We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Cayucos Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cayucos Beach Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
California City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding on the beach! Wonderful Accomodations! Stayed in a bottom floor room but my sister stayed in an upper floor room ! I liked the airiness of the upper floor rooms! Very Quiet and Peaceful. The rooms had everthing you needed from refrigerator to a microwave! Very Clean!

Room Tip: Loved the Upper Floor Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    112
    30
    8
    13
See reviews for
124
128
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento,Ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We spent 4 days at the Cayucos Beach Inn Motel because they took dogs. There is a special place to walk your dog that has a fire hydrant in the middle of this area. Also, if your dog needs to be washed down for any reason, they have a bath with a hose to do so. All around the property plastic bags are provided for dog poop to be picked up. The family running this clean motel are wonderful and will accommodate all your needs if they can. The motel is 2 story with large clean very basic no frills rooms. Every day, we had our rooms cleaned from sandy beach walks, beds made up and bathrooms cleaned. I would recommend this motel to anyone who wants an inexpensive no frills clean room that is happy to have all dogs large and small. There is a nice outside grill to use as well as a great restaurant right across the street serving breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. Dogs are welcomed in the outside seating area of the Sea Shanty restaurant. The continental FREE breakfast is basic: small individually wrapped sweet rolls, muffins, bagels, cream cheese, butter, toast & jam, bananas, apples, cereal, coffee, low fat milk, yogurt and orange juice. The beach is about 1 1/2 blocks away where it too accepts dogs and there were many running around having a good time. I highly recommend this place if you want a low cost, clean, basic no frills dog friendly free breakfast motel with owners who are very very nice.

Room Tip: Specify if you want upstairs or downstairs if you have knee problems or don't want to go up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenitaSacramento_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Booked a room for one night on our trip up the Pacific Coast Highway. This is an owner-occupied hotel and has super staff, from owner to all the housekeepers. The room was impeccably clean and da nice view of the sea. Laundry facilities are available, which was a real plus for us. Traveling with my husband and our teen, we got the upstairs suite--a king in its own bedroom, plus two full sized futons and a kitchen area. Location is super as well, with a small grocery store next door, the beach a 3 minutes walk away, and downtown a 10-15 minute walk.

Room Tip: Grab a suite--not much more expensive and tons of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestMom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We only stayed one night at the Cayucos Beach Inn but were surprised at the size of the rooms as well as the cleanliness. Room was extremely large with two queens, a flat screen, a good sized kitchenette and very clean bathroom. Shower was great and vanity had dual sinks. I was traveling with my sister so this was an excellent benefit for getting ready in the morning. Hotel staff was friendly and location was only about one block from beach. Cayucos is a small beach town so almost everything was within walking distance. The only thing I can possibly think that was not good was the continental breakfast. There was not much to choose from and the area used for serving is actually a hotel room with not much space. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesalynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst,CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Enjoyed the stay at the Inn. The rooms were large and very spacious. The ammenites were nice. And everything was clean and in working order. The staff was friendly and family owned. They had a nice small breakfast for the morning. Good location within walking distance to the beach and all attractions. They were pet friendly, had a bbq area and chairs to lounge and watch the world by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoPopDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We loved our stay here in Cayucos! Room was huge, and our dog Clyde (Basset Hound) loved it! He loved the doggie potty area, complete with a fire hydrant! Rooms were very clean! Loved the easy walk to the beach as well as walking all over town. Very dog friendly at every point in Cayucos! Several restaurants have seating available for you and your dog. The staff and management at the Cayucos Beach Inn took such great care of us and I have recommended this Inn to others! We will definitely be back here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6tompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, Ca
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at the Cayucos Beach Inn only 1 night on our way up the coast. The room was so nice & big that we were sorry we couldn't stay longer. The room rate was very reasonable - I think a lot less expensive than a similar room would cost in Morro Bay, which is only 5 miles away. The property seemed well maintained

Our large double queen room was very clean. There was a counter with a coffee maker, microwave, fridge & small sink. There was a table/desk with a chair, a table with 2 chairs & an easy chair. I was told that all double queen rooms are the same size. The bed was comfortable & I even liked the pillows, which were fairly firm. The TV wasn't a flat screen but the picture was ok. Wi-Fi was ok but it worked best in certain areas of the room. The "bathroom" vanity/sinks (there were double sinks) were separate from the bathroom. Our room had air conditioning and a ceiling fan. The inside of the front door has a peephole for humans & a very low one for dogs. I'm not too sure that dogs would actually use it but it is cute!

During the day, there was a lot of natural light - there was a window in the back of room by the vanity/sinks as well as 2 windows in the front. Although our room didn't have a view of the ocean, we could see the ocean if we were standing by the windows. And, it was nice seeing the ocean when we walked out the door.

The continental breakfast was fairly basic. There were individually wrapped bagels & some kind of breakfast pastry. There were 3 kinds of healthy looking cold cereal, yogurt, bananas & apples.

We were in Cayucos on a Monday night. There were not a lot of dining choices - the Italian restaurant & Hoppe's, 2 of the better rated restaurants, are only open Wed - Sun. We ate at Schooners Wharf, which was good. If we stayed here for a longer period of time we would probably go into Morro Bay for some of our meals

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.3 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.3 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
127 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
827 reviews
15.3 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Sunset Inn
Cayucos Sunset Inn
#1 of 6 in Cayucos
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Beach Inn

Property: Cayucos Beach Inn
Address: 333 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1231
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cayucos
#4 Family Hotel in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cayucos Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayucos Beach Inn is one block from the beach in Cayucos, California. We are a 3-diamond rated property, and we would love for you to bring your pet with you on your family vacation. We offer a friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms, and a great location. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cayucos Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Beach Hotel Cayucos
Cayucos Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing