We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place if a little dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Magic Mountain Area
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Castaic
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place was my original choice in Castaic, but ended up full before I could check in. When I moved there the following night I found it to be clean, a very spacious room and a well maintained pool area. A stark contrast from the day's inn down the street. The usual "continental breakfast" was waffles, toast and cereal, no fruit or other baked goods. Not a fancy place, but comfortable and inexpensive.

Room Tip: ask for upstairs its quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 96 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

Have stayed here a couple times due to it being the lowest priced chain hotel in the region. This area is expensive with even basic lodging costing over $100 a night. This Rodeway Inn has comparatively affordable rates in the $55 to $65 a night range most nights. Keep in mind this is a basic motel and is an older property. The carpeting is worn and stained, but the bedding & linens were clean and fresh. Friendly staff, lots of TV channels and free internet are the good points. As a negative, ac is loud, furnishings are dated and amenities limited. Again, this is a budget motel where you can get the basics for about $60 and be in a convenient location. If you want luxury go about 8 miles south to Santa Clarita but be prepared to pay roughly double..

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter. Rooms in the back/south side are used for those with trucks or buses to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roaddogg800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The beds here are so uncomfortable. They're hard as a rock, I kept waking up every 2 hours. Do not stay here unless you plan on getting no also! If your here with your kids and you get the room with 2 beds worst mistake ever, the bathroom switch turns on both the light and the fan which is loud. Your better off spending a few more extra bucks and staying at a nicer hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I do not see how Magic Mountain is allowing this hotel to represent them with there name tag. The hotel is horrible, I MEAN HORRIBLE!! We had kids with us and the bed they slept in had burnt blanket holes in them we didn't notice till the kids pointed that out. So we asked receptionist for another blanket and pillow. I spread the other blanket out it had even more burnt holes in them...REALLY!! The bathroom was just the nastiest thing i have ever saw. I did not let anyone get in that shower. It was so stained with who knows what. The bathroom door seems someone had punched a whole in it and they tried to plaster it back up with a horrible job. I could go on and on, but just not worth the time. Since it was so late at night we had no choice but to put the kids down and sleep and wake up to get the hell out of this hotel.

Now for breakfast, it consisted of 1 waffle machine, some bread for toast and cereal. We just ate a waffle and left it at that.

I should of took pics to show the horribleness of hotel, I was so tired and fed up, just wanted to get out of there.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This, without question, was the worst hotel we have stayed at in The U.S. and maybe ever. The location isn't the best but then you are where you are. The room however was dirty, including playboy thong underwear left by a previous guest. Housekeeping had apparently dumped a bucket of dirty cleaning water into the sink and fail to rinse it out. The carpet was filthy and the drapes were hanging off the hook.

In order to escape the dismal surroundings of the room we took a bottle of wine to the pool area and sat on poorly maintained patio furniture. After a glass of wine the world seems to calm down but we were rudely reminded of our location when a RAT ran under our table and into the bushes next to the fence.

Unfortunately we didn't read the reviews on this and other travel sites before staying here. The vast majority of the reviews tell pretty much the same tale. This was my first, and probably last, stay at a Rodeway Inn. Choice Hotels must get it's name off this facility ASAP.

Room Tip: None at this facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerrya94501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Pictures look great, "BUT" I would advise spend the extra money and go down the freeway a couple more miles. The hotel was old, parking sucked and smelled like cigarettes for a nonsmoking room. What was up with the camera in the corner of the room? Yes a camera... Bedding old, pillows flat, furniture worn out, old bath room and counter tops, truck stop special. The only nice thing I would really say is there was lots of hot water.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for 80 a night and the next night we stayed at Hilton for 120$ pay the extra tiny bit and enjoy yourself, this is a truck stop town and this hotel is a truck stop dive. No complaints we wanted to stay somewhere for cheap our choice, but I will never again because its not worth even that much

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StoneColdFox44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castaic
North San Fernando Valley
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
#101 of 355 in Los Angeles
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Vista Hotel
#4 of 6 in Simi Valley
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Magic Mountain Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Magic Mountain Area

Address: 31558 Castaic Rd, Castaic, CA 91384-3910 (Formerly "Comfort Inn")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Castaic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Castaic
Price Range: $61 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Magic Mountain Area 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Magic Mountain Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Magic Mountain Area Hotel Castaic
Rodeway Inn Castaic
Comfort Inn Castaic
Castaic Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing