fun to talk to. The furnishings are nice, the bed was soft and comfy (we stayed in a suite with a King bed), and we got milk and home-made cookies at night. The breakfasts were good. Lisa did manage to serve gluten-free for me.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaureenandCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This Inn is amazing. The rooms are big and comfortable. Views are great. It is a cute little town with some nice restaurants and bars. The innkeeper is so nice. friendly and helpful. The afternoon reception was great and the morning breakfast was fantastic! Will definetly go back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

You feel like you're going home....except you have a wonderful, warm staff to take care of you as well. The rooms were lovely, warm and extremely comfortable - we didn't want for anything. The staff was so personable (calling us by name and taking special care of our preferences) and the stay was pressure free and fun! We really had nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelseyBestof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.2 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.2 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
145 reviews
15.2 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
868 reviews
5.3 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#24 of 29 in Morro Bay
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Sunset Inn

Address: 95 S Ocean Ave, PO Box 151, Cayucos, CA 93430-1647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range: $132 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cayucos Sunset Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cayucos Sunset Inn is a welcoming, open building trimmed with beautiful flowers and hedges. We have a shaded patio in front for the guests to relax in. The patio opens to our quaint dinning area where we serve a free breakfast and hold a complementary wine and cheese hour. Our five rooms vary in size. Four are located upstairs with ocean view patios. The rooms open to a living room area with a television, electric fire place, and couch in the front. Through the small hall, the bedrooms have luxurious king size beds, additional electric fire places, and small refrigerators. Each of these four rooms have jacuzzi tubs and rain shower heads. We have a smaller downstairs room we offer as well. We are located in a small throwback beach town. Our building is about a block from the beach with ocean views up top. The Inn is located on the main road up from Cayucos's restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cayucos Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Sunset Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing