We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel outside of SF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Castro Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel outside of SF”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Decided to spend a couple of nights here on our visit to SF due to the lower prices and the positive reviews. The hotel room was nice and the staff were friendly, so no complaints there. The easiest way to get to San Francisco itself is to use the BART system (subway). If you don't have a car, you have to prepare to walk about 20 minutes to get there. If you have a car, you can drive to said BART station and leave it there for only 1.5 USD a day.

But back to the hotel...the place was nice and we were surprised to learn that the breakfast was included in the price. Not something that happens a lot in the US! However, that being said, the breakfast was disappointing. The selection was poor and the taste was so-so. Presentation as well. If you want a sandwich, you pretty much have to put some kind of jam on it as the selection is so limited. On the other hand, it IS free, so I suppose it is better than nothing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found the BART station to be convenient for your travel needs. It is a very short distance from our hotel and a great alternative to driving to San Francisco. I also appreciate your comments about our breakfast. We take our guests feedback very seriously because it helps us find ways to improve the services/amenities we provide. Rest assured that I will look into improving the quality of our breakfast to meet the needs of our guests. We appreciate your business and hope that you keep us in mind on your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area.

Yours in Service,

Omar Ansari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    43
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
74
37
24
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is highly recommended especially for a team travel. The front desk to housekeeping was amazing. They were very helpful to us and made our stay very pleasant. Our team was able to utilize areas for team meetings and the staff was very accommodating. They also were very helpful of the area and always knew where to direct us far as locations. I must say this was one of the cleanest hotels, don't let the outside fool you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Greetings Tanisha!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write this review. We enjoyed having your team stay with us and I hope everything was above satisfactory. I appreciate your compliments about our staff and service and I will certainly pass along your wonderful review to my team. We value your business and hope that you keep us in mind for the next tournament.

Best Regars,

Omar Ansari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay with any sports team because of their large and spacious rooms. The property manager was great to work with when booking rooms for 2 different soccer teams and helped accommodate all of the special requests. I definitely would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Cory,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. It was our pleasure to host your soccer team and I am pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be spacious and the staff accommodating. We value your business and hope that you keep us in mind for next year's Rage College Showcase event!

Best Regards,

Omar Ansari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The location was very convenient for my purposes. It was an easy drive from SFO International Airport. The king bed suite was clean and spacious, more than enough room had my family of 4 been traveling with me. Omar, the manager, was so very helpful, attentive and gracious after I stupidly locked myself out of my room. He and a maintenance worker also worked quickly to unclog the sinks in my room and in an adjoining one.

The complimentary breakfast was simple and convenient; hotel room also had a coffeemaker, mini fridge and microwave.

Overall, it was a very well-kept hotel in a good location, with excellent service with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suechinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello Sue,

Thank you very much for the lovely review! I am pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be convenient and easy for your needs. I really appreciate your patience in regards to unclogging the sink in your room and I hope that we were diligent in trying to resolve that issue. It was our pleasure to host you and your family and I truely hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your business and look forward to serving you once again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Omar Ansari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in. Has a convenience area that sells different food items including microwaveable meals , nice touch. It has a hot tub but it was out of order during our stay. The only real problem I had that there were no room darkening curtains in our room , 403 , which is on the front of the building to block out the afternoon sun and the spotlights shining on the building. The breakfast was very good.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jloeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for providing us feedback following your recent stay with us! I appreciate you pointing out the cleanliness of our hotel, it is imperative for our guests to have a hotel with clean rooms and facilities during their stay. For future reference, please contact the front desk with any problems you may encounter in your room. We do have black out curtains, although a little hard to see at first, in all our rooms behind the regular curtains. We value your business and hope that you keep us in mind on your next visit to Castro Valley, CA.

Best Regards,

Omar Ansari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I went on a road trip from Seattle was to Disneyland and back up. We stopped at this hotel because we wanted to be near San Francisco without having to stay in the city. We called to make reservations three hours before our arrival and there was availability. The women on the phone I believe her name was chandrea or something like that was wonderful and when we walked in a couple hours later she remembered our conversation over the phone.

She was professional attentive and very nice! She gave us a brief idea of the area, restaurants, Bart and surrounding cities. The hotel was clean, VERY CLEAN! rooms were big and comfortable, all staff members were professional and really cared about our comfortability and stay.

The breakfast in the morning was great! Not like other hotels where breakfast is dinky. We had our choice of eggs, sausage , donuts, bagels, waffles, yogurt, cereal, oj, apple juice, coffee. The breakfast area was clean and neat.

We stayed for two nights and for only 140 a night it was WONDERFUL! I would highly recommend!!!!! The only downfall is that they have no pool BUT a 24 hr gym and everything else made it worth it! I was stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemgems1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for acknowleding the staff member who helped you over the phone and who also checked you in. Our dedicated staff members strive to provide all our guests with exemplary service and an enjoyable stay and I hope that we were able to exceed your expectations. We appreciate your reccommendation and hope that you keep us in mind on your next visit to Castro Valley, CA.


Warm Regards,

Omar Ansari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 7 weeks during and after my son's hospitalization in December. The rooms are spacious and comfortable but what sets this place apart is the staff, all of whom were wonderfully courteous, attentive and helpful.

I especially want to acknowledge Front Desk Manager Omar Ansari, who helped us enormously during a very difficult time. Omar is really the person who manages the whole deal at this location, and he is amazing. Omar treats every staff person with respect and cordiality yet he demands a high level of job performance, which he gets in return from everyone. Most importantly, he treats every guest like he would a guest in his own home, and we appreciated it.

We went back to visit our son again last month for 3 weeks, and even though he lives in Oakland, we came back to this Comfort Suites, just because of Omar.

Thanks, Omar. Hope to see you and the rest of your great staff again soon.

The Robinsons
Bethesda, MD

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Jiles,

Thank you so much for the lovely review! It was our pleasure to host you and your wife and I am pleased to hear that my dedicated staff members and I were able to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. It gives my team and I great pleasure to know that you had a memorable stay. I will certainly pass on your review as I am sure they will be very appreciative to know that their efforts are acknowledged by our guests. We value your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the Bay Area.

Best Regards,

Omar Ansari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro Valley
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Oakland-Hayward
2.2 mi away
Castro Valley Inn
Castro Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Castro Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Hayward
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Hayward Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay
Address: 2419 Castro Valley Blvd, Castro Valley, CA 94546-5119 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Castro Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Castro Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing the new Holiday Inn Express in Castro Valley, featuring 54 newly remodeled comfortable, spacious, and convenient rooms which are all 100% smoke-free and pet-free. We offer our guests complimentary Express Start breakfast, 24hr Front Desk, In-door Sauna, and a 24hr Fitness Facility. Free High speed Wi-Fi is available to all our guests. 37Inch Flat Panel HD TV's are installed in all our rooms, along with Serta-Elite Plush Mattresses. Newly built Market Place available to our guests. Our hotel is centrally located in the East Bay, CA in a desirable and friendly neighborhood with plenty of restaurants and fun activities nearby such as Lake Chabot Regional Park, (Fishing & Boating) Oakland Coliseum, Golfland Golden Tee, Willow Park Golf Course and much more! The Holiday Inn Express, Castro Valley hotel is committed to achieving exemplary guest satisfaction, and we look forward to providing you with quality customer service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Castro Valley - East Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Castro Valley
Comfort Suites Castro Valley
Castro Valley Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing