We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best BBQ Brisket” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Texan BBQ - CLOSED

Central Texan BBQ
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best BBQ Brisket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to have some of the best BBQ brisket. I am typically a pork rib person but I do recommend the beef brisket on this occasion. My son and I stopped in early evening and immediately knew we were in a great restaurant. The owner was behind the counter and certified he was a Texan- in spite of being short in stature. He was a great host- along with his courteous staff. Great food, great service and a perfect setting make this one of our best food ventures. We plan a return visit on our return to Santa Cruz. This is a must do restaurant- one of a kind experience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cahbanker H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Food and service the same since 1986.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Best brisket EVER! First met Cowboy Don when I was stationed at Fort Ord. Took then wife and son in, and Don entertained 3 yr old with cowboy tall tales. Went back in 2002. Same great food and service. back again in July. Def. worth the drive south from SF, North from Monterey, Carmel or Santa Cruz. Don't let this out, but as a native Tar Heel from a state who glorifies its BarBQ, we prefer Central Texan.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Virago6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Brisket, and the Funky Ambience, Are Worth the Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

There's a lot of good food in the Monterey Peninsula area. But as a local transplanted from the South, I get an occasional hankering for BBQ, and there aren't many options. The best is in Castroville (up Highway 1 from Monterey on the way to Santa Cruz), with the unlikely name of Central Texan Barbecue.

Once you step through the door, you definitely feel you've left the Central California Coast. There is actual sawdust on the floor. The walls are blackened from the perpetual smoking of meat. There are crock pots on the counter with corn-on-the-cob and (very good) pinto beans. And then there's the meat ordering station, where more often than not, the owner, a grizzled old guy from Austin, will chat you up, offer you samples of whatever he's smoked that day, and in general entertain you.

I've tried all sorts of pork cuts at Central, but the prize is the beef brisket, amazingly tender. You can order a sandwich, a plate, or bulk. Being from Georgia, I'm not the biggest fan of Texas-style BBQ, but this is some pretty good stuff, reasonably priced, and significantly better (and cheaper) than some of the other joints advertising Q on the Peninsula. And the atmosphere is a nice change from Carmel or Pebble Beach.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoastpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Smoked food from Texas, mmmmmm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

This is a Texas BBQ house 100%. The wirey owner guy is a master. Why is this place in Castroville? I have no idea as it does not fit at all but I'm glad it's there. Did I mention the owner is a master? He is a BBQ circuit class pit boss for sure but he's an odd acting dude. Anyway, they have a salad bar that pretty much sucks but the greens and dressings are fresh. This is pretty much how it works; forget the menu hanging from the ceiling as you walk in as the guy is going to give you what he wants anyway. Grab a tray, stand in front of the oven (as you're not real sure where to go). Say you want beef or pork or both, slide the tray down toward the register and hand them 20 bucks and they'll give you a few dollars back. You'll enjoy world class smoked BBQ and admire all of the stuff on the walls. Willy Nelson loves the place and Clint Eastwood drops in once a year or so. I seriously do not suggest you go after dark on a Friday or Saturday night remember where you are at. Castroville is dangerous! During the day is fine :)

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WideloadShipping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Texas BBQ as close as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

I have been going to this place for at least 20 years. It used ot be up the block until they built their own building about 10 years ago. This is central texas bbq. It is all about the meat. Try the Beef Rib if they have it going, Prime RIb Beef bone with plenty of meat on it and also of course plenty of fat. The sausage is different, he makes it on the dry side and doesn't add a lot of extra fat, it doesn't squirt oil but I like it. On the lighter side they have turkey, chicken and pork shoulder, again this isn't Mepmphis or Carolina style pork butt which is a lot fattier this is sliced pork meat. In real central Texas bbq they don't allow sauce in the restaurants, this place has given in and provides sauce at the tables. The place is family run and very friendly so if you are worried that the brisket is dry, which it can be sometimes, just ask Don ( the older guy cuttng the meat, looks like Willie Nelsons cousin, he is the owner) what is good and he will find it for you. Nice people, If you are friendly to Don and talk to him a little he will start teasing your group especially the women and children, really nice guy. Castroville isn't exactly known for its restaurants and this is a good one if you want to try real Central Texas style BBQ .

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trotter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Texan BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing