We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”

Trolly Car Rotisserie
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Castroville
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Riverside, California
2 reviews
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I ordered tri tip sandwich and it was so, so good. I also had their chocolate pudding for my dessert and it was fresh and piping hot with ice cream it is to die for. The price was really reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helinghans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castroville, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bings”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very good food like you find at upscale restaurant in Monterey. Not enough location. limited space and parking.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Selva Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best tri-tip ever!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our neighbor recommended the Trolly Car so we stopped in. I had the best tri-tip sandwich with jicama coleslaw for lunch. Will definitely come back for dinner and will try their take-out dinners. Cute trolley with minimal atmosphere inside

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarabroadbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue, Friendly service”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our favorite BBQ in all of Northern California! Stumbled onto this place after a couple disappointing visits to Central Texas BBQ up the road -- now Trolley Car is a highlight of every trip we make that brings us anywhere close to Castroville. The tri-tip is excellent, both as a sandwich and as an entree. Rotisserie chicken and BBQ brisket also very good. Have to mention their fries too -- nothing unique, just really, really good fries done right. Menu has quite a few other options for such a small place, including ribs, burgers, sausage, and even a fish special on the days we stopped in -- would love to try more of their menu, but their tri-tip is just so good that we just can't pass on it.
Atmosphere is definitely a "down-home" family-run type place -- a bit plain, but the front (made from an actual trolley car) makes it almost (but not quite) "quaint". Service however is excellent and very friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch---local surprise.!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

After traveling up the Pacific coastal highway,we were quite hungry and located this diner in TripAdvisor. It was quaint, offered delicious food, and the service was friendly and efficient. We also learned we had happened upon the artichoke capital of the world. We really enjoyed the local fare and reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kjesmonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trolly Car Rotisserie also viewed

 

Been to Trolly Car Rotisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing