We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not your father's Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My daughter had a cheer competition in Palm Springs and the whole stayed at the Holiday Inn. Palm Springs is not a cheap town so to find a decent hotel for a good price is a blessing. The The Holiday Inn Express is relatively new and I was impressed by the appearance and cleanliness of the hotel, and friendliness of the staff. The room is larger than the standard room, comes with a sitting area, fridge and a coffee maker, and a “fast” internet connection (compared to the Hilton properties). The room is well insulated (unless you are surrounded by 100 hyperactive teenaged girls in town for cheer competition), you should be able to get a good night sleep. Complimentary hot break include made to order pancake, scramble eggs, sausage which is unusual for this category of hotel. On the down side, the hotel is a couple miles away from the main fare so be prepared to drive to major shopping areas or restaurants. Nevertheless, I was pleased with my stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AverageJoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear AverageJoe1, Thank you for conveying your feedback, it is highly appreciated. We value our guest feedback. We are more than pleased that we were able to make sure you had an enjoyable stay with us. We just recently renovated and were glad that you were impressed with our property. Also we just upgraded the speed of the WiFi as well. Once again I would like to thank you for your kind feedback! Please do contact us on property next time your in the Palm Springs area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 271 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed a few nights while working in the area. Reasonably priced, nice room, clean, quiet, decent breakfast, large laundry room, small standard "fitness center", next door to small mall with Mexican, Thai & Indian restaurants. Hour drive to Joshua Tree or Salton Sea. Only complaint is pervasive smell of mildew in the room, & since windows are bolted shut there's no option of fresh air.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sympetrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Sympetrum, thank you for valuable feedback, we are ecstatic you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize for the inconvenient smell you experienced. We will discuss this matter in the next meeting so that next time you stay with us, you have a wonderful stay with no issues. Please do contact us for future inquries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We took a short after Christmas trip to the Palm Springs area and got a good deal on Priceline Express deals. Check-in was efficient and the staff pleasant.

We had a first floor room that was a little dated but OK. Beds were not the most comfortable and for some reason, the sound of water running through the walls was annoying. It usually happened in the evening but done by bedtime. Walls are thin and could hear full conversations through the wall.

The one thing I liked was the pool area. It had a nice wide deck and a nice view. Finding pool towels was another matter. They were not always available.

Last issue: Breakfast. The first two days we went down around 8am and there was a bit of a crowd. They assign only one person to replenish and many times items stood empty for a long time. On the last day, we came down at 9am and there was hardly any food out at all. One woman told me that the staff said they were not putting anymore out as it closes at 9:30am. Later, I overheard a staff member (maybe the manager) tell a guest that they had ran out of food! My family cobbled together something but there were many guests who did not get the opportunity.

Since there are so many hotel options available I would choose another hotel to stay the next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank octwinmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Octwinmommy, I do apologize for your stay with us. I am deeply sorry that we were not able to meet up to your expectations. We will address the issues you stated in the next meeting, we take our guest feedback serious. Please do give us another chance and stay with us. Contact us next time your in the Palm Springs area, and we will assure you that your next stay with us is a pleasant and wonderful stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and our daughter stayed here six days in January 2014. The hotel staff was wonderful. The breakfasts were great too. We had switched from a king bed top floor to two double beds 1st floor when our daughter decided to join us. These beds were a bit dated and need to be replaced (room 132). Quiet most of the time with the occasional slamming of room doors and the outside entrance door, but that's not the hotels fault. We plan to return next January if we can.

Room Tip: People: QUIT slamming doors!! Think about others. Close doors like there's a cranky baby slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longball44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear longball44, thank you for your kind expression! We value your feed-back and your business! Please do contact us at the property level once you are ready to make your future reservations !
Thank you in advance.


Warm Wishes,

-Hotelstaff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My three teenagers and I drove from Portland, Oregon to visit my brother in Cathedral City for Christmas. We stayed for 4 nights. The room was beautiful and we were upgraded to a suite with living room area and hide-a-bed couch. There was no view but we did not mind. My teenage boys brought their xbox and tried to connect to the free wi-fi but could not play live. A little disappointing but they got over it. The breakfasts were fantastic in my opinion. They had everything you could want. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub on Christmas day. Wayne was the best with his great customer service and winning smile. The rest of the staff were very friendly and so helpful. I will only stay here on our next visit.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to suite 314 and it was centrally located to elevators and ice machine. No view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 754lynns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your kind review! We value your expression. We are more then happy that we were able to exceed all your needs, and also that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us! The staff is most pleased to be appreciated and to have played a part in your enjoyment of your stay with us. We do hope that next time your in the Palm springs area you contact us for future inquiries. Once more, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our 2 nights here, room had an intrusive odor but we managed with the window. Pool area was great. Staff was great. Enjoyed the view from the pool, mountains. Kind of a different place this Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arctic666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CC, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Arctic666, Thank you for your kind feedback. We do apologize for the odor you may have expierence with us. We just recently revnovated; meaning we got new carpet and new sitting goods so that may have been the scent that you had occuried. In the next meeting we will investiage to see what we can do about this issue. Please don't hesiate to contact us for future inquiries. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We spent the last weekend visiting the Palm Springs area and have always had a great stay at Holiday Inn Express locations around the southwest. This one was a little disappointing. The stairwell was dusty and looked as though it hadn't been vacuumed in weeks, and our room on the 3rd floor was next to a utility room which was noisy at odd hours. Additionally the bathroom fan didn't work. On the good side breakfast was great, the room was comfortable, and the pool and spa were very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccrowe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear ccrowe3,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that our breakfast menu exceeded you expectations and found our room comfortable and poll/spa very nice. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Palm Springs Cathedral City Golf Resort
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)

Address: 36101 Date Palm Dr, Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92234-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range: $96 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cathedral City is conveniently located in the heart of Palm Springs Valley. Our Cathedral City Hotel is a resort destination near Rancho Mirage, La Quinta, Palm Desert, Indian Wells, world class golf courses, spas, casinos, restaurants and shopping. While travelling to our hotel, you will be able to visit the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, Indian Canyon Trails, Spa Casino, Agua Caliente Casino, Cathedral Canyon Golf, PGA West Golf, Cabazon World Premium Outlet Mall, Knotts Soak City, Empire Polo Grounds, El Paseo Shopping District, The Living Desert and Joshua Tree National Park. This Holiday Inn Express Hotel is a host hotel for The Big League Dreams Sports Park. We are just minutes from the Palm Springs International Airport in CA. Also nearby Palm Springs Convention Center, Downtown shopping, restaurants, and Indian Wells Tennis Gardens. All leisure or business guests will enjoy our high speed, wireless and wired Internet and complimentary business center. Come experience our serene outdoor heated pool and whirlpool with a large deck and mountain views. Our hotel also features a workout room. Our 100% smoke free hotel features the comforts of home. From our resort style pool, wonderful cinnamon rolls, cookies in the lobby every evening, and the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, this hotel in Cathedral City, CA is sure to please. Swimming pools and Jacuzzi will be closed starting on July 9, 2017 and will re-open on July 18, 2017 as they are being repaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) Hotel Cathedral City
Holiday Inn Cathedral City
Cathedral City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing