We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good pizza, rigid on seating policy”

Giuseppe's Pizza & Pasta
Ranked #19 of 133 Restaurants in Cathedral City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good pizza, rigid on seating policy”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

There were 2 of us who were celebrating a birthday. We arrived early on a weekday at around 5:45 pm and there was only 2 other tables seated. The table for 2's are very small so we asked to be seated at a table of 4.....We were declined and basically told they absolutely could NOT sit us at a table larger than 2 as the larger tables needed to be saved for larger parties. We sat at a table of 2...ordered a large pizza....had very little room to eat as the pizza pan took up most of the table. However the pizza was very good and I will go back again...just will not go back when there are only 2 of us. (p.s. when we left there were plenty of tables of 4 available!)

p.s. this review is for their 2nd Giuseppe's restaurant on E. Palm Canyon Rd, Palm Springs

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmmer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not as good as people said it would be”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Small deep dish Chicago style – used crushed tomatoes on top (about ¾” thick)-was like eating stewed tomatoes out of a can – no idea if the pizza tasted any good because all you could taste was tomatoes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank djodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cute Place!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We came by for lunch on a weekday and were very pleased by the friendly staff and the very good pizza that we shared. We will return when next in the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank S12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It actually tastes like Chicago pizza!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

First time since moving to CA that found a restaurant that says it makes Chicgo pizza and it actually tastes like it for real. Was a great surprise and delight as had given up on pizza in CA. Had the thin crust with my favorite toppings. Service was good and it was a friendly place with positive atmosphere. Now want to go back and try some of other dishes. You wouldn't expect this to be so good being in a mall setting but it is and I am picky since I'm from Chicago. My friend ordered the salmon on top of a Ceaser salad and said that was delicious too. Prices are moderate and portions large. Had enough pizza to take home and eat for two more meals. I will go back to try mores as cant stop thinking about how good it was.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panguitch, Utah
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lots of vegetarian choices”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was our second time here in the last couple years and I wish we hadn't waited so long to go back. We sat outdoors on their nice little patio and had a very attentive waiter named George.

We ordered the bruschetta as an appetizer and it was the absolute best ever. I'd never had it the way they do it and I'm hooked. The topping was so flavorful with nice slices of wonderful garlic....where do they get that kind of garlic? It's not like what I buy at the store.

The Mr. was very happy with his antipasto salad and I had a hard time choosing between more vegetarian choices than I'm used to.

I finally settled on the Portabello Mushroom Raviolis in Marsala Sauce....sheer heaven. We used the wonderful house-baked bread to sop up the last of the bruschetta and the marsala sauces.

Topped the whole thing off sharing a slice of Spumoni ice cream pie...delish!!!

Unfortunately we are leaving for the summer and won't be back till next winter but I can't wait to go to Giuseppe's again.

(Note: I said it has a "scenic view" which is mostly true... if you ignore the parking lot and enjoy the nearby mountains and the palms.)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCookieLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuseppe's Pizza & Pasta also viewed

 
Cathedral City, CA
Cathedral City, CA
 

Been to Giuseppe's Pizza & Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing