We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well, good value on points ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Carson / Torrance
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carson
Certificate of Excellence
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
304 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Well, good value on points ...”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Where do I start? Any hotel that needs a security guard to roam the parking lot at night makes me anxious? What happened that necessitated that? But, as I arrived late, I didn't let that deter me.
The front desk clerk was friendly enough. But I still couldn't get over the unease of the cameras and security guard.The neighborhood is not unpleasant, but mostly industrial.
My new broken-record hotel complaint is harsh lighting. First of all, those industrial blue florescent bulbs make a rooms seem cold and sterile, but more than that, they are very difficult to read or use a computer by.
The breakfast is average - but certainly not bad. They do have a coin laundry, which is most appreciated, and they also have a small pool, if you wanted such a thing.
The elevators aren't impossibly slow, but neither are they lightning fast.
I loved that they had rooms at a "discounted" point rate. I am able to forgive a lot for that. But, would I pay full retail to stay here? No.

Room Tip: If road noise bothers you, Albertoni St is fairly busy. If it doesn't then the morning sun is ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    179
    54
    27
    12
See reviews for
167
96
48
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We took the advice of previous reviews and called ahead to secure a room away from the freeway side of the hotel. They were very accommodating. When we got there they had 2 rooms for us to choose from. Because we were delayed traveling from AZ and in traffic it was a stretch. They were at capacity so I really appreciated that they made an effort to find us a room that was quiet. Nice AM breakfast as well :-) Our daughter had a college visit so it made fora great day.

Thumbs up for the whole staff!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed twice on this hotel during our vacation time in L.A. The people at the hampton are just so kind and eager to go the extra mile. That is a great pro for this hotel. Its price was hard to beat. Breakfast was ok, a little improvement wouldnt hurt, like having real eggs instead of powder ones, or fresh fruit instead of canned. Even though they provide breakfast in a bag for early birds and fresh complimentary coffee and tea 24 hs. Plus waffle machine, different kinds of cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, bagels and pastries. Rooms are spacious, clean, bed is extra comfortable, pillows are fluffy, minifridge is convenient. Wifi worked perfectly, parking was never a problem. At the side of a freeway ramp the hotel is very accesible. At least three major routes would cross within a 2 block radius which made reaching your destination a very easy and quick task, although it is far from major attractions the price makes up for it. I mean, its only a 15 minute drive from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the freeway, to the left of the elevator to avoid as much noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motocicleta78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I spent two nights at this location (using Hilton Honors points) during a spontaneous trip to LA (my first to the area). I'm so pleased that I took the plunge and decided to stay here! The hotel is super clean and the staff is super friendly (which I've come to expect from Hampton Inns). It offers the trifecta of value in my book: free parking, free breakfast and free in-room wifi. (I've never understood why hotels--especially luxury properties at much higher price points--fee justified in nickel and dimeing you for these amenities). The location is convenient, not far from the Home Depot center and USC Dominguez Hills. Plenty of eating options withing walking distance; plenty of additional eating and shopping options a short drive away. I was initially wary of staying in Carson--all I could surmise from the map is that it is one town over from Compton--and wondered if it would be safe. All I can say is that safety was a non-issue! The room was large and comfortable (especially the queen bed). My room was on the back of the hotel facing the freeway; while the traffic noise wasn't overpowering I would have requested a room on the front side of the building had I known. Again, let me emphasize the cleanliness of this property and its convenient location--especially for someone who has never been to LA before. It was easy to get everywhere I wanted (LAX, Long Beach, downtown, Hollywood, and all of the beachfront communities up and down the PCH, etc.). Breakfast was typical hotel continental offering; not gourmet by any stretch but better than many I've seen. Breakfast to Go prepacked at front desk counter was a nice touch for guests who didn't have time to sit down and eat.

Room Tip: rooms on back of building overlook freeway; noise was bearable. I suspect rooms on front of buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This Hampton Inn was an excellent choice as we used points, which were very affordable per night. A Complementary Breakfast is served every morning with everything from Fresh Fruit, to Eggs and Bagels. Nice Touch for Hampton. What I liked was the convienience to basically get to downtown LA, The Valley, and Beach areas as the 405/110/91 freeways are right there. In LA, its all about the freeways, and the ease of access to these arteries made travel a whole lot less hectic. Rooms were clean, WI-Fi worked everytime, Nice big fridge, Plazma TV 32#. A real pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
332 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I chose this motel because I was watching a soccer game at home depot center. The stadium is close enough that you can walk there from the motel ( which I did ). Free parking too so you don't have to deal with the hassle of stadium parking, traffic jams, etc. Rooms were nice and clean. Breakfast in the morning offered a good variety and is included in the price. Free wifi also included.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciahasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
164 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This Hampton has been renovated and was clean, but it did not really stand out. The decor was nice but furniture seemed flimsy. The bathroom was really small with a corner sink that provided almost no usable counter space. Washcloths very thin. However, bedding was fresh and comfortable. Breakfast seemed a bit below usual standards; scrambled eggs barely warm and tasted artificial. No yogurt. Probably would have a better attitude about the stay except several young men made a great deal of noise in the hallway in the middle of the night. Not really the hotel's fault, but doors/walls are pretty thin. In hotel's favor - free parking and plenty of spaces available.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel are probably quieter since hotel is very close to freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 91914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carson
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Carson
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Gardena Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Motel 6 Carson
Motel 6 Carson
#3 of 5 in Carson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Near Stub Hub Center
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Carson / Torrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Carson / Torrance

Property: Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Carson / Torrance
Address: 767 E Albertoni St, Carson, CA 90746-1500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Carson
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Carson / Torrance 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Los Angeles / Carson / Torrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carson Hotel Carson
Carson Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing