We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical non-descript Asian fare.”

New Fortune Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 133 Restaurants in Cathedral City
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Typical non-descript Asian fare.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

When they opened, I was excited that there would be another place to get Pho in this part of the valley. Unfortunately, it's only been available once in a while. I don't blame the restaurant; it's cost prohibitive to have to make the stock, only to have to throw it out because there is no demand. Any area that has to include Kung Pao on Thai menus because the clientele isn't interested in anything other than the most pedestrian Asian fare should give you an idea of who they're dealing with.

The food isn't bad. It's not anything that I'd get excited about, but I do go there on occasion. No flavors to excite the palate, but It's very clean and the service is OK. I don't care that they have granite tabletops; that doesn't have anything to do with the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank desertman64168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    30
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, CA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good for Palm Springs”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I think this is probably the best Chinese food in the area. Although I am more accustomed to more traditional Chinese food. Everything was good and fresh, but it's more of the American Chinese style. You know, the usual sweet and sour pork dishes. It is family run and the staff are very nice. The service was slow, but pleasant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New Fortune Deserves a Score of 10”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

If I could I’d give New Fortune a score of 10. We’d heard of it at the tail end of our visit to the Palm Springs area. We were lucky to finally eat there this evening.

The atmosphere is very nice, clean and inviting. The tabletops are granite and they use white cloth napkins. The staff and owner are most accommodating.

We shared an order of Moo Shu Chicken (on the menu with Pork. It was served with 4 pancakes which is very unusual. The food was fresh, flavorful and delicious. The portion was generous, too.

Next winter when we return to Palm Springs we plan on visiting the restaurant often.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SumaSetch51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FINALLY!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I've been waiting for years for a good neighborhhood Chinese restaurant in the Palm Springs area. Here we have it-great food, reasonable prices, and friendly service. Have been going every couple of weeks or so since they opened in Nov.plus occasional take-out. The lunch specials are also very reasonably priced and the portions are generous.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 145Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Chinese and Asian Cuisine”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

As snowbirds from BC(Canada) we thought we may have a problem finding good ethnic chinese food. A friend pointed us to the New Fortune Chinese Restaurant across from Target on 111.

A wonderful small clean restaurant with awesome dishes, reasonable prices, and a great staff.

We have had 3 different meals there and always come away happy.

Would recommend their lunch menu; and also dinner menu after 4pm. They are closed on Sundays.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tebo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Fortune Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Cathedral City, CA
Cathedral City, CA
 
Cathedral City, CA
 
Cathedral City, CA
Cathedral City, CA
 

Been to New Fortune Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing