We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Memorial Day Stay at this Holiday Inn Express.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place is really something else. Don't stay here. I have been booking thru Expedia for years and always had good service from Hotels. As soon as they saw my reservation was via Expedia, they placed us on the 1st floor room for disabled guests. This first floor room is next to pool and a side exit. It is really loud and the shower develops puddles on the bathroom floor. I tried to change rooms since I overheard the front desk staff tell a guest that they can move if they like. However, for me, they said 'no' that a got a 'run of the house' room with the 'cheap rate'. How insulting, this was said in front of my wife and other guests. How do you respond to that? We did not want to argue so we left all afternoon to Palm Springs hoping by the time we came back the people at the pool would be gone. The noises continued since the room was by the exit door until 1:30 am or so. Hence, no sleep! No apology was given at any point, in fact, I was told that I should of booked through them. Don't stay here unless you like bad customer service or like being treated like second class guest with no rest.

Room Tip: Don't let them place you on the 1st floor. If they do, just check out. You will get more rest a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Uli G,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is unfortunate service issues prevented you from fully enjoying your time at our hotel. We would like to address this further and have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 271 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

It took me a long time to decide which hotel to stay in during this trip to the Palm Springs area. I read all the reviews and finally settled on this Holiday Inn. It was very easy to find from the freeway and we liked the hotel very much. The check-in person was very helpful and gave us the top floor room we had requested - it did face the car park which was a shame but it was quiet. The room was nice, the bed comfortable, the bathroom was really quite big. We had a fridge in the room which was much appreciated. Breakfast was fine, quite a lot of choice and a free newspaper. The pool area was very nice. If I were to make any comment about the pool it would be that during busy times there are not enough chairs and umbrellas for shade available. We were lucky because during the week it was like having our own private pool but at the week-end it was impossible to find a bed. Cathedral City is quieter than Palm Springs but ideally situated for travelling around the area. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park do not get the afternoon sun but tend to be a little dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catloverSotogrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Checking in was a breeze, great location [reasonable to Palm Springs], breakfast staff was nice [on one of the mornings, I arrived late but the attendant said no problem and got me some danishes and coffee] and the room was more than I was expecting.... I enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptanian063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Basically we got exactly what we paid for here and it was perfectly satisfactory. Parking was free and easy, as was the wireless access in-room. The free breakfast was not great, but when is a free meal ever that awesome? We were in Cathedral City to attend the Coachella music festival (as were most other hotel guests that weekend) and this location was perfect for that; under 30 minutes driving each way, close to inexpensive chain restaurants and many major retail chains, clean, reasonably comfortable and safe/secure. The gorgeous pool was an added bonus for us, although not being heated it was still pretty chilly in April. Also nice, having a laundry room for guests (a must for anyone spending 3 days in a crowded desert field listening to music. Bottom line, if we go back to Coachella next year we would probably book here again because it was a good all-around value but if we were simply on vacation we would spend a little more for a more luxurious experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have the nicest views and are quiet in terms of outside noise anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is brand new and very clean. They have free breakfast and this was not skimpy ones.
They had full breakfast. Family with kids will understand it adds up if you have to pay for breakfast as well. So we enjoyed it. Swimming pool is also very clean. We saw Ducks in the pool in the morning. They do not use too much chloride so it was not smelling too bad.
Now we had two beds in the room and it was bit small. Need vent in the bathroom. After shower you are basically cooked.

Room Tip: swimming pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The people at the front desk were very friendly and kind. Hotel rooms were clean and roomy. The price was reasonable and a great deal. Only thing missing was a laundry bag, which isn't a big deal because i just asked for it at the front desk. Overall a good stay and I would recommend to others!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choierin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed for two nights this March. The room was very clean and everything worked well. The beds were okay--nothing luxurious but perfectly fine. The breakfast was included and it wasn't anything special--but again, it was fine. The pool area (which I didn't use because I was visiting family) was lovely. Most importantly, it was quiet and the air conditioner wasn't too loud so it was easy to sleep. Wifi worked with my Mac. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Hello, Gina.
We appreciate your input of our hotel, Holiday Inn Express in Cathedral City, CA.
I am glad that you liked our pool area!
Our large pool with open mountain view with sunset is definitely one of the highlight amenities we have.
We have staffs who are willing to help you anytime if you had any problems, A/C or Wi-Fi, but are glad that you never really needed to ask!
Please contact hotel directly in the future for your best deal we could offer and hope to see you soon.
Thank you very much, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Palm Springs Cathedral City Golf Resort
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)

Address: 36101 Date Palm Dr, Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92234-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range: $96 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cathedral City is conveniently located in the heart of Palm Springs Valley. Our Cathedral City Hotel is a resort destination near Rancho Mirage, La Quinta, Palm Desert, Indian Wells, world class golf courses, spas, casinos, restaurants and shopping. While travelling to our hotel, you will be able to visit the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, Indian Canyon Trails, Spa Casino, Agua Caliente Casino, Cathedral Canyon Golf, PGA West Golf, Cabazon World Premium Outlet Mall, Knotts Soak City, Empire Polo Grounds, El Paseo Shopping District, The Living Desert and Joshua Tree National Park. This Holiday Inn Express Hotel is a host hotel for The Big League Dreams Sports Park. We are just minutes from the Palm Springs International Airport in CA. Also nearby Palm Springs Convention Center, Downtown shopping, restaurants, and Indian Wells Tennis Gardens. All leisure or business guests will enjoy our high speed, wireless and wired Internet and complimentary business center. Come experience our serene outdoor heated pool and whirlpool with a large deck and mountain views. Our hotel also features a workout room. Our 100% smoke free hotel features the comforts of home. From our resort style pool, wonderful cinnamon rolls, cookies in the lobby every evening, and the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, this hotel in Cathedral City, CA is sure to please. Swimming pools and Jacuzzi will be closed starting on July 9, 2017 and will re-open on July 18, 2017 as they are being repaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) Hotel Cathedral City
Holiday Inn Cathedral City
Cathedral City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing