We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Professional”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Castro Valley
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Service was very bad. People who work at the Econo Lodge does't speak English. Room was not clean, dark , traffic noise,

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

Everything was clean and well maintained. When we arrived we were upgraded to a king Jacuzzi suite. The upgrade was free but it cost $20 to turn on the jacuzzi. That wasn't important to us but it seemed pretty cheap of them to do that. Everything was clean and quiet. We had a good time.I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Pool was CLOSED. WIFI worked if you got a room in the OFFICE. Toilet and tile floor were cracked.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We were at the end of a tiring vacation and I was so pleased with our stay at Econo Lodge. We got in rather late but the clerk was pleasant, the room was clean (and no smoke smell) as were the grounds and walkways. I was not aware of other travelers or traffic noise and was able to sleep in until 8:30 (as did my daughter, who is notorius for waking at the first noise). Fresh coffee and juice and we were on our way again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cezme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

I was there for a family gathering and other family members came in from out of town. The

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysfyts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

The place has a great location and the price is reasonable enough. The managers don't speak or understand much English. We had a room with a jacuzzi tub and TV in the bathroom that I got all psyched out to try, had my glass of wine, filled the tub and then almost broke my neck trying to reach the tiny tv and to my dismay, it did not work so I thought, ok, so what, I will relax in the jetted tub but to my dismay, it didn't work either. I asked the manager about it and was told " no work" and that was that.
Breakfast was day old donuts and terrible coffee and juice.
I will stay there again because it is near relatives and the price is right but I would not want to stay there for a real vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

Dirtiest hotel ever. The wifi only worked in certain areas of the hotel room, so you couldn't sit in bed with your laptop to use it. There was no iron. There was a bloodstain on the comforter and brown stains that looked like feces on the blanket. Loud fan in the bathroom. The owner/night desk worker was creepy.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank medcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro Valley
0.0 mi away
Castro Valley Inn
Castro Valley Inn
#3 of 5 in Castro Valley
63 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay
3.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive Hayward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn Hayward Hotel
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dublin
Holiday Inn Dublin
#3 of 6 in Dublin
243 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oakland - Hayward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3928 E Castro Valley Blvd, Castro Valley, CA 94552-4811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Castro Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Castro Valley
Price Range: $83 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Castro Valley
Econo Lodge Castro Valley
Castro Valley Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing