We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't as good as prior visit”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Picanha Churrascaria - Cathedral City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Shopper Hopper
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wasn't as good as prior visit”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We had eaten at Picanha our last trip out here and it was fantastic. This time, it was decidedly average, as the quality of the meats were not near as good as the previous time. The service started out painfully slow as they only had one gaucho carving, until the manager also began serving people. After the beginning, service was fine. Our waitress, Juliana, was excellent; providing water, ice tea and rolls as needed.

This type of restaurant isn't everyone's cup of tea, but I am a big fan of the carved meats and was disappointed with the quality. They had churassco beef, sirloin, garlic steak and chicken, bbq chicken and ribs, as well as pork and lamb. So the selection was there but the quality just wasn't what I had come to expect. We may give it another try if we're back out this way, but it isn't on our "must do" list anymore. The salad bar is also very small and uninspired.

Note that arrival prior to 6:30 shaves about 20% off the cost, bringing it down from $32 to $26 per person.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobbyb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best food and service was amazing!”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We went here in late August and had the privilege of enjoying their summer pricing! We tried 10 different meats, all of them were wonderful, but my favorite was the spicy chicken! The chef even came out of the kitchen to discuss the herbs he uses in the chicken! The staff was so very attentive and beyond helpful! I will be back and it won't be soon enough!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brahma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Brazilian Restaurant Around”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I have been to multiple Brazilian restaurants from Hollywood to Scottsdale to Miami and this one was the worst. Their salad bar was like a Sizzler, the meat was over done and the service lacked everything.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrahmaToptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“if you are hungry -- a meat lovers delight”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

A bit pricey but if you have a big appetite it is not a bad deal. They have a well stocked salad bar and keep bringing the different skewers of meat around. The $30 price per person does not include drinks or desert but the meat keeps comming. We enjoyed it very much and thought the price was not too far out of line even though we are not big eaters.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerleg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
“Not good and deceptive”
Reviewed January 26, 2010

At Picanha, you everyone pays the same (high) price, and is served by men carrying skewers of meat (mainly chicken – 5 chicken choices the night we went). Be careful, drinks and dessert are not included in the price of your meal – and they don’t tell you this. The drinks and dessert are very expensive. The salad bar was pathetic, nothing like advertised. The meat was low-grade, very fatty. At the end of our meal, we were asked if we wanted dessert. Since the dessert choices were displayed as part of the all you can eat salad bar (which was included in the price of the meal), we assumed that dessert was included, so we saved room and both ordered dessert (which we never do). Much to our surprise, when the bill arrived, we discovered that the desserts were extra, and quite expensive. We felt duped. It is deceptive to display the desserts on the salad bar and not explain that they are extra. Every other restaurant I’ve been to had a dessert menu with prices. This restaurant does not have a dessert menu, and the server did not tell us the desserts were extra, or even how much they cost. As we were on a budget, we would not have ordered dessert if we knew they were extra. I will never go back to Picanha.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vacationing_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picanha Churrascaria - Cathedral City also viewed

Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
 
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
 
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing