We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Suites Inn at Castro Valley, California near Oakland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Castro Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfort Suites Inn at Castro Valley, California near Oakland”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was on a work assignment and was assigned to a job site located 15 minutes north of the Inn. We worked 10 to 12 hours 6 days a week. The Inn worked with us to provide an early cold breakfast which was very appreciated. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were spacious and allowed space for computer use. TV viewing was good offering many channels and sports offerings. The rooms were always clean and well maintained. The area is quite and little if any noise can be herd between the room walls and hallway. The staff was very friendly and able to help you and offer suggestions for dining and areas to visit on the weekends and how to best get there. They treated me with friendly attitudes and a smile. They made my long term visit very pleasant.

Room Tip: I shoose a king bed in a suite. It offered more room than two queens in one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Greetings!

I am so pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be accommodating to your needs. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests mention positive things about the bed or TV's in our rooms. We believe it is important that all our guests sleep comfortably in a Serta-Elite Plush mattress and watch their favorite shows on a 37inch Flat Panel High-Definition TV with plenty of sport and HBO movie channels. Our housekeeping staff does a fantastic job in keeping the hotel spotless and I will certainly pass along your wonderful review to them and our Front Desk Staff. We appreciate your business and hope that you keep us in mind on your next visit to Castro Valley, CA.

Warm Regards,

Omar Ansari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    44
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
74
38
24
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is a very good hotel. The location is excellent, the internet service is outstanding (even for business means), the staff is great and the housekeeping was also excellent. It's probably one of the best all around hotels I've stayed in for a long time. There really isn't anything that I can think of that is a negative other than the breakfast could be a little better. But it's free and just like other hotels that offer free breakfast. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner suites. They are about $20.00 more, but worth the extra width and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review about your recent stay at our hotel. Our location, service, and amenities are prime factors for our current and prospective guests. Judging from your feedback, I can see the money we spent to upgrade our Wi-Fi was well worth it. We really appreciate your warm compliments about our staff members! They truly work so hard to make sure our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay. We value your business and look forward to serving you once again.

Best Regards,

Omar Ansari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We started our San Fransisco vacation at another location which didn't work out for several reasons, after checking into other locations we found friendly helpful Omar Ansari at this hotel he got us into a great room he was helpful and considerate after our bad experience at the other hotel, all of the staff is friendly and considerate and made our stay that much better it is not hard to understand why this hotel has such a high rating after I found out our last hotel had a 30% rating things started making sense Thank you Omar and you staff for making our stay that much better - The Hill Family

Room Tip: Stay towards the front of the hotel quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Greetings Rich!

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us. It was my pleasure to assist you and your family during your visit and I am thrilled to hear that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. My dedicated team and I make it a priority to ensure our guests are well taken care of and I am happy that you were able to experience exemplary service from our staff members. We appreciate your business and hope that you keep us in mind on your next visit to Castro Valley, CA.

Best Regards,

Omar Ansari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was a nice hotel. Quiet and very clean. The breakfast was tasty.
The staff was really very friendly and were accomodating trying to get two rooms near each other so our family could go back and forth between the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at our hotel. It is always nice to hear when a guest enjoys their stay with us and I hope that we were able to exceed your expectations. I will certainly pass on your lovely review to the rest of my team as I am sure they will be happy to know that their efforts are appreciated. We value your business and hope that you keep us in mind on your next visit to Castro Valley, CA.

Best Regards,

Omar Ansari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our accommodations were excellent. The staff were very friendly and professional. Our breakfast was presented in a clean and helpful manor. Omar Ansari, manager, was always very helpful in directing us to the various areas we needed to be. Overall, I would be happy to recommend this Comfort Suites to any traveler.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms were wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Virginia,

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the warm compliments. Our staff members and I strive to provide our guests with exemplary service and I am thrilled that your experience at our hotel was an excellent one. We appreciate your business and hope that you keep us in mind on your next visit to Castro Valley, CA.

Warm Regards,

Omar Ansari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Decided to spend a couple of nights here on our visit to SF due to the lower prices and the positive reviews. The hotel room was nice and the staff were friendly, so no complaints there. The easiest way to get to San Francisco itself is to use the BART system (subway). If you don't have a car, you have to prepare to walk about 20 minutes to get there. If you have a car, you can drive to said BART station and leave it there for only 1.5 USD a day.

But back to the hotel...the place was nice and we were surprised to learn that the breakfast was included in the price. Not something that happens a lot in the US! However, that being said, the breakfast was disappointing. The selection was poor and the taste was so-so. Presentation as well. If you want a sandwich, you pretty much have to put some kind of jam on it as the selection is so limited. On the other hand, it IS free, so I suppose it is better than nothing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found the BART station to be convenient for your travel needs. It is a very short distance from our hotel and a great alternative to driving to San Francisco. I also appreciate your comments about our breakfast. We take our guests feedback very seriously because it helps us find ways to improve the services/amenities we provide. Rest assured that I will look into improving the quality of our breakfast to meet the needs of our guests. We appreciate your business and hope that you keep us in mind on your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area.

Yours in Service,

Omar Ansari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is highly recommended especially for a team travel. The front desk to housekeeping was amazing. They were very helpful to us and made our stay very pleasant. Our team was able to utilize areas for team meetings and the staff was very accommodating. They also were very helpful of the area and always knew where to direct us far as locations. I must say this was one of the cleanest hotels, don't let the outside fool you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Greetings Tanisha!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write this review. We enjoyed having your team stay with us and I hope everything was above satisfactory. I appreciate your compliments about our staff and service and I will certainly pass along your wonderful review to my team. We value your business and hope that you keep us in mind for the next tournament.

Best Regars,

Omar Ansari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro Valley
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Oakland-Hayward
2.2 mi away
Castro Valley Inn
Castro Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Castro Valley
61 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Hayward
5.4 mi away
The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Hayward Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay
Address: 2419 Castro Valley Blvd, Castro Valley, CA 94546-5119 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Castro Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Castro Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing the new Holiday Inn Express in Castro Valley, featuring 54 newly remodeled comfortable, spacious, and convenient rooms which are all 100% smoke-free and pet-free. We offer our guests complimentary Express Start breakfast, 24hr Front Desk, In-door Sauna, and a 24hr Fitness Facility. Free High speed Wi-Fi is available to all our guests. 37Inch Flat Panel HD TV's are installed in all our rooms, along with Serta-Elite Plush Mattresses. Newly built Market Place available to our guests. Our hotel is centrally located in the East Bay, CA in a desirable and friendly neighborhood with plenty of restaurants and fun activities nearby such as Lake Chabot Regional Park, (Fishing & Boating) Oakland Coliseum, Golfland Golden Tee, Willow Park Golf Course and much more! The Holiday Inn Express, Castro Valley hotel is committed to achieving exemplary guest satisfaction, and we look forward to providing you with quality customer service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Castro Valley
Comfort Suites Castro Valley
Castro Valley Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing