We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”

Mountain View Grille at Desert Princess
Ranked #74 of 133 Restaurants in Cathedral City
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Dining at Desert Princes Country Club is always a memorable experience. We take pride in creating delectable creations for our members and their guests to enjoy. Whether you join us for breakfast, a casual lunch or to wine and dine, the service and food are always impeccable. Desert Princess offers a comfortable, upscale ambiance, replete with stunning views of an immaculately groomed golf course framed by the San Jacinto and Santa Rosa mountain ranges. Desert Princess Country Club is also a great place for banquets, wedding receptions, parties, reunions and meetings. Bar open until 5pm Monday-Thursday, Sunday until 5pm, Friday & Saturday until 7pm.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We rented a condo at the Desert Princess Jan 2014 and ate more than wonce at Leons. We always were treated warmly, service was very good and meals the same. The setting and view from the patio makes for geat memories.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dodadave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Things have drastically changed”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

15 Nov 13 we went to Leon's. It is important that readers of this review understand that Leon, the owner/lessor/whatever, not be blamed for the disappointing changes. I understand that his lease expires in a few months. For a long time, this was our favorite restaurant and we frequented it at least once a month. This time, we noticed drastic changes. The menu was new (with more expensive prices listed). This shocked us. For example, scallops was eliminated. Extremely disappointing. The entertainment on Friday night was once our favorite - Ron & Peggy. They had been replaced by a vocalist who sang well, but the volume was set too loud for a dining atmosphere. We had requested our favorite server, Liliana, and she took very good care of our needs. It was obvious that the recent changes were causing some problems with the overall staff. In the past, the manager (Tony) would visit the table and say hello. Only Lili, our server, came by occasionally. She was very busy. She did bring us a soup which was not listed as part of the entree serving. It was delicious. The breads delivered to the table with a sauce were not replenished. The sauce was virtually tasteless. We discovered that the previous chef was no longer there. Lili managed to order for one of us a plate of scallops. They were not served as in the past. The $32 cost was shocking. I ordered a char grilled piece of chicken entree. It was a small piece, though delicious I must say, but costly. $21 for a serving of that piece with some potatoes and a few veggies. We will miss being served by Lili. She did her best. We passed word to the Manager, complimenting Lili. However, we will not be returning to the Desert Princess for fine dining. We have discovered a new "favorite" in Palm Springs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Bargain Brunch”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Really great brunch, champagne all for 23 dollars. Prime rib, ham, salads, fruit, eggs benedict, lobster pot pie(yum), made to order omelets, coffee, champagne OJ etc. We ate outside, however dining room has beautiful mountain view.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lascola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morongo Valley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Leon and Tony are the Best :)”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you are visiting the Palm Springs Area this is a Must ! The food is Fabulous and so is the crew and the owner's. I have been going to Leon's for years (20) no matter what location their at. The Food is by far the best in the Desert... The service is warm friendly, just like family I rate this a 10+ and so will you once you taste their food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mycwcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
286 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went to Leon's at the Doral Hotel/Desert Princess. It is really not in the hotel but in the clubhouse. The views were fantastic. The mountains, the golf course, the flowers, all great. The brunch menu was like $16.99. There were about 15 choices for brunch ranging from a chicken or New York steak caesar salad, short ribs, crab benedict, huevos rancheros. I ordered the sole that came with mashed potatoes (strange) and sautéed vegetables. It was a huge piece of fish. All the portions at our table of eight were large. The food was good....not great but good. They have unlimited champagne at brunch. They were not stingy, always refilling our glasses - they even put a bottle on the table but we never got a chance to pour it. The busboys were great clearing and filling waters. It was busy. We had a nice time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonandMaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain View Grille at Desert Princess also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Cathedral City, CA
 

Been to Mountain View Grille at Desert Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing