We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stay here often for work. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and the mountain views are beautiful. Prices are reasonable for Palm Springs. The breakfast is standard Holiday Inn fare. The canal runs behind the hotel so it's quiet and the views are unobstructed.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms will avoid street noise and have good morning views of the mountains.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MplsDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hello, MplsDon.
I appreciate that you spent your own time to write your experience of our hotel.
I am very glad that we enjoyed your stays.
Are you a priority club member by any chance?
If you aren't, please mention at the front desk to sign you up for it at your next visit.
For priority club members, we could offer FREE early check-in's and free late check-out's!
Please let us know if there is anything we could improve our service!
Thank you very much again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 269 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have stayed at this property 3-4 times over the past couple of years, and I really like it. The staff is extremely friendly, the room prices are fair, and the hotel is located just a short distance east (or is it south?) of Hwy 111. Yes, its located behind a gas station but the views of the mountains overlooking the pool are fantastic!

As with all HIE hotels a free buffet breakfast is included which was fine (nothing too exciting here, but very nice to have). The pool area was nice and kept very clean. Recently they upgraded the rooms so they look even better, and are very comfortable. My only gripe is that they each have their own A/C and heating units in the room and the blowers make a significant amount of noise which kept us up a bit at night. Is there any way these can be moved to the outside?

Otherwise, if you are looking for a comfortable, friendly, and reasonably priced place to stay while in the desert the HIE Cathedral City is the place for you!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the mountains!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beechmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hello, Beechmi.
Thank you so much for your input of our hotel.
I am glad that your stay in enjoyable overall.
We would love to work harder to provide better service for you and any other guests.
I do apologize for noise of A/C.
If you could be kind to send me an quick email regarding your stay information, we will address the issue with our maintenance department.
My email address is "charles@hie-cc.com"
Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everything about this place was great! The staff was friendly, the pool facilities were excellent, comfy bed. I would recommend trading out the showerheads as ours spat a little bit, but otherwise everythign was fine. The (FREE) breakfast was really good, as was the coffee. Thanks, HI, we had a great time!

Room Tip: Snag one on the west side, good views of the hills and the pool.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celeste C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our hotel, Celeste!
I appreciate your detail review and it helps us where we could improve ourselves.
Plus mentioning our beautiful pool area/view helps our potential future guests for their room selections too.
I hope everything is wonderful with you and please contact us if there is anything we could help you in the future.
Thank you very much, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just a one night stay booked through Hotwire, but we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. Rooms at the back have mountain views and the location is convenient. Good to have a breakfast room with plenty of seating, rather than being squashed in the lobby as in some hotels. Hot tub was great after a day on our feet and plenty of space around the pool.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Good day, Alison.
First of all, thank you very much for fling your wonderful survey of our hotel.
I will share your good review to every staff at the hotel so we could encourage ourselves!
Have you tried our signature Cinnamon Rolls at breakfast?
If you haven't, I hope you return to our hotel in the future to try it!
Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The excellent customer service from Marea at the front desk alone makes us want to return. Great location for what we were in town for. Very nice and clean rooms we decided to stay an extra night. We had to change rooms but Marea gave us a suite which was right across the hall. She also found us a discount for it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegasdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, vegasdon!
We are trilled to provide great service to great people like yourself.
It does encourage us to do better job in the future with smiles!
If you are coming back to Palm Springs area in the future, please contact our hotel directly for the best deal possible!
Thank you very much again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here in November 2012 along with a huge group of my family members as we were in town to celebrate an 85th birthday. As the place where we had the party shut down before 11, we all went back to the hotel and they were nice enough to allow us to use their breakfast room area to continue our get together. It may not be a 5-star hotel, but we certainly found it quite adequate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Wow, thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel, Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City/Palm Springs.
I do apologize for late response but I am so glad that it worked out well for your group.
I try to accommodate our guests with what they need as much as possible.
When we could provide the service that you look for, it's a win-win situation!
Please do not hesitate to contact us for the future stay at our hotel and we will do our best to serve your needs.
Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here the first weekend in Nov and had a very nice visit. The room was comfortable and attractive, as well as clean. The buffet breakfast was plentiful, fresh, and filling. It definitely was a good way to start the day. We thought the staff was exceptional; from the sweet woman at check-in to the dining room people to the maintenance personnel everyone was very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for my needs. I liked that there were a number of stores and restaurants nearby. We had a pleasant stay and will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montour19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE-CC, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hello,
Thank you for completing your survey.
I appreciate your time and concern and am very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
We strive our best to provide the better service for our guests as always.
I hope you have a great day and wish you would come and stay with us next time you are in Palm Springs area!
Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Palm Springs Cathedral City Golf Resort
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
2.9 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)

Address: 36101 Date Palm Dr, Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92234-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range: $102 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cathedral City is conveniently located in the heart of Palm Springs Valley. Our Cathedral City Hotel is a resort destination near Rancho Mirage, La Quinta, Palm Desert, Indian Wells, world class golf courses, spas, casinos, restaurants and shopping. While travelling to our hotel, you will be able to visit the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, Indian Canyon Trails, Spa Casino, Agua Caliente Casino, Cathedral Canyon Golf, PGA West Golf, Cabazon World Premium Outlet Mall, Knotts Soak City, Empire Polo Grounds, El Paseo Shopping District, The Living Desert and Joshua Tree National Park. This Holiday Inn Express Hotel is a host hotel for The Big League Dreams Sports Park. We are just minutes from the Palm Springs International Airport in CA. Also nearby Palm Springs Convention Center, Downtown shopping, restaurants, and Indian Wells Tennis Gardens. All leisure or business guests will enjoy our high speed, wireless and wired Internet and complimentary business center. Come experience our serene outdoor heated pool and whirlpool with a large deck and mountain views. Our hotel also features a workout room. Our 100% smoke free hotel features the comforts of home. From our resort style pool, wonderful cinnamon rolls, cookies in the lobby every evening, and the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, this hotel in Cathedral City, CA is sure to please. Swimming pools and Jacuzzi will be closed starting on July 9, 2017 and will re-open on July 18, 2017 as they are being repaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) Hotel Cathedral City
Holiday Inn Cathedral City
Cathedral City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing