We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We also traded with RCI. We were a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised. On recommendation, we requested golf view. Best choice. Most units have been remodelled. They do a section each year. Housekeeping staff on top of things and very pleasant and accommodating. Check-in smoth and efficient. We were approached three times re the presentation but held our ground and declined. Pools were clean and plenty of chairs, loungers although this wasn't high season. Golf course was excellent and well priced. Beautiful walking paths throughout. Only complaint was that most people seemed well over 65.
Centrally located and easy to get around to various attractions.

Room Tip: Upper pool view or golf course view, although golf view can be too hot to enjoy the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    106
    45
    15
    9
See reviews for
95
112
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, WA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We used a timeshare trade. The resort is very nice and the grounds are very well kempt. Our room however overlooked the parking lot, next to a busy busy road. Make sure you call ahead and ask for a room overlooking the pool or golf course. The rooms are a bit dated, not badly, but somewhat. Things in the room were clean with the exception of a few lampshade cobwebs. The living room was very spacious....the other rooms were average size. The kitchen was well stocked with the basic items, but take your seasonings if youre planning to cook there. Salt and pepper only were furnished.
The pools are nice and mostly quiet. Nice temp, plenty of loungers, etc. There seemed to be a lot of activities and happy hours, lunch specials etc.
Average age of the guests we saw around the pools was about 65. We saw a few younger families but not many and we didn't see any fams with teeagers.
This seemed to be more of a retired couples hangout.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suntracker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
300 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed for a week on a timeshare trade. Check-in efficient and quick with a no pressure invitation for a timeshare presentation. Plenty of space, all rooms a good size. Great fully equipped kitchen. The unit was clean and well kept although it is getting a little older. Great bed.
For the golfer there is a good deal with the golf course.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the golf course. Upper floor a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gleger2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great, fantastic, and not pushy on trying to sell you a time share. Safe parking, well lighted pathways and very comfortable rooms. If you have kids, this is the place you want to stay. They have everything curtailed towards the little ones to keep them busy and you comfortable. The apartment as I call it was fully stocked and lovely. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tl4tl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and were pleasantly surprised to not have any of the problems that were mentioned. After reading previous reviews I requested and received an upper floor overlooking the golf course and having a beautiful view of the mountains. I am glad I did because I could see how some people would be upset with the ground floor facing the parking lot! I had no problem with the hi speed internet and thought the renovations of the rooms were tastefully done. This is not a hi end resort, it is small and quiet.

Room Tip: Request an upper room with a view of the golf course and mountains!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My daughter, husband and I traded through RCI for a 3-night stay. Not too much pressure for a presentation when we checked in and we were not approached again. We had a ground floor room with a parking lot view. Not great, but oh well, it was a short trip. The resort seems more like an old apartment/condo complex, as the only thing there except the rooms is the lobby building and a couple of pools (one small adult pool and a larger family pool). There is a small snack bar that serves drinks & lunch-type foods by the pools. The rooms appear to have been recently renovated, but unfortunately only partially renovated....which left me a little unsatisfied. The furniture, carpet, decorations, tvs, and paint were modern and tastefully done. However, the popcorn ceilings, teal green kitchen counter tiles, repainted dark kitchen cabinets, old floor tile in kitchen & bath, MANY-coats painted old white bathroom cabinets, faux painted bathroom counter, and old shower/tub stall left for something to be desired. I hope that the resort's budget includes upgrades to these things, because they are badly needed. That being said, the units were quite spacious with a walk-in bedroom closet, plus a hallway coat closet. The bathroom was pretty large with a lot of counter space. The kitchen was adequately stocked, but was lacking sharp knives (though this seems to be the same everywhere). The sofa bed was fine for my 7-yr old, but I'm not sure adults would find it quite as cozy as the mattress was pretty thin. Even though it was a holiday weekend, we never had problems finding chairs at the pool and it never seemed very crowded there. The game room had air hockey, a couple of VERY worn pool tables, a couple of ping pong tables and a few video games. There were many activities scheduled throughout the day, but we didn't really partake in them as that's just not what we do on vacation.

Overall, is was an OK resort, but for me to rate it higher I would need to see the rooms completely renovated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Late_Bloomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had to use a week of our timeshare up so chose this place. We honestly felt like we were in our backyard (we are from sunny Arizona). Check-in was quick, but getting our parking pass at the concierge took forever. Very nice people though. We denied all attempts at doing a timeshare presentation and were never bothered about it again. The one bedroom unit was spacious and clean. Had a view of a parking lot and trees. We do not have kids, so we did not venture in the big pool with all the kids and families. The adult pool was disappointing for us as it was about the same size as our backyard pool, had the same palm trees we did and the same sunny, hot blue sky. Haha! But we made the best of it. Enjoyed the snack hut that had drinks nearby. Did some very cheap golfing on-site ($10! Thank you summer!) so that was fun. Relaxed by the pool most days and lots of activity was always going on. Looks like a great place for families. Great location as lots of good restaurants are within 10 minute drives, the Aerial Tramway is also close by and a must-do. We did the Thursday night walk on the street in Palm Springs and that was quite an experience. Lots of fun people watching! Overall, nice place but more geared for families with kids.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Icats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
5.9 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
6.9 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis

Property: Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis
Address: 34567 Cathedral Canyon Dr, Cathedral City, CA 92234-6637 (Formerly Desert Oasis Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welk Resort Desert Oasis boasts 350 days of sunshine a year, with an average yearly temperature of 75 degrees. With breathtaking panaramic views of the San Jacinto Mountains, the resort is located 10 minutes from Palm Springs in Cathedral City, California. Swim in a large pool or lap pool, soak up some sun, or enjoy championship golf and tennis at our adjacent Cathedral Canyon Golf and Tennis Club, including a restaurant with locally inspired cuisine. Experience luxurious vacation villa accommodations that include full kitchens, living and dining areas, and private bedrooms with king beds. Activities Center includes fitness room, billiards, air hockey, darts, and Ping-Pong tables with planned activities and classes for all age groups. An arcade is next to the Activities Center. And when you’re ready to explore, nearby Palm Springs offers plenty to see – You won’t want to miss the Aerial Tramway, The Living Desert, Indian Canyons, Knott’s Soak City, Children’s Discovery Museum and Air Museum, world-class dining and shopping, including the popular Cabazon outlet, thrilling casinos, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Oasis Hotel Cathedral City
Desert Oasis Cathedral City
Welk Resort Palm Springs - Desert Oasis Cathedral City, California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing