We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Certificate of Excellence
santa maria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stayed one night”
Reviewed February 15, 2008

My work partner and I stayed one night there. The GM, I think her name was Melinda Jennings (?) was more than friendly and helpful. Her evening staff were equally as helpful in directing us where to eat.

The rooms were exceptionally clean and well kept. I like the new bedding style. No more cooties in the bedspreads, SINCE THERE ARE NONE, and no more worrying about sanitation in the drinking glasses since they are now styrofoam and sani-wrapped.

Simple, but WORRY FREE. That's what I liked about it.

Breakfast (included) was as good as could be expected for having a minimal kitchen. I can't complain, it was included.

There are plenty of eateries nearby and I particularly liked Luther's BBQ joint in the next plaza. Friendly owner and good chow.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank timroberts214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    105
    37
    12
    14
See reviews for
82
92
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2008

Pretty standard HI Express ... good for the stop over use traveling during longer trips. Not sure it would be very comfortable for longer stays. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room noise from room next door slightly loud through connector door. Wireless internet seemed to be intermittent or not able to handle number of users.

  • Liked — locations and price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mattkc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2007

Stayed here for one night while visiting Palm Springs. Location was good. Went to top of Mount Jacinto and used this hotel as a base. Convenient to groceries and restaurants. Room was clean. Staff was very friendly. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank goo0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow,Az
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

This hotel was just wonderful from check in to check out. The area around the hotel was nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There were warm cookies which was a hit for the children of our group. The pool area was nice and clean and very enjoyable due to it being heated. The rooms were very clean. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Amarquez2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

We stayed here for one night the end of October to break up a long journey between Tucson and LA.

We arrived a little before the 4pm check in but were allocated our rooms quickly. The staff were friendly and efficient.

We paid $110.00 on a late booking a few days before but felt it was pretty good value.

Upon arrival the hotel lobby and dining room were decorated with halloween pumpkins and fall coloured flowers. Our young daughters were delighted.

The rooms were very spacious. We did not have a fridge on arrival (they are not standard in rooms only suites) The staff delivered one to us on request within 10 minutes though free of charge.

The room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom had wonderfully strong jets on the power shower .

The hotel is situated maybe 10 minutes drive from Central Palm Springs. I feel you do need a car for this hotel as there is not alot restaurant/shop wise within walking distance.

There is an Albertsons supermarket next door which is great for stocking up on drinks and snacks.
There is an AM/PM gas station directly in front of the hotel.

The pool area is stunning with jet sprays shooting up from the lovely warm pool. Our daughters said this was one of the nicest pools they had ever been in.

There is also a coin op laundry which is handy when travelling with kids.

Breakfast is continental style and plentiful and fresh. If you drink hot English tea bring your own tea bags as the hotel only do Green tea.

All in all a good hotel,not the very best location for downtown Palm Springs but great for a short comfortable relaxing stop over.

We would stay here if ever in the area again.

  • Liked — Lovely pool area.
  • Disliked — A lack of many food outlets within walking distance
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank WelshLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

This is a modern, clean hotel which we chose for its convenient location, just off Hwy 111. You know what you're getting in a Hoilday Inn Express and this delivers it all - although the breakfast choice was perhaps below average for the chain, everything else matched up. Sound proofing of rooms was slightly inadequate as we could hear noise from other rooms. The best choice for dining seemed to be a small complex called 'The River' in Rancho Mirage - about 2 miles from the hotel on Hwy 111 - where there were four dining options - Piero's Acqua Pazza, Cheesecake Factory, PF Chang's and Babe's. We ate al fresco at the first of these and had a great meal (I can strongly recommend it!)

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank loseapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

I was pleasently surprised at how nice this hotel was. We booked it last minute and got a very nice room that had a view of the pool. But then again all the back rooms have a pool view. I loved the sheets and comforters on the bed and the soft and firm pillows were probably my favorite. It's a nice neat and simple hotel that I will deffinitly stay at again.
And the cinnamon rolls a pretty good.

  • Liked — The sheets and pillows
  • Disliked — Breakfast ends at 10am
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Roseperia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Palm Springs-Cathedral City Golf Resort
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
Address: 36101 Date Palm Dr, Cathedral City, CA 92234-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cathedral City is conveniently located in the heart of Palm Springs Valley. Our Cathedral City Hotel is a resort destination near Rancho Mirage, La Quinta, Palm Desert, Indian Wells, world class golf courses, spas, casinos, restaurants and shopping. While travelling to our hotel, you will be able to visit the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, Indian Canyon Trails, Spa Casino, Agua Caliente Casino, Cathedral Canyon Golf, PGA West Golf, Cabazon World Premium Outlet Mall, Knotts Soak City, Empire Polo Grounds, El Paseo Shopping District, The Living Desert and Joshua Tree National Park. This Holiday Inn Express Hotel is a host hotel for The Big League Dreams Sports Park. We are just minutes from the Palm Springs International Airport in CA. Also nearby Palm Springs Convention Center, Downtown shopping, restaurants, and Indian Wells Tennis Gardens. All leisure or business guests will enjoy our high speed, wireless and wired Internet and complimentary business center. Come experience our serene outdoor heated pool and whirlpool with a large deck and mountain views. Our hotel also features a workout room. Our 100% smoke free hotel features the comforts of home. From our resort style pool, wonderful cinnamon rolls, cookies in the lobby every evening, and the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, this hotel in Cathedral City, CA is sure to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) Hotel Cathedral City
Holiday Inn Cathedral City
Cathedral City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing