We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great off the beaten path worth a visit”
Review of El Gallito Restaurant - CLOSED

El Gallito Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great off the beaten path worth a visit”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This little hole in the wall just off Palm Canyon in Cathedral City is worth a visit if you like casual home made mexican cuisine for inexpensive prices, along with a cold beer. We ate their tonightt and had enchilados and tacos with guacomole and a corona. The price for two was $34. They only accept cash. It's the perfect spot for a quick tasty bite if you're catching a movie at the Mary Pickford.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    61
    23
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped into this restaurant before heading out to the Indian canyons for a hike. Wow! Really fantastic Mexican food. The highlight was actually the flower tortillas they make on-site at the restaurant. Super service. Great food. Good price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilliandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sancreed
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent food, outstanding value for money, long old queue”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Gallito's is basically a shack not too far from the Cinemas in Cathedral City. It does excellent food for an outstanding price. Even the beers aren't too expensive. No frills, no mixed drinks. They want you in and out quickly and you can't reserve. So there is a long old queue outside. Wrap up warm if you go in the evening in winter as the temperature can plummet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WindyinSancreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcminnville or
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food- The Best!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

You will come back for the food. This place has been here for 35 years and is well known by the locals. All the food is homemade including the chips and the tortillas The salsa that comes with the chips has a real bite, not the usual "Americanized version" You can add this to your main dish to
get the spiciness you want. Don't be put off by the building's outside appearance I think they have been grandfathered in so it looks out of place.with all the new around it. The location is just past the Cathedral City city limits sign just off 111 so watch for the turn off on the right if coming from Rancho Mirage. The restaurant looks like a small adobe house.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Muy delicioso”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We read about El Gallito in a travel book and thought that we must try it out. We had to wait a little for a table because it is a small restaurant and everybody that we talked to had nothing but good things to say about the food. Somehow when we were seated everybody thought we had already ordered so it took a bit longer to order. But they were very apologetic and we did not actually wait long. The food does not take long to get out and it is delicious. I had a combination of a tamale and a taco. I wish I would have ordered a soft shell that was my fault. If I ever go back to the desert I will definitely stop by El Gallito again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank anonymous482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gallito Restaurant also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
 
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing