We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Beautiful pool area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Beautiful pool area.”
Reviewed November 6, 2007

We stayed here for one night the end of October to break up a long journey between Tucson and LA.

We arrived a little before the 4pm check in but were allocated our rooms quickly. The staff were friendly and efficient.

We paid $110.00 on a late booking a few days before but felt it was pretty good value.

Upon arrival the hotel lobby and dining room were decorated with halloween pumpkins and fall coloured flowers. Our young daughters were delighted.

The rooms were very spacious. We did not have a fridge on arrival (they are not standard in rooms only suites) The staff delivered one to us on request within 10 minutes though free of charge.

The room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom had wonderfully strong jets on the power shower .

The hotel is situated maybe 10 minutes drive from Central Palm Springs. I feel you do need a car for this hotel as there is not alot restaurant/shop wise within walking distance.

There is an Albertsons supermarket next door which is great for stocking up on drinks and snacks.
There is an AM/PM gas station directly in front of the hotel.

The pool area is stunning with jet sprays shooting up from the lovely warm pool. Our daughters said this was one of the nicest pools they had ever been in.

There is also a coin op laundry which is handy when travelling with kids.

Breakfast is continental style and plentiful and fresh. If you drink hot English tea bring your own tea bags as the hotel only do Green tea.

All in all a good hotel,not the very best location for downtown Palm Springs but great for a short comfortable relaxing stop over.

We would stay here if ever in the area again.

  • Liked — Lovely pool area.
  • Disliked — A lack of many food outlets within walking distance
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank WelshLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    109
    38
    12
    14
See reviews for
85
93
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

This is a modern, clean hotel which we chose for its convenient location, just off Hwy 111. You know what you're getting in a Hoilday Inn Express and this delivers it all - although the breakfast choice was perhaps below average for the chain, everything else matched up. Sound proofing of rooms was slightly inadequate as we could hear noise from other rooms. The best choice for dining seemed to be a small complex called 'The River' in Rancho Mirage - about 2 miles from the hotel on Hwy 111 - where there were four dining options - Piero's Acqua Pazza, Cheesecake Factory, PF Chang's and Babe's. We ate al fresco at the first of these and had a great meal (I can strongly recommend it!)

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank loseapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

I was pleasently surprised at how nice this hotel was. We booked it last minute and got a very nice room that had a view of the pool. But then again all the back rooms have a pool view. I loved the sheets and comforters on the bed and the soft and firm pillows were probably my favorite. It's a nice neat and simple hotel that I will deffinitly stay at again.
And the cinnamon rolls a pretty good.

  • Liked — The sheets and pillows
  • Disliked — Breakfast ends at 10am
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Roseperia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

If this were just another bland McHotel stay then I probably wouldn't be writing a review. The Holiday Inn Express in Cathedral City is a basic vanilla hotel with absolutely nothing to distinguish it. Clean, modern and .....well, that's it. Two things have turned me into the person typing this. 1) a morning coffee arrangement with only non-dairy creamer products - the ultimate in cheap and "we can't be bothered to make even as much effort as the 7-11." I mean, please, I expect that at a Motel 6, but this is a Holiday Inn and I'm paying $125 a night so that I can go to a gas station to get an actual milk product in my morning coffee? 2) my real gripe involves a noisy pool. It is 10 pm right now and there are 8 kids screaming at the top of their lungs down at the pool. I ask the front desk if they can either move me to a room on the other side of the hotel or ask the people at the pool to stop screaming. Hotel front desk response, "we are fully booked up and the pool is open till 11 pm." So, fine. Stay here at your own risk and pray that there are no inconsiderate parents who don't think there is anything wrong with having their children SCREAMING at 10 pm in public. The hotel management is cheap and utterly uninterested in making any effort at keeping your fellow guests civil.

  • Liked — Clean, well appointed rooms
  • Disliked — screaming kids at night at the pool
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CalifTrav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2007

Seems better than the average Holiday Inn Express.

Definately well into the 3* category. Friendly staff, nice pool & spa area, clean/newer rooms & building, backs on to a very wide dry river bed so back/pool side is quiet and open. Albertson's for grcoeries is next door & Nicolini's excellent Italian restaurant is a short walk up the street. Lots of other palces to shop/eat/browse are nearby.

Very nice bfast included. Even learned the secret to get "hot" hard boiled eggs.

Stayed for well under $100 on an "off the record" deal through Easyclick.com.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank 4star-at-2star-price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern US State
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2006

Ok...we're here as we speak...and feel the need to write this NOW!

Wait, that lead-in sounds frightfull, but it shouldn't. Driving through the neighborhood to get here wasn't an overly warm experience, however, once in the parking lot and in to the front door, things were looking up. The lobby area is very nice, with lots of amenities, business center, comfortable lounge area, and cleaner than a whistle!

The hallways look refurbed, clean and fresh smelling. Security system on the doors is comforting (not to suggest the hotel interiors are not safe, but it's a nice feature). The rooms are very spacious (for Holiday Inns). We have a 2-bed suite, equipped with a small microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker, eating table, business desk, and pull-out couch. The bathroom looks very new (refurbed), with a large tub/shower, and spacious bathroom access. The carpetting and scent of the rooms is fresh and comfortable.

The only major issue I have is the breakfast. It is very disappointing with only commercially packaged "snacks" like Twinkies, Otis muffins, and cinnamin rolls. There are juices, water, hot water, coffee, some fruit. There are no bagles/bread, no cereals (other than hot cereals), and so on. It just was very disappointing. The explanation is that "we are changing...maybe next week".

Anyways, for the rate...and the accommodations, I recommend this hotel, but plan accordingly for the "Continental breakfast".

Bon Voyage!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank northerndynasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2006

This hotel has little to offer other than a decent free breakfast, pleasant staff, and free internet pc access in the lobby. It's the typical Holiday Inn Express building, cold and utilitarian. The walls are thin. The beds and pillows are low quality. The location isn't convenient to anything except strip mall shopping.

  • Liked — Pleasant hotel staff
  • Disliked — Drab uncomfortable room
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marybs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Palm Springs Cathedral City Golf Resort
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
2.9 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
913 reviews
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
Address: 36101 Date Palm Dr, Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92234-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cathedral City is conveniently located in the heart of Palm Springs Valley. Our Cathedral City Hotel is a resort destination near Rancho Mirage, La Quinta, Palm Desert, Indian Wells, world class golf courses, spas, casinos, restaurants and shopping. While travelling to our hotel, you will be able to visit the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, Indian Canyon Trails, Spa Casino, Agua Caliente Casino, Cathedral Canyon Golf, PGA West Golf, Cabazon World Premium Outlet Mall, Knotts Soak City, Empire Polo Grounds, El Paseo Shopping District, The Living Desert and Joshua Tree National Park. This Holiday Inn Express Hotel is a host hotel for The Big League Dreams Sports Park. We are just minutes from the Palm Springs International Airport in CA. Also nearby Palm Springs Convention Center, Downtown shopping, restaurants, and Indian Wells Tennis Gardens. All leisure or business guests will enjoy our high speed, wireless and wired Internet and complimentary business center. Come experience our serene outdoor heated pool and whirlpool with a large deck and mountain views. Our hotel also features a workout room. Our 100% smoke free hotel features the comforts of home. From our resort style pool, wonderful cinnamon rolls, cookies in the lobby every evening, and the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, this hotel in Cathedral City, CA is sure to please. Swimming pools and Jacuzzi will be closed starting on July 9, 2017 and will re-open on July 18, 2017 as they are being repaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) Hotel Cathedral City
Holiday Inn Cathedral City
Cathedral City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing