We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast in Castro Valley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doug's Place

Doug's Place
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Castro Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have breakfast and lunch here often. The service is good and the food is great. Simply awesome omelets and in general, their breakfast options and sandwiches are great. Castro Valley does not have a lot to offer on the food front, but Doug's is definitely a keeper!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cleanengen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    35
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place for breakfast ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Really nice place, good value, good food. Might be packed at times, bec they are a good place to eat at.
Take your family there.

Helpful?
Thank Radu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We go here for breakfast once each week. The employees are great. The food is average, but good. It is a casual location that is good for everyone.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, CA,USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good platters of food, if you can get them”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The food is the strongest point here, with Cheesecake Factory portions of competently executed standard breakfasts. The omelettes have ample fillings barely covered by a delicate egg shroud, and the home fries are properly golden brown. Hash browns could use some salt, and the silver-dollar pancakes were overcooked.

We would have been happy except for our server, who stopped by four times to let us know he would be with us in a second. The first time is a kindness, but subsequent repetition has the opposite effect. When he turned his attention to us, he was personable and accurate, and he was hustling the whole time, but it's hard to make up for being ignored that long. I would go back if I were in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wnissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great meal and outstanding staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have been here many times, they do breakfast right, and the staff all work together. Most places have servers who only work with their tables, everyone here treats you like you are their special guest. I've been here about a dozen times and this place NEVER lets me down.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank chumsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doug's Place also viewed

 

Been to Doug's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing