We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Breakfast”
Review of Cajun Kitchen Cafe - CLOSED

Cajun Kitchen Cafe
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Restaurant details
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good for Breakfast”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A small cafe in downtown Carpinteria serves a full breakfast at reasonable prices with excellent service. If you want a variety of good food especially with a Mexican accent in Carpinteria, this is the place to go.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Snooge42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carpinteria, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I highly recommend this option for breakfast when in Carpinteria (or Santa Barbara). We have eaten there many, many times. It is the delight of locals. Always consistent and a wonderful variety of options.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We'll go there every time we pass through, or are even near, Carpinteria”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were there twice within about a week. Compared to other reviewers, we must have lucked out with crowds, as there were plenty of free tables at about 9 or 10 am on weekdays..

I really liked the shrimp and andouille on grits. It is an amazing value; an awful lot of food for the price. My wife had the jambalaya with eggs on top, which she liked, but not as she liked my grits.

She thought the cornbread was pretty good, but on the sweet side.

Service was excellent; attentive without being pushy or rushing us along.

Back to the portion sizes: we ended up able to eat about half of our breakfasts, and saved the leftovers for later. On our second trip there we knew better, and had two meals split up into 4 boxes to take with us: two for lunch, and two for dinner. Unless you a very large, starving truck driver, I don't see how one could possible polish off one of those breakfasts in one sitting.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just a fine place to eat”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The atmosphere is the best of all the other restaurants of the same name. The staff is friendly and ready to accommodate. There were enough condiments and three types of hot sauce on the table that you never have to ask for anything. The food was and is always fantastic and there's plenty of it. Sit, relax and enjoy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great for breakfast or lunch. Breakfast, try the chiliquiles. Lunch, any of the Cajun options were good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smittyucla3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cajun Kitchen Cafe also viewed

 
Carpinteria, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing