We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“innovative influences!”
Review of DISH - Creative Cuisine - MOVED

DISH - Creative Cuisine
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At dish, we pride ourselves in creating new and exciting contemporary American cuisine with an emphasis and focus on flavor. We use exceptional ingredients including the best available local and organic products whenever possible. We believe that food should nurture not only the body, but the mind and spirit as well. Of primary importance to us is the dining experience of our guests. Our intimate dining room encourages the enjoyment of our modern cuisine, conversation and connection. Eating at dish is more than dinner. It is an experience.
Ventura
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“innovative influences!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Tucked away in a strip mall in Cathedral City, this desert location really is an oasis of creativity and gentle handling that lets the taste of the ingredients of the food shine through. Many morsels are served between courses and each is carefully explained by the attentive service staff.

The chef/owner greeted all of the 35 patrons (this is a small dining room) as welcome guests. When we left, I made a point of shaking her hand, thanking her for a delicious meal and assuring her that I would return...that can't happen soon enough for me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    7
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Nouvelle Cousine”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Heard about it from a friend. Was not disappointed. Only missing a 5th star because the noise level was high & though small the tables were very close together. The mini enticements between the courses were unique & excellent, especially the Beets. We strangely chose Filet Mignon. With all the very good steak restaurants in the Valley it was an odd choice but one we were glad we made. It was the Best Filet Mignon we've had outside of Spain- It was superbly seasoned and the quality of the steak was superb- looking to go back & try other dishes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Preston F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronado, california
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dish of excellence”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Not only is the cuisine superb, but Joanne, Ray and Eric are delightful in sharing the joy of each course, including the wonders of the little plates, filled with wondrous surprises. Opened in October, in a tiny strip mall, you know it is special when reservations are required a week in advance. We brought guests here twice in two weeks. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nowclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dish it up!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We learned of this small restaurant (10 tables), located in a strip mall, through a review in The Desert Sun. It received high praise and we were not disappointed. They have an early seating and a late seating to allow a time for recuperation and replenishment between groups of diners. We arrived for the early seating with only a few diners present which grew within minutes to a vibrant crowd (but not noisy). We were warmly greeted by a waiter and received arguably the best table, a corner table. All staff members were extremely personable including the unusual touch of the amuse-bouches being personally served by the chef. We ordered crab cakes to start accompanied by a fine zinfandel (Boneshaker). Our entrees consisted of scallops and an apple cider marinated pork chop. The crab cakes were second to none and the scallops were even better! There was nothing particularly exciting about the pork chop other than it was done to perfection and included an accompaniment of parsnips. What really sets Dish apart is that throughout our dining experience we received complimentary amuse-bouches (five in all) which made the whole experience unforgettable. The first was a donut consisting of goat cheese and herbs (not sweet), others included a pressed watermelon/tomato combination and mini meat balls. The best was the three (mild) pepper layered parfait. Unbelievable! Go there just for this. Our dessert was a chocolate layered brownie which was also very good. The only issue that could be troubling to some is that when the A/C came on it became very cool before cycling off (the owner may need to work with the building manager on this). If you go, make a reservation a few days out and enjoy one of your finer dining experiences. Our standard of comparison for our experience is restaurants throughout the USA from Sonoma County to Berkeley, LA, Kansas City and Washington, DC. The web site needs a more prominent display of their telephone number and possibly an on-line reservation link.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BenThairTwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nine tables, Nine Thousand Tastes”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Well maybe that's a slight exaggeration - there are also four unreservable seats at the bar which become available when and if owner-chef Joanne decides that the kitchen and waitstaff can handle the extra customers. That's how my wife and I got lucky on a recent Saturday evening.

The decor and atmosphere are clean and understated California modern, but, like everything else at Dish, punctuated by surprise - in this case, a brick pizza oven sunk into a wall courtesy of a former (and very different) restaurant that used to occupy the space. But the surprises you come for are the food. How 'bout starting with marinated zuchinni "noodles", baby heirloom tomatoes, morrocan black olives and avocado panna cotta, as I did? Or crab cakes with shrimp mousse, jalepeno gooseberry aoli, mixed greens and lemon dijon vinaigrette? Or any of four other equally startling combinations all of which work in spectacular fashion? Main courses reflect the same creative imagination. Do you like wild Atlantic salmon and want to try it here? Great, but don't expect merely the same marvelous experience you're used to elsewhere. With only a slightly open mind and attentive taste buds you're in for an unforgettable experience. Try to imagine pan seared wild Atlantic salmon with celeriac puree, confit purple potatoes, carrots, smoked cheddar custard, cognac and apple gastrique and broken lemon arugala vinaigrette. Can't imagine? That's why you need to get to Dish and experience something truly unique - not odd-unique, but inspired-unique

. My wife and I (uncharacteristically) each ordered one of the two specials - a ten-ounce pork chop and a rack of lamb. Each were equally original and delicious. In between courses we were served four intermezzo treats/palate cleansers each much too complex to deconstruct but all startlingly original and just right for the transition to what was coming next.

Dish is a cutting edge and brilliantly executed experiment in the creative combination of tastes, colors and textures in food, and every one we sampled succeeded brilliantly. Joanna told us that not all of them do work out as well, but that's just one more opportunity that Dish presents if you're serious about experiencing and learning about what can be accomplished by a truly gifted and unconstrained chef.

Dish is located in an unlikely corner of Cathedral City next to a nail salon, which is just one more of its unexpected surprises. Another is that although the check comes in an Amex wallet my platinum bounced back with the comment that they only take Visa and MasterCard. Oh well, who's perfect? Only a wine license, but who would want to risk dulling a single taste bud with even a drop of martini? Certainly not here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blueskiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DISH - Creative Cuisine also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Cathedral City, CA
 
Cathedral City, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing