We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cash only, but always excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Gallito Restaurant - CLOSED

El Gallito Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cash only, but always excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I try to eat here at least once every time I am in Palm Springs. The food is delicious and the service is excellent and the staff ever so friendly!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    61
    23
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Smell you”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

When you arrive at El Gallito you are not greeted with a warm hello. Instead you are given some shade. Which is comical considering the state of the place. Seriously, if you sit in a worn out booth your rear will hit the floor. Then there are all the rules listed on the table to make sure you don't screw up. The food....not all that. I have to agree with some other reviewers, what's all the fuss?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada/Palm Springs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“what's the fuss?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Finally went after years of hearing how good it was. It was not-- the main condiment used in the food is salt. Without the salt, it would have been bland and inedible rather than salty and inedible.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scuba1bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food in Cathedral City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had put El Gallito on our list of restaurants to try during a long stay exploring the Palm Springs area. We like hole in the wall restaurants and this one did not disappoint us. The food was excellent, and we liked the rough ambiance of the place. We'll definitely be back.

Something to be aware of is that they do not accept credit cards. This is a cash only joint.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iankh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda Heights, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shocked”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was wondering what the rave was all about. This is a small Mexican restaurant. People are waiting outside to get in. We dined there with my son and his wife what a disappointment. I soon realized all the people were white and didn't realize this was not authentic Mexican food. I am Latino and know this. Good luck

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gallito Restaurant also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Cathedral City, CA
 
Cathedral City, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing