We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun place and great food!”
Review of Michael's Cafe

Michael's Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Big Bear Lake, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fun place and great food!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We feel like we are definitely treating ourselves when we eat here! The restaurant is full of Marilyn Monroe pictures (you almost think she may pop out at any minute!), the service is fast and friendly, the restaurant is kept very clean, and the specials are delicious. You get plenty of food, and the prices are pretty reasonable for the food you receive. Coffee and iced teas are refilled often. You are welcomed when you enter... an entertaining place to eat! We eat here from October through May, as Cathedral City is our home 7 months out of the year. See you soon... Patricia (& Russ) :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaNotary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    35
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stopped by for a quick lunch. Nice, clean, friendly diner type of place. Good food and service. I had a Reuben, I ask for pastrami but my server suggested the corned beef and she was right, it was great. I like that they have pure horseradish. My friend had the club and it was loaded with turkey and bacon. Our iced teas were refilled often. Just a nice lunch place, I will be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonandMaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great Diner”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We love this little gem! It's very popular with locals and regulars (Irvine, CA) like us. I love the Marilyn Monroe decor, I'm such a huge fan! The staff is very friendly and attentive.
The food is very delicious, whether its scrambled eggs with diced ham or my husband's favorite, Egg's Benedict for breakfast or sandwiches and hamburgers for lunch.
This place makes you feel happy, such a welcoming environment, especially when you are not a morning person. A great way to start the day!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mjke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great diner”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The atmosphere and the decor is that of a real diner complete with counter service. The service was attentive and very good. The food was excellent diner fare. We really enjoyed this fun little place.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank oldergent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hamburgers!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Michael's is really basic and really popular with locals. Serving breakfast and lunch only, it does a lively business with standard diner-like fare. The service is friendly and effecient. There are a few tables outside with a view of a strip mall parking lot on Date Palm at Gerald Ford. The hamburgers are great. Cooked exactly the way we asked for them, they were the best I've had in a long time. What makes Michae's special is that it's pretty hard to find what used to be commonplace -- a neighborhood spot with good food and good prices in a welcoming neighborhood atmosphere. If you are looking for lunch or breakfast in Cathedral City, give it a try. I think you will be pleased.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Cafe also viewed

Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
 
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Michael's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing